We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, quiet stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here for 3 days/2 nights to celebrate our "20-year anniversary". We got what we wanted - a nice, quiet place away from schedules and commitments. W enjoyed the fireplace, COMFY bed, coffee, dvd player and hot tub. We didn't see a single person the entire time we were there (besides the owner who restocked our supplies - coffee, food - and brought me an iron). We had cabin #1 which had a small view of the water and tons of windows (bonus). The only things we didn't like were that the log bed frame is bigger than the mattress (I can't count how may times we smashed our shins/knees on the corners) and the water pressure in the shower (pretty sad). Ao, if you like rabbits/deer, you'll love it. All-around, it was a good time!

Room Tip: Cabin #1 had a private hot tub and huge fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalindaTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    106
    31
    19
    13
See reviews for
32
175
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Pond Cabin was lovely and clean; a nice location. Since we were traveling from quite a distance (not locals), we did not bring groceries and were looking forward to breakfast every morning, as was advertised. A basic breakfast was provided the first day and nothing the second. When inquiring about this afterwards (never saw the owners during our weekend stay), we were just told they didn't want to bother us because our cabin was so comfy. As a family of 4, having to buy breakfast out was an inconvenience and added expense. They did agree to credit a minimal amount upon request. As has been addressed in other reviews, customer service is not the strength of this Inn, but the location and nice accommodations are. (Note: good customer service would have been to apologize for missing breakfast one day and immediately offer to credit our bill, not to make excuses and have to be asked to compensate for the error.)
Not sure we'd return without a special deal, since the off-season pricing seemed quite high without it. Did not try the hot tub. Had dinner one night at the restaurant, which was nice, however, again somewhat over-priced for the level it is. But, nice wait staff and comfortable atmosphere.
Although this was a family trip, the "kids" are adults, not young children.

Room Tip: Did not stay in a lodge room, so cannot rate. The Pond Cabin was "very good". King size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cistevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I booked this resort from a Groupon hoping for a fun weekend away. We got what we wanted! We flew up to Orcas via a Seaplane through Kenmore Air. (they were fabulous as well and it really added to our trip) Arrival at the resort was welcoming and the staff was great. We rented a cottage, they have two. We had our own fireplace and personal hot tub on the back patio! The beds were amazing, just as comfortable as my bed at home. The place was very clean-- being that I work in the hotel business I tend to be "judgmental" to say the least... The best part was a cute picnic basket waiting in our room full of english muffins, fruit, cereal and yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juice and milk in the fridge! So creative and much appreciated! We dined in the restaurant on property which had great service and excellent food. In the rooms they also have a DVD player with tons of movies! Great place for a quiet getaway in the "off" season--!

Room Tip: Cottages are quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WineLVR011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
216 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

With a groupon deal in hand, the inn was exactly as described in the online website. While not what I would consider boutique, the charming, rustic light wood paneled rooms were super clean and functional. Staying in Room 3&4 in the lodge's first floor we had a sliver view of the water, but more of the surrounding hills and garden.

The Deer Habor Inn's decor is country cabin with homage fireplace heaters, small flat screens and plentiful free internet. Fridge and toaster are within the room with a microwave in the common area. In the first floor rooms you can plainly hear talking and movement in the other rooms, which did inhibit sound sleeping. The bed is a comfortable queen with light wood post beds which squeaked.

The common area was a great idea, but the implementation needed some assistance with breakfast items needing a home of their own, instead of in a large visible chest and strewn about. The Deer Harbor Inn reminded us of a better version of Hotel Impossible, where Blanche came in with some paint, new fixtures, a countertop here and there, and a new storage system and you would have a Wonderful respite location that is up to date and cozy, vs. what we saw which was dated (green carpet with floral print and orange towels), but good bones.

The restaurant was functionally good and family run. Same story here - great bones and busy on a Saturday night, but a few little updates in the cooking style and presentation could have made this place FAB! Are Ahi tuna was a long way from seared, and the seafood pasta needed a larger plate. Food was good, but the touches around the extra would have made superb.

We loved the place, but kept thinking of ways to increase revenue and the feel with small simple touches - (put in the same color hue of flourescent lighting within the same fixture, clean the mold from signage, and others little things) So much potential, super clean, just needed a few touches to be brilliant.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in lodge will have the best views and quieter, since floor walking noise affects lower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballard, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed our relaxing weekend at the Deer Harbor Inn. The inn was clean and well maintained. It was also nice to have breakfast waiting for us in a basket. We had privacy and the process was easy from start to finish.

We didn't see the owners when we were there. On one hand it was comforting to not have to deal with check-ins and paperwork. On the other, I felt like a greeting would have been nice. I'm sure they are pulled in many directions on any given day, so for that I give them a pass.

Wish I could have gone to the restaurant, but we will have to wait for next time. Will make sure to come back to Deer Harbor when we plan our next vacation to the San Juans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My daughter and her beau, rented a room for my husband and I this weekend, I was pleasantly surprised after getting there and entering our room, our daughter told us it was a cabin, me a city women wasn't quite sure what to expect, but our room was very charming and clean and the breakfast in the basket what a wonderful touch, all unexpected!! My husband and I had such a great time just him and I getting much needed R/R, what a relaxing break from the city, we would do all over again. We did have a TV too and fridge, coffee and maker, toaster and outside our room was a microwave, they also served dinner on the property!! We were excited that are phones didn't work so we can focus on us! Thank you Deer Harbour Inn:-)

Room Tip: Room number 6 is a great room I was told now I'm a believer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 51denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our two day stay in rainy November was a pleasure. Orcas Island, and the Deer Harbour Inn is full of really nice people... what we always expect from residents of our super friendly southern neighbours!

Room Tip: Next time we will ask for the cliff cottage, a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rama38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Property: Deer Harbor Inn
Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing