We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So Charming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So Charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed in the log cabin - Room #7 was so charming! A corner room with windows on 2 walls, nice & bright, great view of the ocean in the distance. A help-yourself kind of place, with a tv/dvd player in the main area on the 2nd floor, comfy couch & wine glasses/cutlery, etc (to be found on main floor). The breakfast basket was so cute & a nice touch to our stay.
The only negative things I have to say about this place was that the hot tub is located a little ways from the log cabin, which deterred us from using it. The mugs/glasses & towels weren't replaced when the room was cleaned. Also, the coffeemaker & fridge were housed in the bathroom - totally unsanitary!

Room Tip: Room 7 (SE corner) was great! Good view, bright, only 1 room adjoining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    106
    31
    19
    13
See reviews for
32
175
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yakima,wa
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I took our first trip to Orcas Island and stayed at the Deer Harbor Inn, my mom actually bought us a nights stay through livingsocial. We arrived on a Friday, March 9th, we booked a room in the lodge area, room 8, really cute little room. It had everything we needed a bed, heating, a bathroom, etc. There was a basket with some fruit, croiscants, and juice (I didn't have any but my husband did) and a Kurig coffee machine, which was great because we have a similar single serve coffee machine at home. In the lodge there was 2 shared sitting areas with a microwave, some board games, and a TV. It was only about a 20 Min drive to the main town where we ate lunch, and dinner. Lunch we ate at the lower tavern which was inexpensive and had great burgers! We asked around for an inexpensive place to eat for dinner and some of the locals told us to go to Tee jay's Tacos, it was hard to find, but a treasure if you can find it! The town was great, the Inn was great, we even woke up in the morning to bunnies running around outside our window! Besides the weather (we knew it would rain, it's near seattle) Everything was perfect for our stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the lodge are right next to each other, but we didn't have a problem hearing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather_ryan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Deer Harbor Inn was such a relaxing place to stay on Orcas Island. The grounds were beautiful, the restaurant had a great atmosphere and service and the view was fabulous. The only thing I would advise is the inn itself isn't the most "private" quarters so if you are honeymooning or just like to keep to yourself I would suggest one of the cabins they have on their property. We stayed in the inn which had 8 rooms & fairly thin walls, we had no issues with it, I just prefer more privacy myself. I definitely plan on visiting Deer Harbor Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

A relaxing spot, nice accommodations and a great dinner restaurant on site. This is a family owned and operated location which is cool. We stayed in the “lodge” which is a two story building with 8 rooms, and a common are on each floor. The rooms are not large, but the common area allows room to spread out and read or play board games. Each room has it own heater so you can set the temp where you want it. The bathrooms are adequate, not cramped. The room has a small refrigerator so, bring snacks… The bed was very comfy; the room was quite and comfortable. The hall’s are noisy (sound travels through the doors) so, if you stay there be nice to your neighbors and save the early morning/late night conversations for when you are in your room. There is a hot tub on site, temp was perfect, and no bad chemical smells, very nice. The grounds are well kept and look like they would be fun for a family staying in one of the cabins. The on-site restaurant was awesome! The chef also owns the “Island Skillet” which is a great place for breakfast, located 20 minutes away in Eastsound.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge, I like upstairs facing the hot tub. I think it is quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We went here after finding it through Living Social. We spent 2 nights in the lodge, a building with 6-10 rooms, and a common area with a TV, couches, and so on. The room was very nice, the staff were friendly and we had a great time. It was in the 30's with rain, snow & cold so it was a March indoors trip. Celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, this was a great place. We wish the restaurant had been open as there are very few dinner options on Tuesday/Wednesday nights in March on Orcas.

We would go back, for sure, as we love Orcas and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jheidt99c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Feels like you are staying in someone's home - and love the lounges on the two floors. Very cute place, and the outdoor hot tub is a great addition. Orcas is a beautiful island, and you can feel the stress slipping away as soon as you get off the ferry. Island time for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaitlinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Wow! Peaceful.. Unbelievably beautiful. We stayed in there wood cabin! Loved it. Private jacuzzi and fireplace. Friendly staff. Family owned. great place for u and that special someone to getaway and focus on each other. Also has mini kitchen to cook that romantic dinner and a refrigerator to keep wine and champagne cold! We will be back sooner than later.

Room Tip: Do a lil grocery shopping as the whole island is for tourism and prices reflect so
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knockout006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
6.6 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Property: Deer Harbor Inn
Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing