We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful B&B, lovely interior, delicious breakfast and friendly host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Orcas Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Deer Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Beautiful B&B, lovely interior, delicious breakfast and friendly host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Serenity Suite. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jeremy who was extremely friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. He is a wonderful host and we really enjoyed meeting him and hearing a little of his story of how the B&B came to be.

The room was spotless and beautifully decorated, a statement which applies to the rest of the house. There is art everywhere, in addition to family pictures and items. It feels like being in a cross between a very well loved home and an upmarket boutique hotel; the effect is both luxurious and completely welcoming.

Cookies on the bed each morning and a different 2-course breakfast every day - after our second morning we skipped lunch because we were so well fed! The food was delicious and obviously freshly prepared with real care and attention.

This was a treat for us and we were not disappointed at any point, I would return without hesitation. Thank you Jeremy and John!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Felix E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We came up to Orcas Island after a wedding in Redmond/Seattle. We are from Florida and wanted to explore someplace new. It was off-season, and we had no idea what to expect. I must say that as soon as we drove into the driveway I knew we had come to the right place. My first impression was absolute delight, that we had found such a beautiful spot, and every impression after that just got better and better.

We were greeted warmly by Jeremy who was expecting us. He showed us to the Waterside Cottage, and when we walked in my jaw dropped and was completely overwhelmed by such a cozy, beautiful, and comfortable room. The decor, the views, and the amenities in the room were outstanding and everything was perfect. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't really want to ever get up. The fireplace was romantic, and since it's the only heat source for the room, we had the warm glow of firelight throughout the night. It's the only gas fireplace I've ever seen that's tied to a thermostat. :-)

Jeremy showed us the manor house, and let us peek into a few of the other rooms, since we were the only guests at that time, because it was February and very off season. Every room was nice, and I could have been happy in any one of them. The main room is a feast for the eyes. My eyes were immediately drawn to three antique embroidered pillows that I admired a lot, since I'm a stitcher. And there is no missing the enormous painting of two young girls on the beach that fills the far wall of the room, but in no way overpowers the entire room. It's an exquisite room.

The manor house breakfast room is charming, with a beautiful view of Deer Harbor. Now on the subject of breakfast...can you say outstanding? On our first morning there was a berry bread pudding that was simply to die for. On our second morning, they served a spinach/egg casserole with cheese... I don't know what it's name is, but it was absolutely delicious, and I couldn't finish all of it. On our last day, Jeremy brought us a brown-bag breakfast to take with us on the ferry, which we thoroughly enjoyed. I thought that was so nice, because we had to leave on the early ferry in order to get to our flight home.

Jeremy couldn't be friendlier, and was so helpful and was able to guide us to the places to go and see, and since it was off-season there wasn't too much open, but he knew everyplace and all of his recommendations were right on the mark. We enjoyed seeing the whole island from top to bottom, and we were able to keep pretty busy. One highlight of our trip was taking a hike in Moran State Park. We were not dressed for the weather, but we made it!

One last thing... every day there were beautiful home-made cookies on our bed. Delicious! We never got to meet him, but Jeremy's partner John is the cook/baker and does an excellent job. If there was anything else that could be done, is that for the off-season, maybe John would consider doing a dinner? It's just that the restaurants which are open are all fairly far away (relatively speaking), and I'll bet he could put together an awesome dinner. Sigh...

Definitely stay at the Inn on Orcas Island. If we ever get the opportunity to return, we will definitely stay there. Thanks to both of our lovely hosts!

Room Tip: If you're interested in a romantic room, choose the Waterside Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiltap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

An absolutely beautiful inn in a beautiful island. The house, rooms and gardens and grounds are gorgeous, with all details attended to perfectly. Breakfast is superb and the care and attention of the innkeepers could not have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I came to Orcas Island during our honeymoon. We loved the romantic cottage that was a perfect size for our 5 day stay. The decor was beautiful, both in the cottage and in the main house; there was so much to see! Our favorite was the view from the french doors of the cottage; we often sat out just enjoying the view and the company of the Inn's cat, Mr. Flop-Bottom, as he made his daily rounds.
Jeremy was an outstanding host, offering helpful advice and interesting facts about the island while lovingly tending to his gorgeous home. He has such a cheerful and easy nature, it was as if we had known him for years. John was an excellent chef, preparing such delicious breakfast dishes that perfectly filled us for daily hikes. The cookies (the ones I managed to steal from my darling husband) were a fantastic snack at the end of the day. We really appreciated Jeremy's suggestions, ensuring that we enjoyed all that Orcas has to offer; Olga for art, the Eastsound farmer's market, kayaking and hiking in Moran State Park, canoeing into Deer Habor (the habor seals came right up to us), and tons of great restaurants. Overall our experience demonstrated the great natures of our hosts as well as their dedication to providing the best B&B experience to guests. Thank you for such a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeghanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Inn on Orcas Island is THE place to stay on Orcas Island. What makes this Inn so unique is that it was built (10-15 years ago) as an Inn......it is not a home converted to an Inn, so the layout is perfect. The piece of property that Jeremy and John purchased to build The Inn is beautiful....several acres with a large backyard facing a picturesque pond. The inside is even more beautiful. Jeremy and John owned an Art Gallery in San Francisco before building the Inn so you know that they have impeccable taste. Countless beautiful paintings throughout the "public" rooms of the living room, dining room, sun room and hallways upstairs and downstairs.....all of historical periods...nothing modern, thank goodness. All the public rooms are furnished with quality furniture and quality tabletop art objects......as are the bedrooms. I reserved the Harvest Room on the second floor because it was one of 2 bedrooms with a king bed, and I was not disappointed. The room has a fireplace and lovely wood frame king bed and the bathroom is huge. Jeremy greeted us when we arrived and was very helpful about suggestions on things to see on Orcas Island and John made us delicious breakfasts both mornings. Because Jeremy & John live in the other half of the house, you can see the pride they take it making this the best Inn possible.

I had only scheduled us for 2 nights at The Orcas Inn.....my husband and I loved the Inn and Orcas Island and wish we could have stayed a week! Orcas Island was the last stop of our month-long road trip up the Pacific Northwest coast......we started in Mendocino, California, and worked our way up the coast to Ferndale, CA ; Florence, OR; Astoria, OR; Seaview, WA; Port Angeles, WA; LaConner, WA; ending in Orcas Island, WA. We had wonderful times and stayed in wonderful B&Bs and Inns all along the way. But if we ever get back to the Pacific Northwest (unfortunately, being from Illinois makes that a big IF), Orcas Island is where we would return to stay for a week. We fell in love with the beauty and the quiet pace of Orcas Island (the locals refer to taking the ferry to mainland Washington, as "going to America". They think of Orcas island as their own quiet little world....and it is......no traffic, no Walmarts, no pollution, no crime.) There may be other nice places to stay on Orcas Island, but we have no interest in checking them out.....we would only want to stay at The Inn on Orcas Island. We didn't have time this trip, but my husband and I would want to build in major downtime at The Inn on Orcas Island, reading and relaxing outside by the pond and inside in the living room, sunroom and the Harvest Room bedroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judychicagoillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We just spent three nights at the Inn. We had the lovely Waterside Cottage with a pretty view of the pond. Jeremy is a delightful and welcoming host. He shared lots of information about the island and things to do. We loved the chocolate chip cookies - very addicting. The breakfasts were amazing and the presentation is beautiful.

If you are looking for a great place to unwind in a charming setting, then this is the place to stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for just two nights while attending a wedding on the island. I wish we could have stayed longer and spent more time at the Inn! Jeremy was so accommodating, stayed up to welcome us after our late arrival because of our missed ferry trip and helped us with directions and suggestions for our next day. Our room, the Island Suite, was so comfortable. An actual King size bed! a fire place, beautiful balcony with a great view and a huge soaking tub! Breakfast the next morning was delicious, and again Jeremy was helpful with planning our crazy schedule and making plans to trying to make the ferry schedule work for our flight the next morning. We had to leave before breakfast the second day, but John packed us a breakfast to-go and we ate on the ferry watching the sun come up. Wish we could have stayed longer, but it was the perfect place to stay on the Island. I'm so glad we picked this inn!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjdiemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
1.1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
6.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Orcas Island

Property: The Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 114 Channel Road, P.O. Box 309, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No guests under 18 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Deer Harbor
The Inn On Orcas Island Deer Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing