We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin 10 Mt. St Helens.”
Review of Lone Fir Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lone Fir Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cougar
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights to hike Mount St Helens in Cabin 10. Accomadations fine but far from clean. Rustic is ok as long as it is clean. Along a dusty dry road you should be aware of dust and dirt. Not the case here. Didn't expect much and we weren't disappointed. Best location to hike Mount St. Helens and to get your permit. They have food and a little bit of everything in the camp store. Campground was very quiet also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spuddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 3a. For two people we had 1 bath towel, hand towels looked dingy. It was dusty all over. Outside looked nice if old.probably would look elsewhere for loging. Front desk was helpful. Internet was not working and wS informed it had been that way all summer.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Robfly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you are going to explore Mt St Helens this is the place to stay! It's not a five star by any means but is rustic and charming! We stayed in a cabin that was clean and very roomy! Beds were comfortable and staff was so friendly! I wish you could have stayed more than one evening. It was nice to away from the traffic and noise of the city and listen to the peaceful sounds of the grasshoppers to lull you to sleep :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very pretty area. The grounds are well kept. Our room was nice. Except the maid didn't clean the shower as it had an old bar of soap in it. The coffee pot had old coffee in it. Other then that the room was clean. The place was packed. Went for a walk around the neighborhood. Nice and quaint. I was only there maybe 9 hours. I would not stay the again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

if you are looking for 5star do not stay here - but I was charmed by this
simple and clean motel/campground. Staff were friendly and 'out-of-their-way' helpful and the pizza was great!! Look out for Big Foot! and wildlife.

Room Tip: if you are camping be aware sites not as private here as at state facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turtlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We held our family reunion here last year, and again this year because everyone loved the place. The owner obviously works hard to make your stay a good one. The cabins are clean (not immaculate, not all new furnishings, but clean) and comfortable. The shower had plenty of hot water. The kitchen provided the basics in dishes and pots & pans. We used the community room for our Saturday night potluck and cribbage tourney - it was great. The pool is not large, but it is clean and well maintained. Great for keeping the younger kids happy. The resort is located in an area of the state with more outdoor opportunities than you can possibly take advantage of in a weekend - fishing, hiking, boating, swimming, climbing, scenic drives.

Room Tip: The photos on the web site are accurate. Use them to help choose which room/cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The owners are fantastic to work with. I worked with them for a solid year while planning our family reunion. They were quick to respond which is impressive especially since we had family calling in from different states to make reservations. The cabins/rooms were clean and had plenty of space for our needs. The beds were comfy and the kitchen came equipped with plenty of supplies. Whenever we needed anything (extra pillow etc) the housekeeping was quick to provide it. We particularly enjoyed being able to use the clubhouse for larger get-togethers. It's a fantastic to place to relax and enjoy yourself. No we couldn't access the wi-fi but for me it was nice to be "unplugged" for a few days.

Room Tip: We had room 4A for a family of 5 and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cougar
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Battle Ground Inn & Suites
23.2 mi away
Lewis River Inn
Lewis River Inn
#1 of 3 in Woodland
180 reviews
20 mi away
Beak and Bloom
Beak and Bloom
#1 of 1 in Battle Ground
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Fir Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Fir Resort

Address: 16806 Lewis River Rd, Cougar, WA 98616-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cougar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cougar
Price Range: $82 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lone Fir Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lone Fir Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Fir Hotel Cougar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing