We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Weinhard exceeds expectations again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Weinhard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Weinhard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
“The Weinhard exceeds expectations again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you want to experience the genuine warmth and congeniality reminiscent of a time you thought was long gone, be sure to stay with Gary and Shellie at the Weinhard Hotel in Dayton. Not only do they cook up amazing muffins and coffee, they also serve it themselves and offer great suggestions for local entertainment. They're very positive and personally invested in helping you have the perfect vacation in their charming town. There may be bigger chain hotels in the region, but none of them have the soul and ambiance of this charming family-operated hotel in the heart of downtown Dayton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Cathy, Thank you for your very kind review and for adding a great picture of the mules on parade in front of The Weinhard during Mule Mania/Alumni Weekend - Absolutely gorgeous! As always, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Cheers, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    45
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
164
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Weinhard Hotel at the end of June and enjoyed the friendly owners
and the lovely garden. It was so nice to relax and enjoy a glass of wine on the rooftop
garden. We have stayed here a number of times over the years and always go back
when we are in southeastern Washington. I grew up in Walla Walla so enjoy the wheat
fields and the rural feel of Dayton. It is so much better than a motel.

Room Tip: We enjoy a corner room in the back but I am sure all rooms are quaint and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty jo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Betty Jo! How nice to see your review here - Thank you! I so enjoyed visiting with you on the garden this year. We look forward to your next trip. Cheers, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Weinhard Hotel in Dayton in May after hiking nearby at scenic Palouse Falls. The quaint town of Dayton is quite a destination in itself.

The Weinhard Hotel is gorgeously restored, with beautiful woodwork and antique furnishings. Everything speaks comfort and ambiance, and first class hospitality by owners and staff. The rooftop garden is wonderful escape, with lovely plants, fountains and cool furniture. My sister who is a master gardener fell in love with it. Great breakfast of home-made baked goodies. My other sister and her husband heard about the Weinhard and Dayton and drove from Sandpoint, ID to spend their anniversary there. I highly recommend the Weinhard, and it is a treasured landmark worth supporting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwoodsgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hey there! Thanks for your nice review, and for sharing your great photographs! So glad your family members were able to come and share this space with us as well. Cheers! Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Dayton. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast muffins are terrific. The sheets are to die for! I would recommend staying here if you are interested in getting out of a cookie cutter bland chain hotel room and want to stay somewhere with some character!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review with others! It is our fantastic guests who look for something out of the ordinary in their travels that make our jobs here so fun. We look forward to charming your socks off again! All the best to you, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've stayed here several times over 17 years and have always been blown away by the beautiful antiques, rooftop garden, and great service. We've traveled extensively and seldom found such a combo of charm, ease and authenticity. We'll return as often as opportunity allows.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Ah, The McNairs! Thank you so much for your continued support, and for sharing your kind review here on tripadvisor. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were a group of eight couples traveling together and had the great fortune of choosing the Weinhard Hotel for our stay in southeast Washington. The owners and staff were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. We were entertained in the afternoon by a fun elderly couple playing old-timey tunes, accompanied by complimentary wine or tea. Later in the evening, we were invited to gather around a comfy fire on the rooftop garden and enjoyed meeting several of the other travelers staying at the Weinhard.

Since our group occupied several rooms, we had the opportunity to see the unique decor and character of each. Every one was furnished with beautifully restored antiques and was very charming.

Excellent coffee and breakfast in the adjoining cafe, as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Use the hotel's website to select a room fitting your needs and interests. The photos and descr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. This is the perfect place to gather with a group of friends, and I am so glad you all found us! We look forward to serving you again in the future.
All the Best,
Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Out first stay at the Weinhard was right after 9.11.2001. Our trip to Europe cancelled we set out for E WA looking for a place to recover and found the Weinhard in Dayton. We could not have found a better place to retreat. Lovely rooms, great staff, great food and a sense of place you don't find in a hotel chain. Reminds me why small town America continues to renew and sustain us - kindness and comfort and good food. We and my sisters from Spokane have been back several times.

Room Tip: We like room # 6 on the first floor - quiet and charming. They also have a very nice disabled acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Wow, that was so long ago, and yet I remember you having to cancel your European vacation, and staying with us instead. I am so glad to hear that we continue to provide respite for you. Thank you so much for sharing your review! All the Best, Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton Hotel & Suites
24.6 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
24.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Walla Walla Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
24.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Walla Walla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
22.9 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#9 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinhard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinhard Hotel

Property: The Weinhard Hotel
Address: 235 E. Main Street, Dayton, WA 99328
Location: United States > Washington > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weinhard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinhard is a 15 room Victorian Hotel. Each room is uniquely appointed with antique furnishings. All rooms include a private bathroom, cable TV, wi-fi internet access, telephones and hair dryers. A fresh fruit basket is provided in your room each day. Complimentary muffins, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea are served in our coffee shop each morning, where espresso drinks are also for sale. Our rooftop garden is a nice spot to relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Weinhard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinhard Hotel Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing