We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WorldMark Deer Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WorldMark Deer Harbor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Murray, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I loved everything about our stay at deer harbor resort. The staff was above and beyond friendly. They gave us so much good advice. The private cabin was awesome. We loved watching movies from our bed AND couch, as the flat screen rotates. Also, the room had a beautiful view of the harbor, private hot tub, and fireplace. It's a very quiet and peaceful location. Most of the restaurants and shopping are in Eastsound, which is about 10-15 minutes away, but we didn't mind the drive across this beautiful island. Great scenery! I would recommend exploring Moran state park and ocean kayaking. If you run out of things to do you can always walk on the ferry and travel to one of the other islands for free, but we found plenty to do on orcas during our two night stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EdenBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

we had bought a living social coupon and used it June 3, 2012 for our anniversary. we had never been to deer harbor, and we had a great time. The staff was very nice, and helped us in any way we needed. the breakfast was good, enough to get you going in the am. at times, it was a little crowded. My 2 complaints on this was 1) the website does not tell you enough, and there is a kitchen, but no stove!! they have a BBQ you can use, but how do you cook anything else? it forces you to go out which sometimes your not in the mood to do so. there are no utensils or plates in the room, you can get foil and paper plates from the front desk. unless your really good at BBQing everything, it makes it a little difficult. 2) the tv!! could not get it to work, they tried. and in this day and age, update to a flat screen, not some little tv in a big box. they tried. the hot tub on deck is nice, and the bed was huge. I agree, dont need a jetted tub if you have the hot tub. a shower would be just fine. I would go back again. but be prepared to drive a little to have meals. Westsound has a great cafe, otherwise you have to go to eastsound, and things are a little spendy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

As with many others, our stay originated with Living Social. We were late arriving due to ferry delays. We called ahead and the room info was taped to the office door. The keys were in the room..probably safe in this isolated local. The small harbor is quaint and quiet which means nothing to do except read and relax...both good and bad. The daily breakfast is delightful and the staff friendly. Housekeeping leaves a bit to be desired. The unit was a bit musty smelling upon arrival. We found a used bandaid stuck to the couch and a pair of ladies underwear in the bedroom.
There is only one average restaurant nearby and a handful fifteen minutes away in
East Sound via a scenic farmland backroad. We also had an interesting experience trying to pay the resort tax, as the clerk could not take cash, nor operate the credit card machine sitting on the desk, preferring to write down our credit card number for later use....hmmnnnn.
The island has great hiking and magnificent views, but we likely would stay in East Sound on a return trip.

Room Tip: Insist on one of the much newer deluxe cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank skydoc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here in August, it was beautiful. The rooms are older, but clean and come with standard ammenities. Walk across the street to the harbor. Each room comes with a hot tub on the deck, very nice to sit in at night and look up at the stars while enjoying a glass of wine.

They offer a nice continental breakfast, also have BBQ's to use at the clubhouse and a pool and even DVDS to rent. Great for families. This resort is in partnership with Wyndham or Worldmark as well so these members can gain rooms at a discount.

I really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: for couples they have cottages that are really cute. groups larger must reserve the one bedroom uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I saw a great deal on Living Social and decided to get it as a gift for my fiance's birthday, which also happens to be Valentine's Day as a local get away before we go away to get married. I honestly figured that even if it wasn't exactly our fantasy destination at least we could get away alone with each other. It was on the other side of the island, more private and secluded, though on the main road, there is no bothersome noise (although we went 4/15-16 and there was some parking lot construction going on). The Resort at Deer Harbor hosts all individual cabins appointed with a king size bed, 3 comfy chairs, huge new updated bathrooms (though I would give up the whirlpool tub-there's already a hot tub-for a separate shower, but that's just nit-picky). I thought it was odd to be able to see from the bed into the shower-but maybe that's just me? There was iced sparkling cider and chocolates when we arrived. Getting there was a breeze, I would pack up all the snacks and treats that you know you will want, because on a island things are limited and much more pricey. The continental breakfast was lovely and fresh. Just enough to get you going. It's on a part of the island that get's next to no cell phone connection (it was actually great to be disconnected), so load up your devices with any movies or distractions that you might require. There's a deli at the little marina across the way, they make breakfast and lunch, fabulous coffee and I hear in the summer there's great ice cream.

Room Tip: Bring snacks, load up devices, little cell service, unless with Verizon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieAnnWhiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Fantastic fist time experience with this resort. the Cottage was excellent. well equipped. Thought it did not had a full size kitchen, but the amenities in the cottage were very well thought of and placed. The jaccuzi in the master bath and one outside the deck were great. Continental Breakfast spread was nice and the Resort Receptionist/Manager was very welcoming. There was no House keeping on a daily basis available, which was informed to us. But that was something we felt was anyways not required for a weekend visit. The location of the Resort over the Harbor is great, with a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Didnt see a fitness room available so am rating average. We did not find a fan in the cottage, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Resort at Deer Harbor this past weekend and had a fantastic time. Our trip was purchased via Yollar, a coupon site similar to LivingSocial. We had not problem booking our stay.

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. We arrived earlier than the check in time but our room was ready and we were allowed to check in early without any problems. The reception we received from the person working to check us in, coupled with the friendly greeting we received from Ethan, the caretaker of the resort, gave us a warm start to the weekend. The staff all proved to be equally warm and friendly, helpful with answering lots of questions about the area, and all seem to really enjoy their jobs.

We had a deluxe cottage which included a king sized bed, hot tub on our deck, jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, electric fireplace, DVD and VCR, TV, boom box stereo,microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker and gorgeous view. It was very comfortable although I'd suggest bringing your own pillow along unless you prefer non-fluffy pillows. The whole place was very quiet. There was a bottle of sparkling cider chilling when we arrived, and some chocolates to go with it. The continental breakfast consisted of various breads, yogurt, granola, cereal, juice, coffee, and apples. It was more than adequate for a quick breakfast.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to our friends. We do not tend to return to the same place over and over again but if we do return to Orcas Island for another weekend stay, the Resort at Deer Harbor will definitely be at the top of our list for places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ric4san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
0.4 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.6 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.0 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Deer Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Deer Harbor

Property: WorldMark Deer Harbor
Address: 31 Jack and Jill Pl, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243-9800 (Formerly Resort at Deer Harbor)
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your WorldMark Deer Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Resort Deer Harbor
Hotel Deer Harbor
WorldMark Deer Harbor Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing