We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copalis Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copalis Beach
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

If you are looking for a place to experience the North Coast of Washington and be comfortable-THIS IS IT!!! My family and I spent 4 days at Iron Springs (Cabin 17) over Spring Break and it was fantastic! Like many families we used to make this an annual trip but stopped going when the previous owners let the place get very run down. Well, it's not like that any more! The new owners, who spent many many years at Iron Springs as guests knew how special the place was and it shows in the Resort remodel. The cabins still have the fantastic views (with bigger windows maybe?), but the interiors have been completely redone in a comfortable beach cabin style. The kitchens are well stocked with all the essentials. The beds are to die for comfortable! The wood bin is also well stocked with firewood to use in the real wood fireplace. There is a flat screen TV and DVD player which we didn't use much but it's there if you or your kids want it. The resort has free wireless but cell service is spotty- great if you want to unplug for a few days! There is also a charcoal grill and a couple deck chairs to sit in and enjoy the expansive view. Fortunately the weather gods were with us and we grilled and enjoyed cocktails on the deck. There is a store in the office that has everything you might need (or forgot) and then some! You must try the Cinnamon rolls that you let rise and bake yourself- they are more like cinnamon brioches (DELICIOUS). I forgot a mixer but they have a few of those, blenders or food processors to rent for a small fee. The office staff was wonderful and helpful. There are some games and DVDs you can check out. We played "The game of Things", which was fun for adults and mature teenagers. Finally, the beach-that's what we come for isn't it? There is a quick trail on the south side of Boone Creek that takes you to the south beach. You can walk forever on the beach and enjoy relative solitude and magnificent beauty. The North beach is a little trickier to get to and you need boots and low tide to do it. Cars can only be on the North side of the beach but we never saw one the entire four days we were there. The beach is perfect for walking/running, playing in the sand, beachcombing, kite flying, picnicking and enjoying beach fires. I love the beach and I especially love Iron Springs!! We are already planning out next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knittingfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent two nights at Iron Springs Resort and really enjoyed the updated cabin, view, and walks on the beach. Lots of room to spread out, plenty of wood for the fireplace and a fully set-up kitchen (just used for breakfast). We found the drive into Ocean Shores for dinner acceptable, so no issues for us. Rooms were clean. Each room had independent electric heat control, so on cold mornings someone needs to hop out of bed and turn on the heat, then jump back in for final snooze/snuggle. We left the heat on in the bathroom overnight and closed the door to not be shocked when hitting the floor.

P.S. When they say dog-friendly, they mean it! There are bowls for food and water and a blanket. It you have strong allergies to pet dander, then this would definitely pose a problem. I "felt" it in the living room on the sofa, but not in the bedroom.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Use the web site to see each room and its view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Iron Springs Resort sits high on a bluff overlooking Copalis Beach and the Pacific Ocean on Washington State's western coastline. Copalis Beach is known as the place to watch winter storms on the ocean - and as one of only five places in the state where you can dig razor clams during the brief seasonal harvest. (A Washington State license is required and can be obtained at locations near the resort - just ask the front desk). The beach - a great one for long walks - is so hard and flat that small airplanes use it for a landing strip in the summer.

The resort has been in operation since the late 1940's and created a large fan club of regulars despite the aging and decline of the owner and the cabins in recent decades. Two years ago the True family, who were among those long-time guests, purchased the resort and then closed it for an extensive year-long renovation and modernization.

The 20-acre resort reopened in July 2011 with 24 cabins (each with a different floor plan) spread across more than 20 acres of coastal woodland - most of which offer sweeping panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean.

Among the resort's new amenities are: a new clam cleaning station, paved driveways, flat screen television, and WI-FI in all but one secluded cabin (number 28). We found the views of the ocean to be so capitvating that we seldom even turned on the television and briefly checked emails twice during our stay.

Our cabin was spotlessly clean and spacious. The two swivel overstuffed chairs near the floor to ceiling windows are where we spent most of our time when inside. The fireplace was easily started with both matches, newspaper and kindling left inside and bundles of wood in the wood bin just to the side of the deck. (Had it been better weather we likely would have never moved from the deck which had two chairs and a charcoal barbeque.)

The kitchen had full sized appliances, toaster,coffee pot (filters provided and a one day supply of coffee), cookware, serving dishes, and flatware. Towels, cleaning supplies, and paper towels were also provided. Because the resort is on a septic tank system, there was no garbage disposal down the sink (easily remedied by tossing it into the garbage can).

The owners have preserved much of the resort's history by repurposing many of the materials from the original cabins: old wood siding was used to create new tables and fallen spruce new benches and tables.

It was hard to get out of bed each morning as the 'pillow top' beds were most comfortable. The bathroom was large, with a tub/shower, towels and bath mat provided, as was a small shampoo, conditioner and soap.

Access to the beach is simple via either the paved driveway or the well-marked trail that leads to the office and common area. From there either wear flip-flops in warm weather or rubber boots in winter and wade across shallow Boone Creek or walk a few feet up the road, over the Creek and follow the resort's well-maintained forested pathway to the beach. There are also other walking paths on the property which we didn't have time to explore.

The resort is dog friendly. Maximum three dogs per cabin and there's a $20 per dog per night charge for the first five days of the stay, additional days are complimentary. Dog bowls and fleece towels for the four-legged ones are provided in each cabin.


There are restaurants not far from the resort (one at the new Seabrook development, and some in Pacific Beach). There's a larger selection at Ocean Shores about 20 miles south of the resort but our favorite was the Green Lantern Pub at Copalis Beach. They served excellent pub grub with a special each night; we happened upon Friday night Prime Rib which came with a huge serving of meat, baked potato and salad for $14.95. Wine lovers will find the selection limited, but a good supply of microbrews and beers on tap. (It is a bar so no one under 21 is allowed inside).

Grocery stores are located nearby as well, but for a quick item the small grocery that shares space in the resort office was the place to go. From beverages to baking supplies, that little place likely carries it.

The resort brochure says this is 'Where Traditions Begin' and that is certainly true for us. We can hardly wait to return and bring friends with us to this special beachfront getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Travelnwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had stayed at Iron Springs in the past, sometimes just as a couple and sometimes with friends and family. Alas, after watching the resort go downhill over the course of many years, we finally stopped going. We can deal with a certain amount of rustic funky ambiance, but the cabins were getting downright ramshackle! So it was with great delight that I learned of the renovation and reopening of the resort. We spent a relaxing three days with friends, renting Cabin #8, which has 2 bathrooms. The new furnishings are charming and comfortable and yet keep the rustic charm of the old cabins. The kitchens have been very nicely updated and are well furnished with everything you need for cooking. What with it being January, we really appreciated the down comforters on the beds too! The new owners deserve to be well congratulated on all they've done to bring this great resort back to life. My only complaint is that the summer rates will be out of reach for us. We like going there in the winter for the solitude and storm watching anyway so that won't deter us from returning. This stretch of beach is among the prettiest on the Washington coast. I'm also really pleased that the owners are keeping the resort dog friendly!

Room Tip: We like Cabin #8 - good view of the beach and an easy walk to access the beach itself. Also I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stay in cabin fourteen that over looks the ocean like you were in a tree house. The views out every window was amazing. The service was great they were quick and discreet. We have already booked our next stay!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaVonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have never been to this part of Washington before so was very excited to visit. Iron Springs resort is wonderful. The reviews about the cabins after the remodel are true. These cabins are beautiful and immaculate. Meticulously clean when traveling is very important to me and this is the best cabin I've ever rented. The location itself is beautiful. The view from the cabin was beautiful and the beach was a pleasure to visit. My dog loved it even though he was forced to be on leash. I was taken aback about one thing though. DRIVING ON THE BEACH! I've never heard of such a thing and was frankly appalled. I did not come to look at traffic out my window. I counted 20 vehicles in less than 5 minutes drive up and down the beach. Thankfully most of the traffic seemed to show up close to evening but that made night time beach walks unattractive. I also think this somewhat contradicts their "dog friendly" advertising. Dogs and cars don't mix. I did not feel like I wanted to walk along the beach with crazy hillbillies driving around without concern for anyone but themselves. I was bummed out the entire time about the lack of concern for the local eco-system and local wildlife. I think it's shameful that locals do this to their beaches. It's hardly pristine beach when you get cars involved. Anyway, there is nothing Iron Springs can do about this except let renters know which they didn't. I wanted to give others a heads up. I know some people like me want to go to beaches to get away from things like traffic. Instead of looking at moon light on the beach for my 3 night stay I was forced to stare at car head lights. Not cool. If I'm ever in the area again Iron Springs is no doubt the place to stay but I'll vacation where there is no driving on beaches in the future. I hope our state gets it together and bans this nonsense. It's backward.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The other reviews here are very accurate. This is a top notch beach house fully appointed and the views are wonderful. You do get what you pay for, and I think we will come back, but it is just a touch overpriced. I would expect to pay $300 night at peak, but for an off-season rate it was a bit much. There were a lot of vacancies and I would expect if they lowered their prices 25-30% those cabins would all be full.

Room Tip: Try for cabin 10B - superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hellolenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copalis Beach
8.1 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
9.9 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
10.9 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
17.5 mi away
Westport Marina Cottages Motel
10.4 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Springs Resort

Property: Iron Springs Resort
Address: 3707 Highway 109, 3 miles north of Copalis Beach, Copalis Beach, WA 98535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Copalis Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copalis Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Springs is perched along a pristine stretch of the Washington Coast. The cabins of this year-round, Copalis Beach getaway have been long coveted for their close proximity to the ocean, unmatched views of the Pacific, and family-friendly atmosphere. The cabins contain fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi, phones, IPod player and flat screen T.V.s with cable. Each cabin has a living room with either a wood burning stove or fireplace, all wood is provided free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iron Springs Hotel Copalis Beach
Iron Springs Copalis Beach
Iron Springs Resort Washington/Copalis Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing