We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place For a Group”
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great Place For a Group”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I just returned from a weekend getaway with friends and we had a great stay at the Deer Harbor Inn. The staff was very friendly and the setting is quiet and beautiful. The rooms were comfortable, the food at the restaurant was good and it was nice to have the common space in the lodge to hang out. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candacea777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    110
    31
    19
    14
See reviews for
33
179
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had the most amazing overnighter at Deer Harbor Inn. I used the Groupon for it which included restaurant credit. We arrived at dinner time so went right to the restaurant after checking in. We had the split pea soup which was very tasty and a seafood pasta dish which was also very good. I thought the bread was good as well. When we arrived at our room, there was a plate of cheese and crackers and a carafe of wine waiting for us, something neither one of us expected and which was "on the house" for our anniversary. An advantage of staying there in the low season was that we were the only ones staying in the big log cabin house which has 8 rooms total. It was very cozy and had a computer with internet and printer downstairs and a TV, DVD/CD player upstairs with classical music CDs available. Plus lots of games and books. That was all in the common areas. There were 4 rooms upstairs and 4 down. We loved having the place to ourselves but also thought it would be really fun to have our friends join us and rent the whole house out for a weekend sometime. The only bad thing was that we got there when it was dark and didn't notice the hot tub available by the parking lot. When we saw it the next day and felt how warm it was, I really wished we had asked the manager if they had one because we had come prepared with bathing suits. Or that he had told us when we checked in. When we woke up it was snowing outside. I made the Starbucks coffee that was left for us and we ate the tangerines, scones, and biscotti that was left for us in a basket along with orange juice. All in all, a great anniversary gift and a great deal with Groupon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjames9031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We had a wonderful time there this last weekend! It was such a nice get-away from the city. The cabin was cozy and nice. It was a short drive to the south entrance of Turtleback Mountain. We were able to enjoy the short hike a couple of times and also discovered the dog park over on the East Sound. The food at the restaurant was good and the breakfast picnic basket added a nice cozy touch. We would definitely recommend Deer Harbor Inn to other folks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzyjuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I was looking for a relaxing getaway for my wife's birthday, and since we've had a great deal of luck with early October weather in the San Juans, (and this weekend was no exception), I decided to find someplace new, out of the way, and relaxing . We had a meal at the Deer Harbor Inn Restaurant a couple of summers ago and had seen the Inn's little cottages and made a mental note to give it a try in the future. Booking online with the inn was seamless. We also made a reservation at the restaurant online. Both were quickly confirmed by email. We arrived by boat at the nearby Deer Harbor Marina, made a call to the Inn and were quickly picked up by the Inn's 1970 classic Cadillac Fleetwood Limo for the half mile ride up to the Inn. Knowing that things run on "island time," I was expecting to wait, but pleasantly surprised by the quick response. Once in our little Orchard Cottage, we were again impressed. Warm, inviting, comfortable and clean. There was a gas fireplace, hot tub, microwave, and satellite tv with a good selection of DVD movies. NO PHONE and NO NEXTEL service - thank goodness. There is a little fridge, and a coffee maker with Starbucks... A cute little basket with a continental breakfast inside. In all, just perfect. We enjoyed a drink and a fine dinner in the restaurant. Our waiter, who was earlier our chauffeur, I learned is also the owner, a gregarious fellow with a wide smile and engaging personality. He clearly cares about quality, and the menu and wine list are a reflection of that. It appeared that most of the other patrons that night were island locals, a testimony to the popularity of this eatery. I could continue, but suffice it to say, our stay at the Deer Harbor Inn could not have been better. We will be back and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you Deer Harbor Inn... E and DM...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnshine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Ryan and his team catered my wedding on Orcas Island this summer. The food was excellent, they provided professional service, and were great to work with while planning the wedding beforehand. My only regret is I didn't eat the bbq chicken at the reception and everyone raved about it! Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cwaliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My husband and I took the early morning ferry from Anacortes to Orcas Island. We first enjoyed a self-guided driving tour that included Mount Constitution on Moran State Park. We purchased a lunch to go at the Ferry Landing and enjoyed a picnic at the Park. In the afternoon we drove West across Orcas Island, enjoying the beauty of the Island as we made our way to the Deer Harbor Inn. The Inn has a Log Cabin Lodge with 8 lovely rustic rooms with unique furnishings. We toured the lodge and the cottages, but our lodging for the night was in the Orchard Cottage. The cottage is private. You have your own front door and back door. There is a king size bed (very comfy matress and I'm a picky sleeper) You have a fridge, microwave and coffemaker. A fireplace and tv. We discovered that the Inn and restaurant are ran by a local family and it is reflected in every aspect of the Inn, from the design of the lodgings, the furnishings, the cleanliness (and again, I am picky on this one) and the friendliness and attention to detail of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmccunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Our organization held its board meeting for approximately 20 people at Deer Harbor Inn, and we couldn't be happier with the accommodations and service.

We were housed in the main Inn and also the Norton Harbor View Cottage. Both buildings provided space for wonderful group gatherings during our free time, wine on the wrap-around deck overlooking the water, perfect for relaxation and conversation. Also, several board members commented about how well they rested: the beds were very comfortable.

The free wi-fi zone and desktop computer were very convenient for our board.

For the meeting times we took advantage of space in the Deer Harbor Inn Restaurant, where tables were set up for us beside a warm fireplace. All walls were lined with windows, so we were privy to the spectacular view even while conducting business.

We enjoyed a daily breakfast and lunch at the Deer Harbor Inn Restaurant, and one dinner. They were all superb, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn is also located a few minutes driving distance from other restaurants.

The grounds are beautiful, and wonderful for a walk or hike. We even played an impromptu game of baseball on the lawn.

All in all, the choice to stay at Deer Harbor Inn was a major component of in the success of our event. We were very satisfied with the experience, and would highly recommend these accommodations to others who are looking for a place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyanaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.2 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
144 reviews
3.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
151 reviews
8.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Property: Deer Harbor Inn
Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing