We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful experience!”
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Sea Dream:  A wall of windows;  wood burning fireplace (wood provided). Sea Dream:  View as you wash dishes.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Sea Dream:  A wall of windows;  wood burning fireplace (wood provided).
Sea Dream:  View as you wash dishes.
Sea Dream:  All Nova Foam with gel top King Bed
The most spectacular sunsets Orcas Island can offer are from this very spot.
Serene, sublime, peaceful, awesome, too good to be imagined. . .morning at Sea Dream Cottage.
Sea Dream: Hammock (summer only)
Sea Dream:  Bathroom.
Orcas Island: Sunsets from Intense to sublime.  The light show lasts for hours.
Orcas Island:  Ferry lights reflected in water
Mariner's Dream:  Hammock (summer only)
Mariner's Bedroom:  Nova Foam King Bed with gel top
Mariner's Bedroom: see stars from skylight
Mariner's Dream: small but efficient kitchen
Mariner's Dream:  A shower for two.
Isle Dream: Hidden Hideaway.
Isle Dream: Welcoming red door
Isle Dream:  Room with a View
Isle Dream: Small efficient Kitchen
Isle Dream:  Shower for Two built into Skylight
Isle Dream: Big wrap around deck & View
Isle Dream:  Hammock on Waterfront (summer only)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patkat59
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I got away to stay at the SeaDream cottage this past August. It was so lovely, the sound out our front windows/deck! We saw so much wildlife, boats and so quiet and relaxing. Richard and Nanae are wonderful hosts! We stayed at WaveDream cottage last August and enjoyed that cottage also near the ferry dock. We are planning on coming back every year and make this a wonderful retreat/tradition!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
This is a nice reminder that all our dream cottages are not the same. The experience they offer are very different. This difference is conscious and although all are decorated smartly with country comfort in mind, each has a signature style selected to harmonize with the surrounding environment. Thus, we are always happy to have guests try another cottage and happy to hear that they were as happy with the 2nd adventure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammolamb...
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better Than Perfect Honeymoon Cottage”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What could be more perfect than a totally private secluded beach house that's well appointed and well decorated with a big comfortable bed and a view of the Salish Sea and San Juan Islands? I guess maybe the orca pod that was there five days before we arrived would have been nice to see, but we settled for clear black skies and the peak of the Perseid Meteor Shower instead. Highly highly highly recommend this place for getting away just the two of you for some really quality together time. And thanks to Richard & Nanae for the welcome gift wine in a special bottle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The privacy and general quality of finish and appointments.
Liked least: The big spider under the dining table on the last day, but that's part of living in the wilderness. :-)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Your review title says it all, I think. Thank you. We hope that the special bottle will remind you of your honeymoon spot and that you will be back to celebrate anniversaries with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My "cottage" consisted of a large private room with a balcony with sweeping views of the water. It is one of two (or three?) units above the West Sound Cafe, just steps away from a rocky beach and public dock. It is such a charming, quiet corner of the island, yet within driving distance of Eastsound, the harbor and lovely hiking. Being on the floor above West Sound Cafe had advantages - one of the best restaurants on the island right there at your fingertips made for wonderful, leisurely dinners. One small advantage or drawback (depending on your perspective) is that the smells from the restaurant waft up to the balcony for much of the afternoon, evening. Overall, a fantastic stay, and I feel incredibly lucky to have stumbled upon this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thank you! We are together, All Dream Cottages, Kingfish Inn and West Sound Cafe on Orcas Island (that is how we answer the phone) so we are very pleased to get a "cottage" review for our Kingfish Inn here. We emphasize the uniqueness of location in all our accommodations and the Kingfish Inn steps from the county beach and dock, at the corner of two designated byways -- built in 1902 is a special place. Please find more reviews of the Inn on TripAdvisor under Kingfish Inn. Please find more reviews of our West Sound Cafe on TripAdvisor as well (restaurants).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrrast
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This is a very special place”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at Mariner's Dream. It looked great online, and it was even better than we hoped. The view, the serenity, the house itself are all outstanding. This is a large cottage. Very spacious with water views from everywhere including the bed! We cooked dinner ever night and the kitchen and outdoor grill are more than adequate. You are steps from the ferry landing, but almost 60 feet down a bluff from the road so noise is not an issue. I highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Thank you. We understand the this guest bought property on Orcas Island (on this his first trip here) because he liked the island so much. We look forward to having him as a neighbor soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danegerma...
1 review
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was everything we had hoped for and them some. Nice getaway from the hectic pace we live in. Thank you for having good Wireless and DVDs for those evenings when we wanted to watch a little TV. Lots of personal touches that were icing on the cake.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thank you. We strive to create dream getaways. So it is nice when guests tell us we have succeeded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesin...
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dream on the Sea”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What an incredible view to wake up to and look at all day long. I call it the view that keeps on giving as during sunset it just keeps getting better and better. Going to sleep at night with the door open and the water lapping at the shore below you is exquisite. Such peace and tranquility. We will be back and we will be renting this cottage again. It was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view. the wood burning fireplace, and the location
Liked least: nothing at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. The sunsets, we agree, are pretty amazing. Please do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlitterTu...
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet with Spectacular Views”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed one week in the Sea Dream Cottage. It is perfect for a couple. The private, quiet woodland/forest location and unobstructed ocean/island views is why I gave this an excellent rating. If you are looking for a place to rejuvenate, reflect, relax, etc. come here! The cottage is old construction but maintained well and decorated to provide rustic comfort. Views can be enjoyed from anywhere (kitchen, living/dining room, bedroom) inside the cottage via huge and sparkling clean windows enhanced by decorative mirrors as well as from the deck/veranda which runs the length of the cottage. You will enjoy watching the sunsets and tide changes from this serene setting. You can access the shore via moderately steep steps and explore the tide pools but it is not a beach in the sense that you can take a long walk along. There are plenty of places to walk outside the cottage door. The real wood-burning fireplace is set up and ready to go -- kindling and dry logs provided as well as fresh coffee beans and a bean grinder. We were even given another batch of beans when we ran out. Steps from the parking area to the front door are steep, as we were told. It would be helpful to have a hand rail. There is no ice maker so bring a bag of ice if you don't want to mess around with filling ice trays. The charming East Sound Village is the best place for groceries and shops but takes a little driving along hilly and winding country lanes to reach. There are two gas stations near East Sound also. We had dinner at the West Sound Café (also owned by our hosts). It was an all around enjoyable experience with good food, service and ambience. We have traveled extensively, and our stay at the Sea Dream Cottage is at the top of our recommendations list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, Privacy, Quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2016
Sea Dream is a cottage from the past and built by its original owners. We have done more work on this than meets the eye while preserving the integrity of the original cedar woodwork and are so very happy when guests understand that the dream cottage experience is comfortable, unpretentious living on some of the "dearest" properties on Orcas Island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing