We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage charm with modern convenience”
Review of The Weinhard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Weinhard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautiful antiques, comfortable beds and welcoming staff. Wi- fi and the roof garden all made for another great stay. B&B charm with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Weinhard is a consistently great place to stay in Dayton.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you, Cathy for another kind review!! We love seeing our return customers - you and your hubby are some of our favorites! Until next time, Shellie :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Planning a trip to the Walla Walla area to enjoy the wine country? Don't look anywhere else for lodging, this is the one of the nicest historic hotels I have ever stayed at. The hotel and rooms were lovely, as was the rooftop garden, plus it boasted all the modern touches that a traveler could want, from free wi-fi, computer/internet access and an assortment of excellent restaurants to choose from. Continental breakfast was served in their Espresso cafe, and I even picked up a new umbrella from the gift shop.

Best of all was the warmth and graciousness of our hosts Gary and Shellie. They made us feel at home at once, and gave spot-on advice regarding restaurants, wines and area attractions.

We were finishing up an 18th anniversary trip to Yellowstone, and Weinhard Hotel was our last stop and hands-down the nicest hostelry we stayed in!

Don't miss this place! We're going to tell all our friends and family, so you'll want to make reservations before they get booked solid...

Room Tip: Room 10 is "the best room in the house" with a luxurious canopy bed, high ceilings, oodles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DINAH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dinah, You were such a fun guest! I so enjoyed listening to the stories you and your hubby shared on the rooftop garden, visiting with our other guests. I am smiling now just thinking of it. Thank you for your wonderful review! I hope we can be part of many of your anniversary celebrations to come! It was great to meet you, Shellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Last weekend we attended our nephews wedding at the Running T Ranch in Dayton, WA. We stayed at the Weinhard Hotel in Dayton, and it was wonderful! They were very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast as well as the fresh fruit and chocolate left in our room. The Victorian accommodations were beautiful and clean, and even though the atmosphere was Victorian, the bathroom facilities were beautiful and new. All the rooms are unique, and if the room is vacant, they leave the door open so you can browse the different rooms. I would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themotoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

What a lovely review - Thank you!! I am so glad you got to experience the full effect of our beautiful area. I grew up on North Touchet Rd. very near the Running T Ranch, so I love that people are now experiencing it's beauty as a wedding venue. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again when you are in our little corner of Washington!
Many happy returns, Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited from Western WA for a anniversary weekend getaway and enjoyed ourselves so much we would've liked to have stayed longer. The rooms were all decorated in Victorian antiques and really brought me to another era. Our room was at the end of the main hallway and it was so quiet that we felt like we were alone in the hotel. Everyone was so friendly and answered all our questions as if they truly love their job - so different from staying in a "chain" hotel. The town of Dayton along with the small little towns and large farm lands were as peaceful as I could've dreamed! We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nonfatchai1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for spending your anniversary with us! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Weinhard. Next time you visit, consider coming in spring when all the wheat fields are still green. It is beautiful in a whole different way than harvest time. Wishing you joy and peace and many more happy anniversaries! Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a quiet getaway to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Clean, comfortable, and quiet. Much more character than a chain hotel. Breakfast was very basic, but sufficient. We were in Room 16 at the back of the hotel, 2nd floor. Nice view of the rooftop garden. The showerhead was great! AC worked really well. Internet was pretty weak in this room, often lost the connection, you might try a room closer to the lobby if a good signal is important to you, we were just checking out restaurants, so it wasn't a big deal. One other thing to consider about this room is it is right by the door to the rooftop garden, which isn't a very quiet door - occasionally you'd have a bang from the door opening or closing when someone went in or out, but it wasn't frequent and wasn't a problem for us. We'd definitely come back here again for a quiet night away from the kids.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pigburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi there! Thank you for sharing your review with photos! It's always fun to see the pictures our guests have taken. You also shared some valuable tips for our future guests, which I'm sure will be appreciated. It's an honor to have shared in your 25th Anniversary. Congratulations! :) Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a change from Walla Walla and found a number of interesting historical sites as well as a great winery, Dumas, the Syrah was our favorite. We sipped it on the lovely rooftop garden at the hotel which is also a great place to have your continental breakfast of fresh local fruit and homemade muffins. A great value as well. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNQFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Yea! You found us! Great to hear that you discovered Dumas Station Winery as well. Dayton is full of little known gems :) Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do hope you'll come visit us again. Cheers! Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a two night stay and found this hotel to be a warm and friendly place to stay. Clean and well maintained, very decent breakfast. The rooms are large and spacious and the hotel has good sound proofing. The bed was not great for me as I have arthritis, but I heard others say they had slept well. Lovely place to stay in the Palouse country, quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Our room was convenient on the ground floor (no stairs to climb). Would like to try for the large ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Lisa, Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come again and enjoy that Jacuzzi tub in our signature suite! Wishing you lovely days and restful nights in all of your future travels, Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Hotel & Suites
24.6 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dayton Motel
Dayton Motel
#3 of 4 in Dayton
7 reviews
24.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 15 in Walla Walla
259 reviews
23.7 mi away
Green Gables Inn
Green Gables Inn
#2 of 12 in Walla Walla
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinhard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinhard Hotel

Address: 235 E Main St, Dayton, WA 99328-1352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range: $101 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weinhard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinhard is a 15 room Victorian Hotel. Each room is uniquely appointed with antique furnishings. All rooms include a private bathroom, cable TV, wi-fi internet access, telephones and hair dryers. A fresh fruit basket is provided in your room each day. Complimentary muffins, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea are served in our coffee shop each morning, where espresso drinks are also for sale. Our rooftop garden is a nice spot to relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Weinhard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinhard Hotel Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing