We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hike”

Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Concrete
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 4.2-mile hiking trail features a scenic meadow full of butterflies and an old lookout-tower site.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
194 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Amazing Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wow this hike is beautiful. Wonderful views of the Skagit river, Sauk Lake and Mt. Baker. This is a very busy hike but you can see why. Plenty of opportunity at the end of the switchbacks to allow others to pass. On the drive up and back too, you'll need to use cutouts to allow traffic to pass on the other side. Not much shade at the parking lot if you're leaving your pup in the car. There is a bathroom facility at the beginning of the hike. The elevation gain can be strenuous but plenty of shaded resting spots on the way up.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Renae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent short hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hike is justifiably popular, especially with families, given its short distance (about 4 miles RT) and spectacular views. You're on an open hillside with unobstructed views to the south the whole way up, and on a clear day you can see Mts. Baker and Shuksan to the north from the top. The trail is well graded and maintained. The 8-mile gravel road leading up to the top has some serious potholes at the beginning and (especially) near the top, along with a lot of washboard and some gullies at the (many) hair-pin turns, but it's manageable in a conventional car (just take it slow and be prepared for hot brakes on the way down). Parking for about 15 cars at the top, plus a pit toilet. You won't be alone up here, but the experience is worth sharing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudbury9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and cheeky Marmots!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went in the evening and met some lovely people on the summit. There were patches of snow near the summit but it was still perfectly safe to walk. The Marmots tried to eat our water bottle! We got an amazing photo of them though. Stunning surroundings and colourful wildflowers all the way up.
The road up to the car park is long, bumpy and winding, expect it to take 45 minutes if you're in a small car (as we were).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Oates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We hiked this trail on June 15, 2013, snow prevented us from driving to the parking area and trailhead so we parked below and hiked the snow field to the trailhead. The wildflowers were just starting to bloom in the areas where the snow had melted. This is a fairly good elevation gain, about 1,200 feet over the 3 1/2 or 4 miles. The trail is not steep because of the abundant switchbacks, the sides of the trail however, drop-off drastically. Not a difficult hike, however if you are bringing small children or anyone who might not pay close attention it might be somewhat of a concern. The service road up toward the trailhead is in good condition.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ClintonWhidbeyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice trail with great views! Oh and there are cute marmots.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I like that this trail is relatively easy to find out towards Concrete. It is a trail that I have hiked ever since I was little and it is just as nice to do now as it was back then. There is a little lake (?) on the other side of Sauk Mountain that you can hike down to. Sometimes you can see marmots and of course they are really cute! There is a sign in sheet at the trailhead (at least there used to be). It is a fairly easy hike. I rarely hike and although it is a bit challenging physically, especially on hot days, I would say that most people (even children) would be able to tag along.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mistyisaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauk Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Sauk Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing