We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
90
119
42
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
90
119
42
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub bed was very comfortable electric fireplace off the beaten path upstairs room onsite restaurant two night stay low key view of the water a great place to stay extra towels small tv great restaurant moran state park quiet place coffee pot main town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 285 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018

After being terribly upset with my travel agent's failure to notice the terms of reservations at Deer Harbor Inn made through Expedia (immediate charge to my credit card, non-refundable, two-night minimum), I requested her to contact the lodge and Expedia to rectify the problem as it significantly and negatively impacted our travel plans. We had planned to spend one night on Orcas to do some whale watching, and then travel to Victoria for another two days. The phone call my agent made on our behalf was in vain as the owner would not budge. While it started off leaving a nasty taste in my mouth for Deer Harbor Inn and its management, we decided to make the best of it. The lodge room was small yet comfortable enough, however, the deer roaming around on the premises was a great treat. We visited the onsite restaurant late one afternoon for a glass of wine and the wait staff was wonderfully friendly. We enjoyed the "piano man," who played sweet songs that were piped to the outdoor patio. We made the best of what started out as an unpleasant situation and thankfully ended up enjoying our time on Orcas. Sadly though, we were unable to visit Victoria due to time constraints caused by my agent's oversight and Deer Harbor Inn's inflexibility. For that reason, and that reason only, I am rating service as poor.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Perhaps it was the dreary damp weather, but everything at Deer Harbor also seemed somewhat dreary and damp. It's probably a delightful place to stay when the weather is warm and dry. The internet coverage was bad. That said, everything was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We enjoyed the quiet, natural setting and roomy, comfortable cabin with a nice hot tub. The king bed was great, everything was clean, loved the decor but a few things need help. The shampoo/soap dispenser looked awful. There was no box of tissues anywhere. There was no little extra, whether a chocolate or bottled water or cookies in the bag with the key. That would have been special.

Room tip: We enjoyed cabin 2.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhinn, Owner at Deer Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thanks for the feedback. We have replaced all the dispensers and upgraded to very high end spa products
Thanks Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

We stayed in the Lodge with deal from Travelzoo. Room was clean and comfortable. We ate at the restaurant one evening. Food was delicious, and service was great! Deer and rabbits were entertaining. This is a low key, easy going atmosphere.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank cabl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Cozy room, clean bathroom. No view of the water from our lodge room but may be view from upstairs room with balcony. Lousy cell service but strong wifi in Lodge. The odd thing is that no info is provided for activities, groceries, eateries in the area. Guess they want guests to dine in their restaurant which serves slightly above average food at high prices. View from restaurant outdoor deck is lovely. Be sure to visit Orcas Island Pottery, a 20 minute drive. Beautiful rural and farm views on the way.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank gloriaannw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews