We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Weinhard is a destination not just a room”
Review of The Weinhard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Weinhard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Weinhard Hotel in Dayton as part of a murder mystery weekend and package and just fell in love with the place. The hotel is a historical building with all of the charms and architecture of the old days. The pictures throughout the building tells the story of the hotel and the town. The rooms are excellent! The room we stayed in had high ceilings, a window facing main street where we watched the parade go by and fresh fruit on the desk for our enjoyment.

Even though this is an historical building, the upkeep of the building is impeccable and there were no issues that typically come with old buildings. The shower was excellent, no worries about hot water running out and the shower head was great. There weren't any creaking floor boards and we didn't hear any noises from adjoining rooms. Additionally, the roof garden was very nice. My wife and I sat out there sipping on coffee and enjoying the sunshine.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the town of Dayton as well. It is a wonderful town, with old world charm and neighborly friendliness. If you find yourself in Dayton this would be the place to stay. The innkeepers are full of knowledge and will definitely give you all the information of the "don't dare to miss" shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikavexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hey there! Thank you for reviewing us! You two were so fun and friendly, we got some great pictures of you participating in the Murder Mystery. I hope you will join us again in the fall when we transform the hotel into an old west saloon for our Murder Mystery Event. We are so glad you enjoyed our little town of Dayton as a whole.
We look forward to seeing you again, Shellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for The Weinhard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 336 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

We purchased a Living Social get-a-way for the Weinhard Hotel as a way to get ourselves out of a weekend rut. The Weinhard Hotel was a perfect place for us. From the reservation process (we could book ANY available room) to the perfect amenities (blankets for sitting on the deck, fresh fruit in the room, KINDNESS of the owners). We ate one night at Threshers and the next morning my purse had been returned to the hotel before I even realized it was gone. Our room was lovely as was the entire hotel. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhgeePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review! We met so many wonderful people through the living social promotion that had not been to Dayton or stayed with us before - thanks for being one of them!
I am glad you enjoyed our town and the people in it. (I have to give credit to Mike, the employee from Threshers Bar & Grill who brought your purse over to the hotel 2 hours before they opened because he didn't want you to leave town without it!) The people here are what makes this town so special.
Please come and see us again.
Best Wishes,
Shellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We've stayed at the Weinhard Hotel a number of times, including our wedding night in the honeymoon suite, and a weekend in "the cottage", the hotel's off-site house that's available for rent for the weekend, or the week. When going to visit Dayton, we'll never stay anywhere else now except the Weinhard!

Both the hotel and the cottage offer every comfort and amenity a guest could ask for. In the summer, you can take a lovely walk into yesteryear around the old Victorian era downtown and off-Main Street area to enjoy the beautiful turn of the century homes and get a look at the farmers harvesting grain against the sunset in the fields outside of Dayton. Back at the hotel, after a lovely dinner at the Patit Creek Restaurant, we enjoyed sinking into our comfy, deep, antique beds for the night. We've heard great things about the hotel's mystery night, so we've made plans to come back for it!

In the morning there were muffins, fruit and coffee in the beautiful lobby provided by the kind hotelier, Shellie, who we met at check in. We had our coffee on the rooftop garden...sunny, warm, lovely flowers. All in all a wonderful weekend each time we visit!

Room Tip: Every room is lovely with an antique bedset that is not to be believed! Ask for a tour!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Danielle, Thank you for your thoughtful review! We have been so privileged to serve your family over the years. Your grandmother's 90th birthday party at the hotel was a hoot! Seeing the faces of our wonderful returning guests is what makes being here such a joy. Gary and I appreciate your loyalty more than can be expressed.
All the best to you and yours,
Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I love Dayton. So much so I visited 5 times in 2012 and stayed at the Weinhard each time. I've stayed in just about every room on the second floor and they're all lovely, some especially in the front, less quiet than others, but all still comfortable.
The continental breakfast in the morning is just what you need before getting back on the road, although it's a little short on protein. You can walk the whole town from this hotel.
It's good, comfortable rooms and a good value.
I'm constantly recommending this hotel to my friends, and even dragging some of them all the way there. I really hope the Best Western doesn't do this place in.

Room Tip: if you want romance, get the honeymoon suite. if you need a bed for two on the second floor, go for...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACargol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, and for wishing us continued success. It's great to hear from those of you who keep coming back and bring friends along, too! We so appreciate your loyalty. We will keep doing our very best to make each and every stay a special one for you. Best Wishes, Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wanting to take a spring drive in the country and have a laid back little getaway, we chose to travel to Dayton and stay at the Weinhard Hotel. Everything about the hotel was perfect but I also want to just mention what a pleasant little town Dayton is. Great restaurants, nice little walking trail along the river, lots of parks and it enjoys the warm sunny climate of south eastern Washington.
Now, for the inn. We stayed in room #15 located on the second floor with a little balcony. Yes, the view could have been better, it looks out at the wall of the building next to it, but gracing the top of that building, you get a glimpse of the historic court house and treetops. The room is also just off the rooftop garden where we enjoyed a nice beverage and relaxing in the sun or shade.

The complimentary fresh fruit (apple, pear, banana and orange) along with the yummy dark chocolate was a nice surprise. The beautiful antique bed was comfortable with good linens and a variety of pillows, shower/tub nice, good space for toiletries on the vanity. My wishes for the room? I would have liked a small table so we could enjoy our coffee and breakfast in the room with the morning sun coming in the french doors and a refrigerator like the other rooms had would have been appreciated. But, the staff was so, so wonderful. I had bought some jasmine tea pearls at the shop across the street and one of the staff at the hotel provided me with a nice little teapot and cup so I could enjoy it, even though they sell tea and espresso also.
We will definately come back. It is so well done and well run and a very pleasant surprise to find this gem in a rural setting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CouleeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and our community! Room 15 is a favorite for many returning guests, and I thank you for the suggestion of adding a small table to the room. I agree, that would be a lovely way to have your morning coffee. We are adding refrigerators to each room, one by one, so hopefully by the next time you stay with us, there will be one for your convenience in any room you choose.
All the best to you,
Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just spent the weekend in Dayton at the Weinhard Hotel. What a great city and hotel. The Hotel was really more like a bed and breakfast in that it was comfortable, you were treated like part of the family, and there were fresh muffins when you woke up! NOT TO MENTION the terrific location within Dayton. Once you parked, everything else (well, almost) was within walking distance. There were a least 4 great restaurants within a block, a 'to die for' chocolate shop (don't miss this one), and an interesting purveyor of mead! The mead maker actually walked our purchase back to the Hotel, so we could stay and chat some more. The rooftop at the hotel was also very relaxing and a great use of space. WE will definitely come back to this hotel as well as Dayton.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. There are two rooms that have a view of the rooftop, which is nice ... but...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Wow, what a nice review! Thank you for taking the time to write it, and to mention all the wonderful businesses within two blocks of us! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our town so much. We look forward to your next visit - we'll have the wine glasses waiting! :) Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place is great time and great feel. The vibe is historic with smooth modern conveniences.
Most importantly for me though was the ENTIRE staff -- they made the experience. Everyone is so friendly, accommodating and cool---they really make you feel comfortable. Chain hotels should take note.

Here's the good stuff:
-Daily Fresh fruit basket in your room
-Mini refrigerators in rooms
-Complimentary breakfast: Fresh homemade muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, coffee, juices...
-Great locale---right in the middle of town, restaurants and bars steps away
-Vintage 2-seater bike you can joy ride around town in...with a horn
-Beautiful rooftop garden area
-Oh, and good water pressure!
-Did I mention the staff....

Much Mahalo to the Weinhard Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Jayson! Thank you for the review! We so enjoyed having you as a guest. And seeing you ride around town on the surrey bike with your little nephew put a big smile on my face. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed the hotel. It was truly a pleasure to meet you. :) Shellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
24.6 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Hotel & Suites
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dayton Motel
Dayton Motel
#3 of 4 in Dayton
7 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
22.9 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#10 of 15 in Walla Walla
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinhard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinhard Hotel

Address: 235 E Main St, Dayton, WA 99328-1352
Location: United States > Washington > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range: $113 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weinhard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinhard is a 15 room Victorian Hotel. Each room is uniquely appointed with antique furnishings. All rooms include a private bathroom, cable TV, wi-fi internet access, telephones and hair dryers. A fresh fruit basket is provided in your room each day. Complimentary muffins, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea are served in our coffee shop each morning, where espresso drinks are also for sale. Our rooftop garden is a nice spot to relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Weinhard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinhard Hotel Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing