We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fradulent $25 charge for leaving a mess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Wheatland Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fradulent $25 charge for leaving a mess”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stay at Best Westerns all the time. I recently stayed at this location and was astounded to find they charged me an extra $25 for leaving a mess. The manager left a rude viocemail on my cell phone, telling me that the maid complained about a mess?!?!

I called the manager who refused to reverse the charge, was condesceding and and unwilling to discuss the matter. I've stayed at hundreds of hotels and have never delt with such nonesense.

Beware of such fradulent charges at this location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DenTraveler80111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    80
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
104
54
37
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, OR
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We needed to travel to Eastern Washington to visit an ill family member. When I called for reservations I was told that there were no rooms available. When I asked what was going in in Colfax the front desk agent said "I don't know". So I decided to look online to check availability. Rooms were available online so I went ahead and booked the room as there are no other options in this town. I requested a handicap accessible room. Upon our arrival at the hotel I was told that there were now two bedded handicap rooms and they asked if I wanted a king room with a rollaway bed. I told them that would be wonderful. I also let them know that when I called to book I was told the hotel was booked and he said that he didn't know why that was told to me as they were definately not full. The room was pretty cramped with a rollaway bed but it worked ok. This hotel offers a breakfast. The one downside with the breakfast was all the yogurt in the refrigerator had either expired on December 20, 2010 or January 11, 2011. The staff was pretty friendly (except for the rude one when I tried to make reservations).

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed in hotel for two weeks during business trip. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to a friend or colleague.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

After riding our Harley's all day from Boise, ID, this was a great place to stop. We had to haggle down the price, but got a great, homey room and bisquits and gravy for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontesanoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I have only positive things to say about the Best Western, Wheatland Inn in Colfax, Washington. Not only was the facility itself well designed and clean, with the best iced tea ever, but the staff and service was also superb. Crystal was the young lady who helped us when we checked in. She was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. We needed to change one reservation and then add another to a different Best Western in Spokane, and she said, "Oh, I can help you with that." She then proceeded to take care of everything! All we had to do was show up and check in! She did an amazing job! In addition to the wonderful service provided, the rooms themselves were very clean and stocked with little extras to make the stay easier. The food was also delicious! I will definitely stay in the Wheatland Inn again! Outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The Wheatland Inn is one of the cleanest and nicest Hotels we have ever visited regardless of price. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Their breakfast offers a lot of choices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I stayed at the Wheatland Inn in Colfax, Washington while on a Palouse photo tour. I rate lodging on how courteous the staff is, cleanliness, quiet, and comfort level of bed. 5 stars for all. There were also many nice touches such as freshly made chocolate chip cookies and iced tea in the evenings, free wifi in my room and nice fluffy towels. The free breakfast served was my kind of breakfast: juice, granola, yogurt, simple but tasty. But, the staff was the best: friendly, courteous and willing to help with any reasonable request. And, my bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept on next to my own back home. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clikrf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfax
13.5 mi away
Hilltop Inn
Hilltop Inn
#3 of 6 in Pullman
78 reviews
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
14.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pullman
Residence Inn Pullman
#1 of 6 in Pullman
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moscow
15.0 mi away
Quality Inn Paradise Creek
14.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pullman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wheatland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wheatland Inn

Property: Best Western Wheatland Inn
Address: 701 N Main St, Colfax, WA 99111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Colfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Wheatland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Wheatland Inn! Experience the charm of Colfax, the abundant amenities and the great location near Palouse and Pullman when staying at this immaculate Washington hotel.You'll feel right at home at this pet-friendly Colfax hotel. Each spacious, clean room offers cable or satellite television, a desk, high-speed Internet access, a microwave, a refrigerator, a coffeemaker and more. Group and team rates are also available. Get the day started the right way - our property offers a complimentary full breakfast each morning, featuring sausages, potatoes, scrambled eggs and more. Once you've fueled up for the day, you'll be ready to explore all the area has to offer. Those traveling for work will have easy access to Washington State University, the McGregor Company, Whitman County Courthouse, Snake River Dams, Whitman County Hospital and many more local businesses. With the Palouse Ridge Golf Club in nearby Pullman and the Colfax Golf Club just a few blocks from the hotel, you can also conduct meetings on the greens.Situated near Pullman and Palouse, this Colfax hotel allows you to easily get to many of the area's attractions, including WSU events, Palouse Empire Fairgrounds, Palouse Scenic Byway, Palouse Falls, Steptoe Butte, Colfax Trail, Schmuck Park and Boyer Park and Marina. Known for its scenic photography areas, you're sure to catch breathtaking views and sights.Unwind in the indoor heated pool and relaxing hot tub or get a quick workout in at the onsite exercise facility. But, the convenience and added value won't stop there - this Washington hotel also offers many more amenities and services, including barbeque grills, a 24-hour front desk, a 24-hour business center, guest laundry, mail services, free parking and free Wi-Fi. With meeting space that accommodates up to 50 attendees, we also make the perfect venue for your business meetings and reunions. For a memorable stay at a Colfax hotel with welcoming staff and abundant amenities, reserve a stay at BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Best Western, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Wheatland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wheatland Hotel Colfax
Best Western Colfax
Colfax Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing