We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem!”
Review of The Weinhard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Weinhard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
West Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Many "historic" hotels show their age; rickety "antique" furnishings, cranky plumbing, tired decor and less than pristine housekeeping - not so at the Weinhard Hotel!

The period furnishings are wonderful, the bed and pillows were very comfy; I was appreciative that I didn't have to smell previous guest odors within the pillows or linens, it happens so often even in chains these days and is really gross!

The bath was attractive with a floor of white hexagonal tile with a good showerhead and plenty of water pressure.

Our bedroom had a high ceiling with a drop ceiling fan, very nice wall trim and a useful good wooden window blind. There are plenty of lamps and light and a flat TV with every channel possible.

There was not an errant speck of dust, an unrepaired crack, a badly painted baseboard or soiled spot of carpet to be found.
I took a quick look-see the next morning on the 2nd floor and found the rest of the vacated rooms to be as pristine as ours.

A second floor garden terrace will be heaven in season with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and town.
The lobby (can I call it that)? is nicely furnished and there is a coffee/espresso bar open to the public opening onto the street. This also serves as the space where we were served a... very light.... "continental" breakfast.

The Weinhart evidences the love of the past and time spent by the first owners to remodel/convert it back to a hotel. The continuing care, love and expertise of the long time current owners, Shellie and Gary shine through in this lovely property.

P.S: We came for a fun Murder Mystery overnighter; Shellie and Gary put on a great time for all and are cooking up more events and reasons to come discover Dayton!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly99353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Holly,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! We had such a good time visiting with you and your hubby (or should I say Flora and Gino) We are truly honored that you joined our event and so pleased that you found the hotel to your liking.
We look forward to your next visit!
Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    45
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
172
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I wouldn't be surprised if films are shot on this location. The lobby is amazing for its style, and the vacant rooms are left open for browsing. The only incongruity is the ugly fluorescent light bulbs, which cast a greenish/white hue which conflicts with the red-toned décor.

The proprietor would do much better to replace them with LED bulbs of a more authentic to the period color.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Mica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback, and since you mentioned it, I will personally look into changing the lighting to something softer and more appealing. "It's in the details" has always been our motto - so it's nice to have details we may have overlooked brought to our attention.
We hope you will visit us again when your travels bring you to Dayton.
Best Wishes,
Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touchet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I bought "Step Back In Time" from Walla Walla Hospice silent auction at the "Evening of Elegance" fund raiser. It included 2 nights at the Weinhard Hotel and dinner at the Weinhard Cafe. They are both excellent. A BIG THANK-YOU to both! The Weinhard Hotel is a beautifully restored historic show piece. Friendly owners, lovely antiques. Room 16 had it's own thermostat so adjusted to "just right", a fridge, hairdryer, direct TV, flat screen TV, lamps on each side of the bed. Hot water right away in tub/showerwith wonderful goats milk soap. Soft sheets, comfy bed. Nice "continental" Breakfast. Did the historic walking tour. Went thru Boldman House museum and historic Depot. Tasted mead and wine at Mace Meadworks =good! Beer at Skye Book and Brew =good! Wonderful Dinner at Weinhards Cafe. Walked thru the art gallery...all with in walking distance. What a wonderful week-end. Thank-You

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you, Diane, for your kind review! We are so glad you were able to experience the Weinhard Hotel while helping such a worthy organization such as Hospice. So glad you enjoyed your time with us! Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moran, WY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here over Thanksgiving. What a grand home away from home! The room was delightfully spacious and the bed extremely comfortable while the shower was immediately hot with good water flow. Scrumptious. The home made morning muffins, the delicious morning coffee and availability of wines for sale (to consume in glasses from the kitchen) rounded out the visit. Dayton's home style opening of Christmas with family events, including a parade, was great fun. Owners, Shellie and Gary, who can direct you to good restaurants (while making a float out of their van for the parade), are superb hosts. You won't regret a visit here. Bobbi M.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Bobbi, It was delightful to meet you! Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you were able to bring your son & grandsons to Dayton's Christmas Kickoff! Wishing you the Happiest of Holidays ~ Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Im not a expert in dayton lodging, but i venture to say this is the best in town. A truly wonderful hotel. Twelve foot ceilings. Grand lobby. Great hosts. It was very private in october. Our room was #6. And i must recomend. Canopy queen bed and larger than most. All the rooms are unique and if the doors are open they let you check them out. You get a small fruit basket and a contienental breakfast to boot. It will not break the bank either. Use AAA and most rooms go for $112.00 + tax. If your staying in Dayton a must do.

Room Tip: Go to their website and they provide a discription and a photo of each room. Also if stairs are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpapasangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hey, Big Papa.
Looking back through these reviews, I got a warm fuzzy feeling thinking of you. You were very nice to chat with in our coffee shop - And you told me you would write a review. Thanks for following through on that! I hope you and your lovely bride have had a good winter. I also hope we will see you again.
Warm Regards,
Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Take a step back in time and enjoy the Weinhard Hotel on your next visit to Dayton Washington. They have lovingly restored this property. The rooms are good size with original high ceiling and beautiful carved bed frames and dressers. The wood banisters and stairs are polished to a bright glowing shine. The roof garden is the perfect setting for that before dinner glass of wine. It faces the hills and the sun was shinning on the fresh cut wheat land. What a treat.
In the morning they had coffee, muffins and fruit ready for your consumption before heading out on your morning walk of the restored town.
Don't miss staying at this hotel on your next visit to Dayton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
162 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed one night at the Weinhard and enjoyed it thoroughly. Gary checked us in and offered friendly, helpful advice about restaurants, etc. There were cider, crackers, & cheese in the lobby (late afternoon). Our room was plenty large (#3) and well appointed, including a little frig. The ceilings were very high, so it felt extra roomy. We heard no hotel or outside noise during the night--although we had the AC fan on, so it could have masked noises. The morning continental breakfast was adequate--coffee and muffins were very good. We were totally satisfied. If you have time, take one of the walking tours of the nearby historic neighborhoods--really interesting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It's always great to hear that our guests were satisfied, as we want your experience in Dayton to be one to tell your friends about. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Hotel & Suites
24.6 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
24.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#4 of 15 in Walla Walla
155 reviews
22.9 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#10 of 15 in Walla Walla
35 reviews
24.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinhard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinhard Hotel

Property: The Weinhard Hotel
Address: 235 E Main St, Dayton, WA 99328-1352
Location: United States > Washington > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weinhard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinhard is a 15 room Victorian Hotel. Each room is uniquely appointed with antique furnishings. All rooms include a private bathroom, cable TV, wi-fi internet access, telephones and hair dryers. A fresh fruit basket is provided in your room each day. Complimentary muffins, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea are served in our coffee shop each morning, where espresso drinks are also for sale. Our rooftop garden is a nice spot to relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Weinhard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinhard Hotel Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing