We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect city get-away”
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We had a wonderful time there this last weekend! It was such a nice get-away from the city. The cabin was cozy and nice. It was a short drive to the south entrance of Turtleback Mountain. We were able to enjoy the short hike a couple of times and also discovered the dog park over on the East Sound. The food at the restaurant was good and the breakfast picnic basket added a nice cozy touch. We would definitely recommend Deer Harbor Inn to other folks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuzzyjuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 270 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

I was looking for a relaxing getaway for my wife's birthday, and since we've had a great deal of luck with early October weather in the San Juans, (and this weekend was no exception), I decided to find someplace new, out of the way, and relaxing . We had a meal at the Deer Harbor Inn Restaurant a couple of summers ago and had seen the Inn's little cottages and made a mental note to give it a try in the future. Booking online with the inn was seamless. We also made a reservation at the restaurant online. Both were quickly confirmed by email. We arrived by boat at the nearby Deer Harbor Marina, made a call to the Inn and were quickly picked up by the Inn's 1970 classic Cadillac Fleetwood Limo for the half mile ride up to the Inn. Knowing that things run on "island time," I was expecting to wait, but pleasantly surprised by the quick response. Once in our little Orchard Cottage, we were again impressed. Warm, inviting, comfortable and clean. There was a gas fireplace, hot tub, microwave, and satellite tv with a good selection of DVD movies. NO PHONE and NO NEXTEL service - thank goodness. There is a little fridge, and a coffee maker with Starbucks... A cute little basket with a continental breakfast inside. In all, just perfect. We enjoyed a drink and a fine dinner in the restaurant. Our waiter, who was earlier our chauffeur, I learned is also the owner, a gregarious fellow with a wide smile and engaging personality. He clearly cares about quality, and the menu and wine list are a reflection of that. It appeared that most of the other patrons that night were island locals, a testimony to the popularity of this eatery. I could continue, but suffice it to say, our stay at the Deer Harbor Inn could not have been better. We will be back and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you Deer Harbor Inn... E and DM...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnshine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Ryan and his team catered my wedding on Orcas Island this summer. The food was excellent, they provided professional service, and were great to work with while planning the wedding beforehand. My only regret is I didn't eat the bbq chicken at the reception and everyone raved about it! Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cwaliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My husband and I took the early morning ferry from Anacortes to Orcas Island. We first enjoyed a self-guided driving tour that included Mount Constitution on Moran State Park. We purchased a lunch to go at the Ferry Landing and enjoyed a picnic at the Park. In the afternoon we drove West across Orcas Island, enjoying the beauty of the Island as we made our way to the Deer Harbor Inn. The Inn has a Log Cabin Lodge with 8 lovely rustic rooms with unique furnishings. We toured the lodge and the cottages, but our lodging for the night was in the Orchard Cottage. The cottage is private. You have your own front door and back door. There is a king size bed (very comfy matress and I'm a picky sleeper) You have a fridge, microwave and coffemaker. A fireplace and tv. We discovered that the Inn and restaurant are ran by a local family and it is reflected in every aspect of the Inn, from the design of the lodgings, the furnishings, the cleanliness (and again, I am picky on this one) and the friendliness and attention to detail of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmccunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Our organization held its board meeting for approximately 20 people at Deer Harbor Inn, and we couldn't be happier with the accommodations and service.

We were housed in the main Inn and also the Norton Harbor View Cottage. Both buildings provided space for wonderful group gatherings during our free time, wine on the wrap-around deck overlooking the water, perfect for relaxation and conversation. Also, several board members commented about how well they rested: the beds were very comfortable.

The free wi-fi zone and desktop computer were very convenient for our board.

For the meeting times we took advantage of space in the Deer Harbor Inn Restaurant, where tables were set up for us beside a warm fireplace. All walls were lined with windows, so we were privy to the spectacular view even while conducting business.

We enjoyed a daily breakfast and lunch at the Deer Harbor Inn Restaurant, and one dinner. They were all superb, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn is also located a few minutes driving distance from other restaurants.

The grounds are beautiful, and wonderful for a walk or hike. We even played an impromptu game of baseball on the lawn.

All in all, the choice to stay at Deer Harbor Inn was a major component of in the success of our event. We were very satisfied with the experience, and would highly recommend these accommodations to others who are looking for a place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DyanaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This was our first stay at Deer Harbor Inn & we stayed in the Bluff Cottage. We received great customer service starting with the phone call to book our stay. The person scheduling was pleasant and helpful and took time to answer my questions. On the day we arrived we were given a welcome basket with orange juice and scones. The cottage looked nearly new & was clean & nicely decorated. We enjoyed the artwork & the country style furniture. It was comfortable and cozy with the fireplace heater. The view of the water from the front porch and hot tub was lovely. Our biggest surprise was the dinner we had in the restaurant just a very short walk from our cottage. The decor and service was wonderful, but the food was outstanding. From the fresh made rolls, soup and salad, to the generous entrees bursting with freshness and flavor to the perfect dessert to end the meal. It is one of those meals when you leave nothing behind because it is all so good. We look forward to visiting again and even if we do not stay overnight we would go out of our way for a special meal at the restaurant. Thank-you Deer Harbor staff and owners for a memorable Anniversary weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_nonna45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My wife, two young daughters & I had the pleasure of spending two nights on Orcas Island. We enjoyed exploring much of the island (Moran State Park is an out-of-the-way gem). The people at the Deer Harbor Inn were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the hot tub and the space that the Pond Cottage had to offer. We do a lot of traveling & hiking around the PNW, and probably saw more deer this weekend than we've seen in the past year! Very beautiful area & experience. Thanks Deer Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNWKonings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.2 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
156 reviews
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
253 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
527 reviews
6.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range: $148 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing