We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice night on Orcas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice night on Orcas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived in Deer Harbor by seaplane and walked the short distance to Deer Harbor Inn. While it was early in the day our welcome basket and room were ready. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge which was nice. The bed was comfortable and we got a good night sleep. The walls may have been thin, but we heard nothing and the inn was quiet after a reasonable hour. It is a bit of a trek to get into town if you don't have a car. We rode bikes there once, which was a beautiful ride, and took a cab once which was rather expensive $30. The location is very convenient to kayaking in and out of Deer Harbor, which was beautiful. We only spent one night here, as we moved to check out the other side of the island at Doe Bay the next night, but I would definitely stay here again. Rooms on the island are not cheap, and I thought this was a nice, comfortable place to stay for the cost!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ausl0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    103
    28
    19
    13
See reviews for
31
171
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Photos truly represent what the rooms look like. Ours was spotless and very charming. Picnic basket for breakfast was perfect, as you could either get ready while you ate, or sit at the table by the window and relax. Bunnies and deer love to hang out. And what a surprise the restaurant was! I didn't expect much from the laid back appearance of the inn online, but it was a wow moment when we had dinner there. A little pricey, but elegant, food was delicious, service fantastic, and a spanish guitar player entertained us. He didn't travel to tables, and he didn't sing; it was perfect background. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaG1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had room #8 (2nd floor on the back side) and it was perfect. Quiet location and while we shared the building (living room) with other guests we never saw or heard them. Very clean with nice furnishings, thick carpet, very comfortable bed. Bathrooom was spacious with plenty of counter space and clean/bright shower and hair dryer. In-room continental breakfast was good and exactly what we have most mornings anyway. We never met the owners/staff as our welcome bag and key was waiting for us and you leave key at the door and that worked out just fine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked our room, # 8, a corner room on the back of the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerRoadTrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were on Orcas for a wedding with lots of activities for four days. The Inn was very comfortable and accommodating, and the restaurant is excellent. Very convenient, particularly if you're arriving on Orcas at Deer Harbor by boat or seaplane.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are comfy and spacious. Room 7 affords views of Deer Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidinNC27401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We didn't know what to expect. Our trip via boat put us at the deer harbor marina and the deer harbor inn is the only game in town since the resort converted to time share. The inn picked us up at the marina in a stretch limo, it was quite the treat. We stay at the lodge and the room was spacious. When we arrived deer were grazing at the lodge entrance and huge rabbits everywhere. It was warm at the room had plenty of fans. It was nice of the inn to leave us a picnic basket of food for breakfast as the only restaurant in the morning is the marina stores. Staff are friendly.

If you are at the marina you have to catch a ride by 9pm. Walking is not far but with luggage it would be a hike. There is no morning driver unless a privat function is going on. Matt the owner was our driver.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boring, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked 2 nights at the Orchard Cottage 2 - overall it was really lovely! It felt private, tho other cottages and lodge nearby. Cottage was very clean and the general vibe of the cottage was truly lovely. The decor was just right, the kitchen area was just what we needed. My fave was the bed and the sheets - super comfy bed and sweet charming sheet set!! One downfall - the restaurant on site serves dinner only and looked to be a popular choice as cars were parked all over the Inn site when we returned to Cottage in evening - restaurant guests left dogs in their cars, who barked at each other the whole time which also seemed to set off car alarms. Other than that, it was just what we wanted and staff very friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalduha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband was not able to come with me and the kids, so last minute my sister-inlaw came with us and her kids, we had a great time. The cabin was cozy, they gave us extra towels and extra english muffins and organic granola, milk, orange juice, water and fruits. I booked two days thru Livingsocial..can't wait to go back...The only bad thing was the corner of the bed frame, the kids kept hitting their knee. Bed was very comfy had a good night rest for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itzel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
6.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Property: Deer Harbor Inn
Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing