We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Serene Setting - Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Beautiful, Serene Setting - Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My wife and I went up to Orcas Island for the weekend arriving Friday night and leaving on Sunday. The grounds were well maintained and attractive. Views out to the water. We stayed in the lodge - though there are individual cottages. It was cozy and had an electric fireplace. Nice common areas and balcony to sit on. The daily breakfast basket was enough to allow us to lounge around until late morning before heading. The restaurant was excellent. We ended up eating there both nights and enjoyed both dinners. It was a chilly weekend so we didn;t get to eat out on the deck with the view down to the Harbor. It is a bit of a haul to Eastsound and the rest of the Island from the Inn's location - but that means it's close to the ferry. We will definitely be making another visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTM-SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    106
    31
    19
    13
See reviews for
32
175
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed in the lodge which had comfortable beds and paper thin walls. You could hear EVERYTHING the people above and beside you were doing. The grounds needed some TLC, weeds were a mile high in the planters and the breakfast basket consisted of 2 very brown bananas, half an old, stale muffin and a couple of granola bars. Don't think we will be back.

Room Tip: Stay in the cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

The cottage was the perfect size for our long weekend, with the hot tub and kitchenette we relaxed and had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsOnTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

A friend and I enjoyed a lovely one night stay at Deer Harbor Inn. We stayed in the lodge which was older and rustic but very comfortable with two outside decks to take in the amazing views. The beds are very comfortable and our room had a small fridge/freezer, coffee maker and their was a computer with internet access in the communal area of the lodge. The reservation and check in process were handled very efficiently and in warm welcoming manner. It's a great spot to get away from it all and still be in easy driving distance to the town, restaurants and state park. We also enjoyed a fantastic dinner at the restaurant. The food was delicious, service very friendly, and once again those amazing views!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at a room in the house and found the bed very comfortable, the room well kept and cozy. There was a casual, inviting atmosphere to the grounds. Ron was very helpful and full of information on the Deer Harbor activities and sites of interest. Ron also had great information on events and activities on Orcas as a whole. Regret that we couldn't stay on the island longer and enjoy more activities, but even as an overnight get-away it was worth the trip. Would recommend that if you are interested in a 'romantic' (wink wink) get-away that you book one of the cabins for privacy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davesea2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We went to Deer Harbor for a Groupon, and the price we paid for that was still overpriced. The walls are paper thin, so everybody's going ons are not private what so ever. Rooms are not updated and the bathroom smelled of urine. The wine and cheese, along with the 'breakfast basket' were a joke (see pics.) Orcas island was beautiful and there was a great restaurant for breakfast around the way from Deer Harbor at Kingfish Inn. We will definitely be back to Orcas, but will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khoffman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We arrived on Saturday and there was a note on the door to knock on the trailer (the travel trailer next door) and ask for Ron. We knocked on the door and he opened and asked if we were the IRS or the Police. Stunned, my husband responded "Both". He asked to see a copy of our Living Social deal and then pointed out that we would have wine and cheese in our room, a breakfast basket, a discount for spa services and a $10 discount at the restaurant. He pointed up to the room and said it was one of the best ones in the house.

We went to our room and yes as he stated there was wine and cheese. Actually it was 2 pieces of 2 different kinds of cheese, 2 crackers and 2 pieces of chocolate all on a paper plate covered with wax paper. And there was wine, some kind of red wine...who knows what kind it was because it was in a 1970's decanter and had been there for who knows how long (along with the cheese!).. oh and there was a breakfast basket..it was a beautiflul covered picnic basket and when I opened it at the very bottom of it was 2 green bananas and 2 bottles of orange juice and a baggie of some kind of pastry that obviously came in bulk and was put into a ziploc bag. The bed had tons of hair from an animal on the 4 corners of the posts...it was disgusting! The mattress was so soft you sank into it at least 5 inches and when you climbed in you roll together in the middle (although some people might like that!).

The grounds were haphazardly mowed and unkept. The hot tub was old and had Christmas lights still strung around it.

Bottom line? Ron should stick with his acting career and quit the service industry....the woman who answers the phone was rude and when we asked a question her response was "I've said this a million times today....and I"ll say it again".

This was the most unfriendly place I've ever been....If you're going to Orcas Island my advice??? Stay at the Orcas Hotel....It's charming, beautiful, amazing food and Doug is the perfect host!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fivelimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
6.6 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Property: Deer Harbor Inn
Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing