We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“difficult to rate”
Review of Lone Fir Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lone Fir Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cougar
Portland OR
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“difficult to rate”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

On the plus side, the rooms are very large, they are clean and there's zero mold in the bathrooms, the mattresses are better than average and the setting is magnificent. So why rate it a 3 out of 5? Well there's no way to give a motel like this a 5 star, so its max is a 4. It gets a 3 because the carpets needed replacing 10 years ago and it hasn't been updated since who knows how long (decades). I'd definitely stay here again, but its just not fair to give it a 4/very good. But I feel bad about giving it a 3 because we all slept beautifully. I rated the fitness center 5 star because of its proximity to outstanding outdoor activity - it would be silly to put in treadmills here lol.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms. Hey it might be only $10 more big deal right?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    52
    11
    7
    14
See reviews for
45
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went and stayed in cabin 10 it was clean with a full kitchen. bunkbeds and a queen size bed. Location was great near Mt St Helens, the price was right were it should be. Stayed there on the 4th it got pretty crazy ! I had an awesome time with two amazing people and will never forget it! Thanks for the memories

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorough-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in a queen bed room. The room was fair sized, had a microwave, coffee pot and fridge along with a small tv with a half dozen stations. For the $72 a night price it was exactly what we were looking for since we were here to climb Saint Helens not relax at a resort. This is not a place you hang around all day. I think there are new owners and most of the bad comments go back to the previous ownership. The grounds were very well kept for this type of place and our room was fairly clean altough a thourough dusting would go a long ways. There are no phones or phone service in the area but they do have free wifi. The restaurant is not open Mon - Wed. so the bar down the street is the only food option outside the small grocery. Lots of climbers/hikers heading up Helens stay here so expect commotion in the early morning. Lone Fir was perfect for what we were looking for, the service was friendly and we had a positive experience. Just remember your in the sticks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Recently I purchased my first Travel Trailer. Our first "Shake Down" trip was to the Lone Fir Resort. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make this experience a wonderful introduction to the RVing lifestyle. The facility was in a great location, and nicely maintained. I would HIGHLY recommend staying there and am already looking forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorndag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for two nights for my second climb up MSH. Had considered staying here in 2009 but was scared off by the atrocious reviews at that time. Thought I would give this place a try after reading more recent reviews since the change in ownership. I was happily surprised/relieved to find nothing to complain about here. We were looking for inexpensive accommodation as close to the trail head as possible. For $70 a night, we had a fairly small room but two decent beds and a decent bathroom. No complaints about cleanliness. Ate a couple meals at the cafe and they were pretty good too. If I ever lose my sanity and decide to climb MSH yet again, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestcoastMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Lone Fir Resort for Mt St Helens climb. Room was for 5 people. We took our Labrador dog. The owners were very welcoming and accomodating. The rooms were clean and had everything you needed for self catering. The lodge cafe served a great breakfast with the biggest pancakes my daughter had ever seen. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Was great to find a pet friendly resort in such a bueatiful location. Looking forward to staying here next year for another climb

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4A
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamSammamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked this reservation with very modest expectations; I just needed a place to stay for two nights surrounding our climb of St. Helens. When we checked in, I found the rooms to be much nicer than expected, and the staff was local, genuine, and very nice. We had a great breakfast at the restaurant, and the Mancake pancakes are highly recommended if you are hungry. If you're insanely hungry, try a Sasquatch pancake.

I will be planning another trip to Cougar, to explore the area, and you can be sure I'll stay at the Lone Fir.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidB-Squad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cougar
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Battle Ground Inn & Suites
23.3 mi away
Best Western Woodland Inn
23.2 mi away
Lewis River Inn
Lewis River Inn
#1 of 3 in Woodland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Fir Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Fir Resort

Property: Lone Fir Resort
Address: 16806 Lewis River Rd, Cougar, WA 98616-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cougar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cougar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lone Fir Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lone Fir Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Fir Hotel Cougar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing