We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cozy!”
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quaint and cozy!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We came here after purchasing a LivingSocial voucher for a one-night stay. The voucher also included a $20 credit for the spa, which we didn't use. We also couldn't try the restaurant, as it's on "winter hours" (only open on weekends) and we came during the middle of the week.

It's a nice little place. We were actually the only people staying in the lodge (room 3) so we had the place to ourselves. The room was adorable; the fireplace was on, everything was clean, and the bed was comfortable. On the second floor, there's a little TV area plus they have tons of DVDs, books, and board games for entertainment. Although we didn't make use of it, there's also a hot-tub outside that looked nice.

The only real complaint I have is that it's sort of far-off from the rest of the island. I don't blame the Inn for that, of course, but it's something I wish I'd known beforehand. It might have been nice to stay a little closer to East Sound.

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice little island getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krystinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    110
    32
    19
    14
See reviews for
33
180
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is an absolutely perfect weekend getaway.
Upon arrival, as you check-in and get your key, the man at the front is extremely helpful if you're new to the island -- he gave me detailed instructions of how to get to all the little towns on the island.
The rooms are small, yet cozy, with a gas fireplace in each room. The stay includes a breakfast basket. Though there are no televisions in the rooms, there is a "lounge" area, with couches, chairs, coffee table, and a TV. There is an assortment of DVDs available to choose from, as well as board games and books.
Right outside the inn is a lighted gazebo with a hot tub in it. The property is beautiful and very peaceful.
I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My expectations were blown out of the water by the people on Orcas Island! Our room was charming and the bed was amazing. We loved the hot tub under the gazebo! Just what we needed on a cold December night.
The food at the Deer Harbor Inn restaurant was amazing! I'm vegan and they had wonderful food for me too! The best stir fry I've ever had!
Every single person we dealt with at the Inn was super friendly and accommodating~!
I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Deer Harbor Inn and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Orcas Island. We had our dog Cooper with us and stayed in one of the cabins. The bed was extremely comfy, there was a great kitchenette with 2 burners and a fridge and lots of room for the 3 of us. There was also a tv/dvd but we did not use it but instead used one of the sets from the Inn to play scrabble. There's also a great gas fireplace which made the room even more inviting during the cool November temperatures we experienced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My sister-in-law purchased a nights stay for us last christmas using a groupon. There was a mix up with our reservation in October. The people at Deer Harbor Inn said they would extend the expiration date on the groupon so we made plans for a Veterans Day visit. The weather was awful but the room was cozy. The bed was very comfortable. We will definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: The upstairs room in the lodge have a view of the water.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJL3509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Small "rustic" resort - with great restaurant. The lodge has 6 rooms with Western decor, and common room on both the first and second floor. Other units are small cabins. "Rustic" rooms are very nice and have a fireplace. The only TV is in the common room. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our stay was lovely. We had room 7 which offered a beautiful view of the lawn, restaurant and water in the distance. The sunrises were beautiful. The room was quiet, roomy enough for two, with a private bath, small fridge and fireplace. The bed was awesome! My back felt best in months! No one in the office to greet us or to say goodbye...that was the only thing I felt was missing to an otherwise hospitable environment. We went because of a livingsocial coupon. The experience exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.2 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
460 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
8.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
156 reviews
3.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Property: Deer Harbor Inn
Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing