We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spellbinding beauty”
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Sea Dream:  A wall of windows;  wood burning fireplace (wood provided). Sea Dream:  View as you wash dishes.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Sea Dream:  A wall of windows;  wood burning fireplace (wood provided).
Sea Dream:  View as you wash dishes.
Sea Dream:  All Nova Foam with gel top King Bed
The most spectacular sunsets Orcas Island can offer are from this very spot.
Serene, sublime, peaceful, awesome, too good to be imagined. . .morning at Sea Dream Cottage.
Sea Dream: Hammock (summer only)
Sea Dream:  Bathroom.
Orcas Island: Sunsets from Intense to sublime.  The light show lasts for hours.
Orcas Island:  Ferry lights reflected in water
Mariner's Dream:  Hammock (summer only)
Mariner's Bedroom:  Nova Foam King Bed with gel top
Mariner's Bedroom: see stars from skylight
Mariner's Dream: small but efficient kitchen
Mariner's Dream:  A shower for two.
Isle Dream: Hidden Hideaway.
Isle Dream: Welcoming red door
Isle Dream:  Room with a View
Isle Dream: Small efficient Kitchen
Isle Dream:  Shower for Two built into Skylight
Isle Dream: Big wrap around deck & View
Isle Dream:  Hammock on Waterfront (summer only)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathy E
Richfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spellbinding beauty”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Sea Dreams Cottage provides the ultimate spot for relaxation & soaking in nature. We enjoyed the seals, birds, boats and particularly the gorgeous sunsets. It was difficult to leave. The accommodations were excellent. Our days were filled with hiking, biking and kayaking but we always looked forward to ending the day with takeout and relaxing on the deck. Thank you for your hospitality and sharing your home with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and views
Liked least: limited space for storing clothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
Dining on this deck with this view enhances the flavor of any meal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg P
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Cottage, close to ferry”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Mariner's Dream is the cottage we chose for the 2nd half of our trip. We stayed the 1st half at Sea Dream. This one is in a much different location but just as special. We've enjoyed watching the ferry come and go and took the inter island ferry over to Friday Harbor one day for lunch. The cottage itself has everything you'll need. My husband especially enjoyed the special little hot water tap to make his tea, no heating the water first on the stove. The views are amazing, the bed is comfy and everything is clean and well supplied. We explored and hiked the island but spent just as much time just enjoying the view. The steps down to the cottage are steep but were well described so it was no surprise. We've had a great vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marge884
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blown away by the view”
Reviewed May 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived at Sea Dream, we were blown away by the fantastic view and how close we were to the water. The cottage itself is perfect for 2 people and included everything we needed. So many times when we travel, the bed is the downfall, but this one was as comfortable as the one we sleep in at home which meant we had a good nights sleep each night. We would definitely recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex L
1 review
“Cozy spot to spend time with a partner or explore Orcas”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed in the Isle Dream cottage for 3 nights while exploring Orcas Is for the first time.

It's a good location to access all sides of the island. Fairly secluded at the end of a long road, few neighbors. Nice window/bed view of the water and Moran Park.

The cottage is cozy, cute, and functional for a couple in a great way. They clearly spent time with this vacation and island needs usage in mind.

There's a fire ring by the water, which even in winter my wife and I really enjoyed spending each evening watching the water and cooking some food fireside.

There were two small issues with our reservation... one, that there was a worker on site below the cottage, working on a new dock, and this wasn't communicated with us in advance (or he was supposed to have left, etc). Two, the bed did have a bunch of pet hair remnants on the bedding/accent pillows, etc... small, but noticeable to detailed neat-freaks like us.

I brought these issues to the owners, and they apologized and responding sincerely, rectified the situation and offered a discount.

I would definitely recommend considering the dream cottages for your Orcas stay... if not the Isle one of the other which I'm sure are also well maintained.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie A
Woodinville, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular...Serene....Stunning”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary in the Isle Dream Cottage. From the moment we walked in, we knew we picked the right location. Stunning views and a very romantic atmosphere made for a perfect way to spend our weekend away. The cottage is quaint and very private - the only visitors we had were deer and birds. We very much enjoyed sitting on the deck and taking in the tranquil setting. We will be visiting again and highly recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Thank you. Since our cottages are very individual, we like it best when guests name the cottage they are rating -- although, happily, they are mostly getting 5 stars. It seems that our guests are often attracted to one particular cottage on our website and it is their DREAM COTTAGE. This response is late but made to tell our future guests that our already (nearly perfect) little cottage with private beachfront and viewing dock now has twice as much deck (Winter 2016 project finished just in time for the New Year--2017! DO COME!.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy U
Sterling, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly an All Dream Cottage!”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Mariner's Dream Cottage was our home on Orcas Island for 6 lovely days in September 2014. It's a perfect base for exploring the rest of Orcas Island. We never tired of watching the ferry traffic or the otters or the hummingbirds from the deck. We found the cottage to be thoughtfully decorated and supplied - in abundance - with everything a visitor might need. There were even coffee beans in the kitchen!! I applaud the owner's decision not to provide Wi-Fi. It's quite restful to truly unplug.
There are several steps down to cottage which might pose a problem to someone with mobility or balance issues. We came to appreciate them - as it made us feel like we were burning off a few calories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - close to ferry, grocery store, water views - yet still very private
Liked least: We liked everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent view and pretty quiet when the Ferry is not near”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is fantastic, rather large and a lot of windows to enjoy the view. I would not recommend this cabin to those that have mobility issues, the 50 stairs are pretty steep. We truly enjoyed the listening to the waves lap up on the rocks. There is no beach at this property, just a rocky hillside. That being said there is a nice little fire pit that is accessible on the hillside and was quite nice in the evening (they do supply a little bit of firewood). If you don't want to wash the dishes bring paper plates and plastic utensils. There is also a really nice gas fireplace in the cottage that's a nice touch. I could only imagine how pleasant it must have been when the hot tub was on the deck.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was wonderful
Liked least: The instant hot water kept coming on all day and night. The exterior of the shower could have used some more cleaning.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing