We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel around”
Review of Chalet Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cle Elum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I was comming to Chalet Motel on my way to Yellowstone.
The motel manager welcomes you very friendly, giving a lot of hints where you'll find what you need on your journey. The room was cozy and clean.
I enjoyed staying at the Chalet Motel and will come back if heading the same route again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

For my business I travel a great deal. 10k miles on the road every month - needless to say, I've been just about everywhere and have seen just about everything so far as lodging goes.

For the most part, when passing through small towns I prefer to stay at the smaller locally owned motels / hotels rather than patronize the chains, so when passing through Cle Elum en route to Seattle I chose the Chalet Motel. I found the owner to be friendly and accommodating and the rooms to be clean and comfortable. It was pretty much everything I needed at the moment and nothing more.

I read the poor review below prior to writing my own and honestly I just have to say that if you're expecting a Fairmont in an old mining town for 80$ a night in peak season, or a hotel that has brand new designer furnishings and a dry cleaning/massage service then the Chalet is not it. But It is a solid, reasonably priced, locally owned business with clean rooms and a friendly staff at the base of the Cascades. It is great if you are here for a scenic vacation or just passing through like I was, but it is probably not for the stuffy and stuck up. So, if you're one of those people and can put your money where your mouth is, spend an extra 300$ and stay at the resort up the road rather than writing inaccurate reviews about a local business that obviously takes pride in what it does.

I would recommend this establishment to my friends and family and will be staying here in the future if I happen to pass through again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFrancisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We were travelling through Cle Elum on the way to Yellowstone. The manager of the Chalet Hotel, Michael was so very nice to us. He went out of his way to help us and try to get us everything we needed or wanted.

We did not expect the high prices around labour day and the rodeo in Ellensburg. Everything was full or extremely expensive. We were getting desperate, but Michael got on the phone for us, on the internet and in the end he gave us a great deal at this motel. He was our angel!

The room was very nice too. Clean, spacious and with an extensive tv-channel list. There is an ensuite bathroom with a shower and toilet. In the room there is a refrigirator, a microwave and a coffee maker.

If you are looking for a nice room to take a load off... this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mieke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We were driving back from the Gorge and needed a comfortable place to stay for the night. The Chalet Motel was perfect! The very friendly manager showed us to our room and we got a great nights sleep. I left a pair of earrings in the room by mistake and the manager called me the next day and offered to mail them to me. I give the Chalet Motel 5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_S_11681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Very clean and comfortable with all the amenities one would need. Management was very informative and friendly. Would recommend to most anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingseniors_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stopped at this motel late at night, really just looking for anywhere that had a bed. We were pleasantly surprised to find that this motel had a good combination of cleanliness, good service and affordability. We enjoyed the availability of free wifi, but most of all the hospitality of the manager Mike. On our road trip across America this summer we have stayed at quite a number of hotels/motels and this was definitely one of the better ones!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enaillid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The rooms were never cleaned while we stayed there, the owner was not very helpful with our business needs, he was also not there a lot of the time and we had to deal with some lady who had no idea what she was doing at the front desk

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleelumchalet, Manager at Chalet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Retaliation against us for enforcing policy is bad form. We have reported this matter to the appropriate authorities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cle Elum hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Snowcap Lodge
0.3 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
74 reviews
4.7 mi away
Suncadia Resort
Suncadia Resort
#1 of 7 in Cle Elum
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Motel

Address: 800 E 1st St, Cle Elum, WA 98922-1253
Location: United States > Washington > Cle Elum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and comfortable rooms at affordable rates on the main road through town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing