We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Stay Again”
Review of The Weinhard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Weinhard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will Stay Again”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I usually stay at the Weinhard several times a year but this year only made it out once. For friendliness and atmosphere it can't be beat. My only quibble is the lack of a protein at their free continental breakfast. Might I suggest some hardboiled eggs? 10/10 will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACargol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your latest review! We so appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you for your recommendation regarding protein at breakfast. Over the years, we have expanded our continental breakfast to accommodate the needs of our guests, adding first granola and yogurt, then bagels, cream cheese and peanut butter. Hard boiled eggs are an easy way to add a source of protein. We will certainly consider including that as well. Have a safe and happy winter. We look forward to your next visit! Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    45
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
58
171
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our third visit and third different room in this beautifully restored hotel, each one comfortable and spotless. This time we participated in a murder mystery event hosted by proprietors Gary and Shellie and had so much fun! Their spirited conversations about the community and the Touchet Valley are accompanied by their own love for their home here. Very willing to accommodate guests' needs and wants! "Black Barbara" and "Poker Alice" will definitely return for a fourth stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wanderfoolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Marj, Thank you for being such a loyal and genuine supporter of our business. Last weekend was loads of fun and you made a fantastic outlaw - hmmm, your true calling? Let's hope not! We look forward to your next stay. All the best, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and would go back again! The owners are wonderful. Comfortable beds with luxurious bedding. Some rooms have only two twin beds which would be perfect for kids...or me and my snoring husband! I highly recommend a murder mystery weekend! So fun!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the Murder Mystery. We so appreciate you sharing your experience on tripadvisor. Wishing you a wonderful winter, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We received a gift package from our children. We stayed in a lovely, spotless room at the hotel and ate dinner at Patit Creek. We enjoyed our time at the hotel. The rooms are beautiful as is the entire hotel. The owners are very nice and most helpful. We had a lovely time. We always enjoy our time spent in Dayton. We've stayed at the hotel before and enjoyed then as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Kaye, What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write it! We are so pleased that The Weinhard and Dayton are still a fun getaway for you, as you live so close. Thank you for choosing to spend time with us. Happy Holidays. We look forward to your next visit, Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenough, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our third stay here, and as usual it was brilliant. The owners are outgoing, friendly, happy to sit down and share stories and even a bit of the local wine. We'll certainly return again once the snow melts off the passes.

Room Tip: Check out Dumas Station winery just west of town for wonderful big reds, and the nearby fromagerie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MontanaTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again - and for meeting friends/family here! It's a very high compliment for you to choose the Weinhard as your meeting place for a fun getaway. We so enjoyed visiting with you all. Looking forward to your next visit. Happy Holidays! Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I escaped the fog of the west side and had an enjoyable stay at the Weinhard Hotel. Enjoyable weekend in and around Dayton and Walla Walla. Clean rooms, welcoming owners who were knowledgeable and helpful in every way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time in Dayton - and glad the fog didn't follow you here. :-) We hope you will visit us again! Wishing you a warm and wonderful winter, Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We came for the Mystery Weekend and had a great time. It was a lot of fun. Our room was very comfortable. Gary and Shelli are really friendly and nice and made us feel at home. I highly recommend it for a regular stay or if you are interested in the Mystery Weekend.

Room Tip: Suite 10 is worth the extra $$ if you like a huge, luxurius room and bed and a huge jacuzzi tub. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Heidi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It was so much fun having you and your family with us for the Murder Mystery Weekend. I really enjoyed watching the performances at your table - Great fun! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Dayton. Thank you again for your loyal patronage!
Wishing you a wonderful holiday season,
Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Hotel & Suites
24.6 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
24.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
24.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Walla Walla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
22.9 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#10 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinhard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinhard Hotel

Property: The Weinhard Hotel
Address: 235 E Main St, Dayton, WA 99328-1352
Location: United States > Washington > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weinhard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinhard is a 15 room Victorian Hotel. Each room is uniquely appointed with antique furnishings. All rooms include a private bathroom, cable TV, wi-fi internet access, telephones and hair dryers. A fresh fruit basket is provided in your room each day. Complimentary muffins, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea are served in our coffee shop each morning, where espresso drinks are also for sale. Our rooftop garden is a nice spot to relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Weinhard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinhard Hotel Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing