We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most memorable visit :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Deer Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cooper City, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A most memorable visit :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent two nights with John and Jeremy, the gracious hosts of the Inn on Orcas Island. Let's begin with the property. Tucked away, this beautiful Victorian house lures you in with its charm and pristine landscaping. We stayed in the Carriage House, a lovely suite/apt up a steep flight of stairs. We loved it! Bright and airy, clean and decorated in perfect island quirky style, we really enjoyed the stovepipe fireplace. Comfortable bed, full kitchen--all the amenities you might need including a gigantic chocolate chip cookie and bag of candy (courtesy of outstanding chef/baker/co-owner John) each day of our stay. Perhaps the biggest asset to this delightful inn is co-owner Jeremy. Thoughtful and intuitive, Jeremy knew (by virtue of a questionnaire included in the online reservation form) that I was gluten intolerant and made sure there was a comparable and delicious gf option for me at breakfast, a 5 star event in itself. John's culinary skills, coupled with the homey atmosphere of the breakfast room left all guests feeling satisfied and well cared for. Jeremy made himself available for consult on day trips, restaurants and shopping hot spots. He is the consummate host and innkeeper. We so enjoyed the peace and quiet and tranquil beauty of both the inn and Orcas Island; we anticipate many return trips. This is not a slick, polished 5-star hotel. It IS a charming, unexpected haven on a jewel of an island. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was suspicious by the virtually unanimous five star ratings, but this is no exaggeration. The Inn is fabulously located in a beautiful remote part of the Island. Jeremy goes out of his way to make sure each of his guests needs are met. The room is beautiful, bed is unbelievably comfortable, and the breakfast is plentiful and delicious. This is an amazing place to unwind

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I were recently married and chose the Inn and Orcas Island as our honeymoon destination. We could not have had a more wonderful time. Jeremy and John have created a luxurious and welcoming atmosphere; they are gracious and generous hosts. Every detail is carefully thought through from the gourmet breakfasts that you devour each morning to the views you admire as you sit on the back porch of the Inn watching the tide flow in and out of the estuary. Jeremy maintains flower gardens that delight in their color and variety. If you are looking for a lovely, romantic getaway spot, this is the Inn for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I simply cannot imagine a more luxurious, pleasant, and welcoming experience than offered by hosts/owners John & Jeremy at their impeccably appointed inn. Walking distance from Deer Harbor, the inn is situated on an expansive property adjacent to a tidal slough that features visiting sea otters and a harbor seal. The breakfasts are the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is the 10th year we've stayed at The Inn on Orcas Island, each time is like a new experience. The warmth and friendliness of Jeremy and John is the same, so genuine. The delious breakfast changes each day as does the china it is served on. Breakfast can be private or shared with travelers from all over the world. We marvel at Jeremy's flower gardens, if he's not serving breakfast he'll be found somewhere on the property working in a garden. If you are lucky enough to catch John he is so interesting and may share his passion of horses with you, we always leave better people than when we arrived. Deer Harbor is special also, if you arrive by boat it has absolutely one of the best marina's in the San Juans, and if you need a boat repair there's a great funky boat yard near by. Orcas Island is laid back, warm, friendly and as full of as much adventure as a person has energy. We love it and will be back.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a couple of days, consider the Carriage House, it is private, a com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Water63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

It took us nine years to return to the area of the Juan de Fuca strait, that island-dotted sea channel between mainland British Columbia and Vancouver Island. Our first glimpse of the San Juan Islands had been from a zodiac boat out of Victoria harbor -- we found no whales that day, but we did see the San Juans and Mt. Baker in the distance.

On this week-long re-visit (in June 2012) we flew into Seattle-Tacoma, transferred to Anacortes, WA, for the Washington State Ferry to Friday Harbor on San Juan Island. Several days later we ferried over to Orcas Island, picked up our rental car in Deer Harbor and drove a short distance to the magnificent The Inn on Orcas Island. This Inn had been recommended by a friend and it far exceeded our expectations.

Innkeepers Jeremy and John built the Inn over a 10-year period and then spent 10 more years finishing and furnishing the property -- and what a lovely, thoughtful result! The Inn's pubic spaces and grounds are inviting; it was built for quiet and comfort. Our room overlooked the sculpted back lawn and tidal pool. A bonus: the entire Inn is filled to overflowing with visual art and crafts, the walls are covered with interesting works -- did I mention the breakfasts; the welcoming bottle of champagne; the robes and jetted bath; the luscious cookies on our nightstand each morning?

Jeremy is a cordial and extremely helpful host. And John's fine breakfasts speak for themselves. We urge you to visit them on Orcas Island even if you have to go out of your way to add this stop to your itinerary -- it's worth your visit!

B&B Yarkon
New York, USA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our stay couldn't have been more relaxing and beautiful. This stunning location was something out of a magazine of a perfect inn. Jeremy couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming. The cookies on the bed were decadent and though we had to leave too early for breakfast on our last day he made sure we had a breakfast to take with us.
Karen & Paul
NYC

Room Tip: Book this spot early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
0.2 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
6.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Orcas Island

Property: The Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 114 Channel Road, P.O. Box 309, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No guests under 18 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Deer Harbor
The Inn On Orcas Island Deer Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing