We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of The Weinhard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Weinhard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in September of 2012 and enjoyed the hotel and surroundings so much, we returned 3 more times within the year - most recently in August 2013. You can't ask for a cleaner, friendlier, more unique hotel experience than the Weinhard. The rooms are large, beautifully furnished, quiet, and the beds are very comfortable. We've stayed twice upstairs and twice downstairs - and have not been disappointed! Locally owned and so much better than the corporate chain hotel options make this an easy choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PattyPan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

It's so great to hear that you have returned to stay with us several times in the last year! Thank you for your continues support of our small business! You only need to stay 11 more times in order to try each and every room. :)
With great appreciation,
Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for The Weinhard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently traveled back to Dayton WA, at the foot of the Blue Mountains, where I graduated High School. We had the great opportunity to stay at the beautiful Weinhard Hotel in Dayton. This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and each room has been individually appointed in century old pieces. It is very comfortable with it's pillow top beds and only the best linens. We stayed there for 2 nights in restful luxury. The staff are very friently and informative and even provide fresh fruit and dark chocolates. They have recenly added refrigerators to each room and every morning before dawn, there is fresh brewed coffee just steps away from your room. I love the big fans in the room which provide a fresh air environment with the 12 ft ceilings! I stay here each time I visit historical Dayton and would stay no where else. You are pampered from the start with their coffee/wine bar and only a few doors away from fine dining, although you are right in the middle of town, all windows face off the main street, so there is NO NOISE! We were even on the bottom floor this time and there was still NO NOISE! This century old establishment is a real treat. There is a lovely Saturday market next door at the Historic Depot if you are lucky enough to visit in the summer. Another great amenity is the terrace garden on top, providing a lovely place to read or sip your coffee. We have stayed all over the country, including the best of Europe and Asia (the Ritz) and this hotel stands up to the best of them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyBurton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, Cathy! We are so pleased that we can be part of what makes coming "home" to Dayton such a treat for you. Thank you for sharing your experience with others!
Wishing you the Best, Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a pleasure it was to stay at The Weinhard Hotel! We could not be more impressed by the hospitality and accommodations. The rooms are beautifully appointed and maintained. Rooms that are not reserved are open for guests to view. The upstairs patio garden is reminiscent of European patio. Perfect for reading in the morning! We loved the proximity to Walla Walla and the many wine tasting rooms. Thank you for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dianna, Thank YOU for a delightful review! Now that you have viewed the unoccupied rooms during your recent stay, you'll have to come back and try each one to be sure they are all just as comfortable. So glad you enjoyed Dayton and Walla Walla wine tasting. Cheers! Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here passing through between Pullman and Walla Walla. Everything was perfect! The staff was friendly the lobby and the room were both immaculate and charming and the breakfast was elegantly served and yummy. We will definitely try to stay here again.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all rooms are charming.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelingteachers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We are glad to accommodate 2 Travelling Teachers! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you have occasion to visit us again. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Wishes!
Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a wedding anniversary, Iwerecently stayed 2 nights at The Weinhard Hotel and was very pleased with the experience. Everything was perfect....location, cleanliness, ambience, and price. The lobby and rooms were roomy with beautiful antiques. The staff were friendly, the entire experience was charming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheMcPikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Congratulations on your Anniversary, Mr. & Mrs. McPike.
Thank you for choosing to spend it at The Weinhard Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again when you are in Eastern Washington!
All the Best,
Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Weinhard Hotel. It is at (approximately) at the half way point between two cities we regularly visit (Portland and Spokane). I just know that we will stop again at the hotel. We stayed in room 15. It was terrific! Next time, we'll stay in that room or in room 16. Both rooms are great. We also had a wonderful meal at the Weinhard Cafe (across the street). And, we really enjoyed exploring around the town of Dayton. If we weren't really happy in our own home community, I would seriously consider moving to Dayton. It's a very pleasant place. Overall, our time at the Weinhard Hotel was (seriously) a highlight of our summer. It's a great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 15 are best. Room 16 is right off the rooftop garden.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you, David, for taking the time to review us!
Dayton is indeed a charming town - I have been fortunate enough to live here all my life and am always pleased when others can see all that keeps me here. I'm thrilled that your time with us was a highlight to your summer. We will look forward to your next visit!
All the Best to you, Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at The Weinhard Hotel and was very pleased with the experience. Everything was perfect....location, cleanliness, ambience, and price. The lobby is roomy with beautiful antiques, plenty of seating, books, and helpful tourist info. I stayed in room #15 with the french doors that open for the evening breeze and partial view of the courthouse. The room was large and well appointed...sink outside the restroom, great shower head and hex tile floor, refrigerator, armoire, tv, desk, sitting chair, and an exquisite antique bed with the best sheets I've ever laid upon! Continental breakfast was easy and delicious with good coffee and home made muffins. Trays were available to take food to your room or rooftop garden as well. The roof top garden is a delight for the senses and is not to be missed! Thank you!

Room Tip: The doors were open to rooms that did not have guests and I peeked around most of them....they'r...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaithL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Faith, what a lovely review ~ Thank you! Great to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us to the fullest. We hope you will come again and bring all your frineds! :)
All the best, Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
24.6 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Hotel & Suites
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dayton Motel
Dayton Motel
#3 of 4 in Dayton
7 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
22.9 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#10 of 15 in Walla Walla
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinhard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinhard Hotel

Address: 235 E Main St, Dayton, WA 99328-1352
Location: United States > Washington > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range: $113 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weinhard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinhard is a 15 room Victorian Hotel. Each room is uniquely appointed with antique furnishings. All rooms include a private bathroom, cable TV, wi-fi internet access, telephones and hair dryers. A fresh fruit basket is provided in your room each day. Complimentary muffins, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea are served in our coffee shop each morning, where espresso drinks are also for sale. Our rooftop garden is a nice spot to relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Weinhard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinhard Hotel Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing