We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed for Motorcyclists!”
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
“Mixed for Motorcyclists!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked this trip through Travelzoo and for the most part very satisfied. We found the hotel property to be covered with a motorcycle's worst nightmare - gravel. Although slightly compacted, the footing was very difficult to manage and keep a large Harley upright. To their defense, nearly all driveways outside of the main village - and even some within the town are covered this way. Quite simply - if you're traveling via motorcycle, think twice before booking here - the lodging in town is, for the most part, without this problem. Otherwise, the room was clean and comfortable. I believe the web-designer's took some poetic license - especially with the jacuzzi. No ice machine in the main facility - so you have to wait until the restaurant opens (evenings only). Shower water was hot almost immediately - felt great after a long day of riding around the island. Nice main sitting rooms both upper and lower with TVs, computer/printer, and information on the local area. Wildlife (deer and rabbits) were visible on the property. Limited activities, on-site, but town is a mere 11 miles away. Enjoy - if you're in a car! Don't miss the drive up to the summit of Mt Constitution - if the weather allows. Best show in town! Also - the hamburgers at the "The Lower Tavern" (Main St & Prune Alley) in Eastsound. Best we've had in a long time. Basically, a local's hangout! A lot of shops with mostly art/sea items, several bakeries - all within one block - very friendly locals - nice walk. All in all, would we do this again - Yes.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have best views of area -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjhplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    110
    31
    19
    14
See reviews for
33
179
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This inn was adorable! A perfect setting for a quick weekend away. The lodge rooms were spacious, had a electronic fireplace, excellent wifi, a television, toaster, hair dryer, coffee maker and comfy bed. There was even a picnic basket provided in our room with breakfast foods (like oatmeal and baked goods), fruit, water and OJ. We didn't end up using the hot tub, but only because we ran out of time. Deer ran and eat around the grounds, along with bunnies and kittens. The rooms were quiet, clean and had everything we needed with no extra fuss.
The views from the restaurant and grounds were breathtaking, as is all of Orcas Island really. We were walking distance from Deer Harbor Marina where we went whale watching, so the location was perfect. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The room was very nice, the setting was wonderful (very close to the marina), and the hosts were more than gracious. We took advantage of the hot tub every night, and really enjoyed the peace and quiet. The inn has an excellent and highly rated restaurant, although we weren't able to dine there during our brief stay. It was also nice to see that this is a family-run business - has been in the same family for over 40 years. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I booked this lodge room 8 through Travelzoo. Turns out that even with the discount it was still overpriced. When we arrived we rang the bell and the owner drives over in a golf cart (only a short walk away). He barely says hello, hands us the key, points to our lodge room and drives off. Not a welcome or any explanation about the property, amenities, etc. Terrible customer service!! We had no idea if there was a daily cleaning service. (turns out there wasn't) There was no information in the room other than check out time. The room was clean but the furniture big and old fashioned. It is described as a "boutique" lodge room. I would hardly call liquid soap, cheap lotion and tiny dixie cups for drinking "boutique" style. The grounds were unkempt and there was a tiny view of the harbor from the top floor of our lodge. We had stayed 2 nights down the road at The Deer Harbor resort for the same price with amazing views, friendly attentive staff and an awesome breakfast that actually included a protein. The breakfast basket at Deer Harbor Inn, a total disappointment. Just some bagels or bread in baggies, OJ, a little fruit and oatmeal. I guess we were expecting a basket of warm baked scones or something fresh delivered that morning. We tried to play some games but could only find a single die in all of the boxes. Half of the pieces were missing as well. We didn't eat at the restaurant as it was WAY overpriced. We didn't want to risk spending a lot of money in case the customer service was lacking in the dining room as well. We never saw any employees about the grounds either working or checking to make sure the guests were comfortable. The only good thing about it was the ping pong table on the dried up grass and seeing all of the deer and bunnies. Would rather have been camping at the beautiful campground at Moran State Park!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caperdaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you need a place to get away from it all, this place fits the bill. Our room was small,but very clean and very charming. You get a breakfast basket with fruit, instant oatmeal, bagels etc:every morning. We especialy liked sitting out on the deck in the eveninfg. It's rustic, but we liked it and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I loved the upper floor and leaving the windows open all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livedalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited the Deer Harbor Inn this summer. We had been camping on the island and would spend our last 2 nights there. Our plans changed, and I called to see about modifying the reservation, and I was scolded for even asking. Waited awhile for the innkeepers upon arrival and then given the wrong key. Disappointed that it wasnt closer to the marina. Grounds were unkempt. Jacuzzi never warmed up enough the 1st night. There were 3 of us, but only 2 towels. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast was sparse. Our stay was average, but I dont think we will be back. Very pricey for the cabin, and I was told that was all that was available, but then saw empty rooms in the lodge.

Room Tip: book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

They provide jiuce, bananas, and a croissant in your basket for breakfast. Private bath, but cabin had very nice shared LR, computer with internet access, and porch. Very clean, spacious grounds. Would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Any of the 4=6 rooms in our log style cabin would have been very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.2 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
144 reviews
3.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
151 reviews
8.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Property: Deer Harbor Inn
Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing