We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location brings up the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WorldMark Deer Harbor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ok, where to begin....First of all, Deer Harbor is probably the prettiest place on the entire island in my opinion. Loved waking up each morning looking at the marina, and mozeying down to the hotel lobby for good coffee and a (sub-par) breakfast. I stayed here 4 nights in September 2012 and experienced 3 different cabins. The Garden suite is pretty with two larger-sized rooms. I believe there is only one garden suite on the property. The historical cottages are clearly the worst on the property. The tv in this cottage is very small and painful on the eyes as it sometime from the 90's. The biggest problem with this property is that they don't provide daily housecleaning service. Not even a turn down service or emptying the garbage. When I asked the front desk what to do with my overflowing garbage in the room the lady told me to bring the can down to the lobby and empty it myself. 4 days straight of baby diapers and dirty towels from bathing and swimming, it would be nice to get even basic service. Also it was very cold in our room at night and the heater wasn't working well and I had forgotten to ask for another log for the fire, so one night we slept very cold. This would have been prevented if they restocked the firewood in the cabin. The historical suite (not to be confused with cottage) was nice and updated, however there should be a tv in the room. Many people have mentioned the lack of wifi or internet service, though this didn't bother me because I was looking to get away from that. All in all, the staff is very friendly but they are overworked and generally running around too busy. My room was probably about on par with a Motel 6 but there are better rooms on the property that I didn't stay in. I will most likely return to this place but only because its a beautiful location for kayaking.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the historical cottage!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmazonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for WorldMark Deer Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

First time to the island...We left the world behind and enjoyed the beauty and wonder. The accomodations are fantastic. Clean, updated, roomy and comfortable. As soon as we got into the room we turned the chairs from facing the fireplace to look out at the marina, we spent several hours a day just watching the boats. We stayed for a week. Highly reccomend bringing groceries for extended stays, there is only one little store and not a lot of options therein.

Room Tip: The updated cabins are fantastic. Ask for one with a good view of the marina.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed in one of the older cabins called the historic cabins and although not as crisp and well0designed, it was snug and cozy and a perfect place to stay while on Orcas Island. It is nice to have your own place. A kitchenette would have been an even better addition but was the perfect way to spend the end of the summer vacation.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are located well but you might want to stay away from the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife, 5-year old daughter and I stayed here for 3 weeknights in late August 2012. Here's my quick rundown.
Good:
Price ($80/night) for 2-Bedroom (sleep up to 4)!, layout of cottage was nice (no bedroom wall with neighbor), clean, friendly staff, private clean hot tub, heated pool and quiet.
Not so good:
Breakfast (pretty generic and plastic food), housekeeping service (there was none; self-service trash disposal and towel changing), no internet or wifi except in Lobby.
Deer Harbor is quaint and has the island vibe where time slows down, but quite a drive to Moran State Park. The deer in Deer Harbor lived up to it's name. Saw about a dozen. We timed it right with ripe blackberries (picked and ate about 8 pounds). The kitchen consists of fridge, sink and microwave. I would go back here even at $110/night. $130 and I would look for a campsite in Moran.

Room Tip: They all seemed to be about the same. Maybe a slightly better view in the southern cottages. Bring f...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budgetfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We absolutely loved it here!!!!!!!! We stayed in the historical cottage I believe otter. Little outdated in some areas but it was perfect for what we needed. It was amazing to have a hot tub with partial view of the water,very beautiful at sunset. Staff was great,it was nice to get a free breakfast,very simple and wasn't over the top.It was great to be able to walk a few steps and be on the beach. Then drive a little up the road and pick blackberries! :) This trip was wonderful and everything we needed for a getaway. We just left and I already miss it and want to go back now! Will be planning another trip...thank you DEER HARBOR :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The resort has various styles of units, but we were in the units along the back of the resort furthest from the harbor. They have a back deck with a hot tub that gives you peek a boo views of the water. The unit has separate living and sleeping rooms both of which open onto the deck. It was quite full when we were there but seemed deserted. The check in area is where the continental breakfast is served and it was surprisingly nice with freshly baked maple frosted logs, cinnamon raison bread to toast and other assorted bakery treats. Juice and good coffee, lovely views and a newspaper made for a pleasant morning. There is an outdoor pool that also has killer views of the harbor. At the harbor you can book fishing, or rent a boat, catch a float plane, or a quick bite to eat. The room had a dvd and cd player and decent cable channels which is handy if the weather turns icky. The kitchenette with microwave and sink and fridge did not come with plates or silverware but did have wine glasses and a corkscrew. The biggest negative for us was the musty smell which makes you think of summer camp.

Room Tip: Newer bigger units closer to the water look really, really nice so if you have a big family they wou...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great deal on LivingSocial! Where else can you get a beautiful cottage, nicely renovated with a view of the harbor and hot tub inside and outside for less than $80 a night? Room was spacious, very clean, but the bed was a little hard. Be prepared that there is no stove top, and only bring food that you can microwave or barbecue. Breakfast was delicious – homemade maple bars and cinnamon rolls, yummy yogurt and granola, hard boiled eggs, and a selection of teas and coffee. Innkeeper was very kind even though there was a mixup on our arrival dates. If you're bringing your own kayak, instead of paying the marina a fee to launch, go across the street and down just one block to the public park and launch there for free. You can easily paddle straight out to the little islands right beyond the harbor where there is no current. Beautiful location!

Room Tip: We love room number 107 in the deluxe cottages. Great view of the harbor from your room and the hot...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank starburst4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
0.5 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
269 reviews
6.7 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
1.5 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
6.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Deer Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Deer Harbor

Address: 31 Jack and Jill Pl, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243-9800 (Formerly Resort at Deer Harbor)
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your WorldMark Deer Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Resort Deer Harbor
Hotel Deer Harbor
WorldMark Deer Harbor Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing