We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn with Wonderful InnKeepers!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Deer Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful Inn with Wonderful InnKeepers!”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This place is simply breathtaking!
John & Jeremy might just be the ultimate InnKeepers. They are so thoughtful & obviously passionate about what they do- their extra touches keep popping up all over their beautiful home...
My Boyfriend & I went for a little weekend getaway in May & are looking to go back in October. We were actually looking to spend a weekend in Port Townsend, but can't seem to get The Inn on Oracas Island off our mind! In fact, I am just going to have to go ahead & book the Wisteria Room right now!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateblytherhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
174
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, IL
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had the pleasure of spending a week a The Inn on Orcas Island with my husband. We found the Inn a perfect retreat . It sits on a quiet corner of Deer Harbor, with it's own marsh and wildlife right off the cozy back porch. The Inn keepers Jeremy and John are gracious and go out of the way to make sure you are comfortable. The food is wonderful, the artwork is stunning and the common rooms are very comfortable. I felt like I was visiting my favorite relative and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanilz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Hospitality is the hallmark of a visit to The Inn on Orcas Island. Everything about our stay was characterized by our hosts' attention to our comfort and enjoyment. This atmosphere of personal attention was evident from the moment of arrival when we were greeted by name upon stepping from the car. Our host, Jeremy, took a personal interest in each and every guest. His conversation made our stay at the Inn more like a visit to the home of a friend than a stay in hotel. Jeremy provided helpful itinerary suggestions, local knowledge of the best restaurants (including calling in reservations), and help navigating the island ferry schedules. He made our stay totally comfortable and very memorable.

Aside from the personal interaction, two other aspects of our visit stand out: the food and the Inn itself. The food was superb. The "welcome bottle" of champagne and the nightly chocolate chip cookies were a wonderful gift. The breakfasts were delicious, filling and beautifully presented. The building itself is a key part of the hospitality experienced at The Inn on Orcas Island. Built intentionally as a bed & breakfast, everything about the Inn is carefully crafted to enhance one's visit. The building is beautifully designed and constructed. Our room, The Harvest Room, was a private haven--a place of beauty, with cool evening breezes through the open windows, and a warm, cozy fire after dark. The common rooms are comfortable and provide great opportunities to meet and visit with other guests--which was to me a surprisingly fun part of our trip. The entire house is beautifully decorated, with gallery-qaulity artwork throughout.

I highly recommend The Inn on Orcas Island. I doubt there is a more pleasing place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandersnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We just completed a two night stay at The Inn on Orcas Island in Deer Harbor. The accomodations were amazing--from the sheer beauty of the exterior and the rooms to our delightful hosts, Jeremy and John. When we arrived in our room, we found a complimentary mini-bottle of champagne and two of the most delicious freshly made chocolate chip cookies. Fine art is present throughout the Inn, and the sitting area, with books from floor to ceiling is as cozy as it is beautiful. The breakfasts were perfectly prepared and delicious. The Inn on Orcas Island is "Perfect in Every Way".

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Jeremy and John built a beautiful lodge on a tidal inlet above Deer Harbor on Orcas Island. They have furnished it beautifully and filled it with Art from their Santa Barbara Gallery. The rooms have water views, comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The common room is inviting and cozy with wifi. The large porch out back is a great place for lounging with a good book. The breakfasts were so delcious and creative.....and yummy cookies appeared on your pillow each day. Jeremy was so helpful in planning our day's activities as well as helping with dinner reccomendations/reservations. We enjoyed the complimentary canoe, bikes and the champagne! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2010

To say that my recent visit to The Inn on Orcas Island was a treasure is an understatement. From the time we entered the property, which is many acres of natural landscape comprised of meadows, trees, the bay and an abundant English garden hugging the main building of the Inn, my senses were overwhelmed.

One is greeted by Jeremy, who, along with John, own the Inn and are the "Lords of the Manor" and most thoughtful and attentive hosts. Upon entering the front door of the Inn, one is transported to an English Country manor decorated with exquisite taste, including a plethora of museum quality paintings and other artwork collected by the innkeepers over many years of world travel. It is obvious that the Innkeepers were former art gallery owners by the way the art is presented as part of a very comfortable but elegant manner.

The accommodations in the common areas are filled with cozy and plush furniture placed in areas that beckon one to sit by a roaring fire, spend the afternoon reading, or to just enjoy the panoramic view of the meadow and bay directly off the veranda of the main building. Take notice that throughout the Inn are also many beautiful pieces of needlepoint framed and also made into pillows, from all over the world, adding another note of history and comfort to the very pleasing and welcoming decor.

The classically nautical guest room (the one I visited, complete with a "Juliet" balcony,), faces the bay, as do all the rooms. The accessories were very carefully chosen. Top quality linens in the bedroom and the en suite bathroom were obviously so. The mattress was supreme and certainly made it very difficult to leave the cozy and perfect bed the next morning, HOWEVER, the promise of a gourmet breakfast beckoned.

John is the chef de maison and an accomplished one he is. The preview the night before, of scrumptious cookies gave an idea of what was to come. Only the best locally grown fruits and vegetable are used along with farm fresh eggs for frittatas, yogurt parfaits, along with morning baked muffins. Everything that John creates is a lovely and carefully created and also, most importantly, as delicious and well presented as any gourmet restaurant in which I have dined in Southern California.

From the welcome libations, to the homemade cookies, and splendid breakfast fare, to the marvelous views (360 degrees!), to the decor, to the property and most importantly to the very accommodating, talented and gracious hosts, Jeremy and John, the Inn on Orcas Island, it THE place to stay in all of the San Juans. You will never be anything but impressed by staying at their lovely, beautiful Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I just returned last night from the Inn on Orcas Island and would love to return tomorrow. Inn keepers John and Jeremy are the ultimate hosts. The Inn has the atmosphere of a seaside New England mansion, filled with art and fine furnishings. And the food------the best B&B breakfasts I have ever had. I would recommend this lovely place to anyone.
Dave
Friday Harbor, Wa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
0.2 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
264 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
146 reviews
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
150 reviews
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Orcas Island

Property: The Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 114 Channel Road, P.O. Box 309, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No guests under 18 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Deer Harbor
The Inn On Orcas Island Deer Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing