We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We tried so hard to like it”
Review of Suncadia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suncadia Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We tried to like it. We really, really wanted to be that family who goes to Suncadia all the time. We wanted our child to have fond memories of vacations spent there. But every time something went wrong, our resolve lessened until (on this last trip), we finally admitted that something just wasn't working at Suncadia.

There is a huge disconnect in communication between the staff at the front desk, the managers, and the maintenance crew. Rooms seem run down, and we had a lot of problems with housekeeping and several appliances in disrepair.

The staff generally seems uninterested and I felt like nobody really felt a sense of ownership. For example, at the bar, I ordered several meals for my family and told the server we would be in the Den (game room) at the table. We had seen other families have dinner delivered there on previous nights while the kids played games. The waitress just looked at me and said, "Well, can you come get it yourself? That's kind of far for me to walk." Wow, okay. No big deal, I guess. But see, everything was like that on this trip. What worked one day, didn't the next. It's like you were at the mercy of whoever happened to be working. A couple of times we called the front desk to ask about pool hours or tubing hill hours of operation, and the attendants "didn't know offhand", and told us to check in our hotel room book. My wife and I kept saying, "It's okay, no big deal." Until finally (after housekeeping failed to clean our room, yet again) we realized things just weren't okay.

We aren't going back again. There are too many other places: coastal towns, beach front hotels, island resorts just in the state of Washington alone, that offer better service, more attentive staff, and more cost affective vacations. For an easy family getaway, we'll be choosing one of those in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank Brandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Brandor,

Thank you for your posting. It is invaluable to hear your feedback and I am extremely disappointed that we were unable to provide the wonderful and memorable weekend you were hoping for. I will be sharing your comments with our staff in an effort to ensure we are more prepared to provide our guests with the experience they deserve and expect.

I hope you reconsider staying at Suncadia again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at sspann@suncadia.com with any additional comments.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,669 - 1,675 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

I don't see the lure. We have stayed at Suncadia Lodge twice now, both times for five days each. Both times we stayed on the ground floor, with a fenced patio. Both times the room facilities and service was mediocre, at best. We just got home today and I feel compelled to write this review, perhaps to serve as useful to whoever is considering bringing the family here.

Our room had ripped (dog chewed) furniture. When we notified the front desk, the attendant just laughed and said all the patio rooms had that problem, and they would be reupholstered someday. The dishwasher was broken, and a maintenance person didn't come to fix it until the last day. The bathroom door was off its hinge, so it never shut properly. Both phones were broken (no ringers worked), but just one was replaced on the second day of our stay.

The water pipes were improperly connected (hot water was cold, and cold was hot). There was no hot water at all in the kitchen faucet. Maid service was perhaps the most disappointing of all. The first two days, no one cleaned the room. When someone finally came (after we had to notify the front desk yet again), they forgot to stock toilet paper and tissue, hence another call to the front desk. On day 4, we decided to leave, but then (and only then) an actual manager spoke with us, apologized, and offered us a 20% discount if we would continue to stay. His name was Wayne, and he said he would make everything right for us.

We stayed, but our room issues weren't resolved. We actually never saw or heard from him again. On our last day, we gathered our things and called for a porter to bring a cart so we could take our luggage to the car. We waited 45 minutes and nobody came, so we finally had our kids help drag our stuff to the elevators. The porter met us in the hall (finally). Outside, my husband went to go get our car, only to return to find our luggage at the main entrance (no porter in sight). It was almost funny, except that we had over $2,000 worth of computer equipment in our bags, left unattended.

That's our experience with the staff and lodging. For a 4 diamond hotel, I just don't get it!
The pool is easy to get to, but nothing to write home about. The tubing hill was cute for the kids, although run by two very bored attendants. The signs clearly warned against hooking inner tubes to each other, and proper seating, but none of this was being enforced by what my husband called "the stoners" who we're running it.

Inside the lodge, you could find many parents at any given moment hanging out pounding glasses of wine in the lobby while appeasing their crying toddlers with Goldfish crackers and Pirate Booty. I mean I understand the atmosphere, i do. I have kids of my own. But for the cost, I just don't see the lure, I guess. We won't make the mistake of returning any time soon.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, avoid ground level rooms with fenced patios at ALL costs! Poorly kept, and spotty c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KateHighlands2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear KatieHighlands2014,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I was extremely disappointed to hear that you left Suncadia disappointed and unhappy. Please know that is not typical of our service expectations and rest assured that we have taken corrective action to ensure it doesn’t happen again. Your feedback on service and cleanliness has been invaluable and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I hope that you will consider giving Suncadia a chance to regain your trust and welcome you back again soon.

Our Lodge Property Manager, Kristin Jeffries, also reached out to you personally to talk about your stay. We do hope to hear back from you and to be able to welcome you back to Suncadia to show you what a wonderful resort and staff we truly do have here.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Came to get away for an early Valentine's Day celebration without the kids. It was great...really wanted to not leave on Monday. The snow was falling and it was so beautiful. We knew that if we didn't leave we might not be able to get out (yes, there was quite a bit of snow). It made for the perfect romantic getaway. Will be back to enjoy some golf during the spring/summer with the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Mary T,

We are so pleased to hear you were able to enjoy a romantic snow filled getaway to Suncadia! Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back many more times in the near future.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place is great for kids (there are always lots of kids there when we go)... However, this is the place that we go without our kids. This is one of the only places that we have not taken our kids and so we are able to go there and enjoy our "time away together" without having memories of being there with them. So, if you have kids and you want to take them, there are a variety of family-friendly activities and it is great! If you have kids, but you want to get away for a few, or if you don't have kids there are a lot of adult-friendly activities that you can enjoy!
We particularly enjoy the restaurant (Portals) and the bar (Fifty 6 Degrees). The restaurant provides excellent service with great food. We always enjoy a few drinks at the bar (Sam, one of the bartenders who is always there, is great and provides wonderful service).
We've gone to the spa also. I like the spa, but it's not the place that I visit every time we go up there. It is more of a some-times activity that I partake in when my husband is out playing golf in the rain. Which leads me to the golf... Great golf courses! Love playing here!
We've visited Suncadia year-round and there are activities for every season. On our most recent visit, we strapped on our snowshoes and took off across the golf course. It's almost like a playground for adults.
I would recommend to friends/family and we will be returning.

Room Tip: We like to stay in the penthouse suites. River-side. They have high ceilings, kitchens, fireplaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PacificNorthwestGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our winter getaway to Suncadia was absolutely perfect! The staff was extremely friendly and the Concierge Steve goes out of his way to make you feel right at home! The rooms are impeccably clean and have everything you could possibly need! The grounds are beautiful and the views are absolutely breathtaking with the newly fallen snow! The ice skating is a must! Despite our coming during a slow time of the week the staff was friendly and accommodating! Also, for an extra treat take a sleigh ride.. It was a wonderful way to be close to nature!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Paradise-832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Suncadia Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and wonderful comments! We are so excited that you feel at home while staying with us! It sounds like you had an amazing time enjoying all that Suncadia has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The facilities are well constructed, the location is terrific, and the staff is very nice. We saw lots of events going on for children, and the hotel seems to welcome dogs.

Two downside areas: House keeping missed items and was very slow in correcting what they missed. It took four phone calls and over an hour to get someone to respond, and when they did, it took multiple trips to get it right. The bed room mattress is great, but beware the mattress on the fold out couch. It is thin, old, and the springs poke making it hard to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on a high floor. Also the Pioneer coffee shop in Cle Elum is a terrific place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanuman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Suncadia Guest,

It sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring all that Suncadia has to offer! Thank you for your kind words about the team here as well, as they are the ones that truly make Suncadia a wonderful place. I also appreciate your comments on the guest room and housekeeping department. These are items we will look into to correct and improve upon.

We look forward to having you back at Suncadia in the near future!

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Even without fresh snow it was a great way to spend the weekend with the kids. S'mores, snow tubing and waterslides filled our days. We had an amazing room with a full kitchen that allowed us to skip restaurant food for 3 meals a day and save money to do more of the fun activities. Ice Skating was a big hit with the kids!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Wendy,


We thank you for your great comments, it sounds like you and your family had a wonderful weekend enjoying all of our outdoor activities! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to discover all that Suncadia has to offer!
Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cle Elum
3.2 mi away
Best Western Snowcap Lodge
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
3.7 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
517 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
74 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncadia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncadia Resort

Address: 3600 Suncadia Trail, Cle Elum, WA 98922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cle Elum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Price Range: $243 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncadia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncadia offers a wide assortment of catering menus for large & small events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Suncadia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncadia Hotel Cle Elum
Suncadia Resort Cle Elum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing