We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Resort in Pacific Northwest”
Review of Suncadia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suncadia Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our family stayed here for a wonderful week at the end of August. The resort is set on 6,000 acres of forest/mountain landscape. The resort rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious. We had a one bedroom with a full kitchen and large patio for our family of four. The resort is pet friendly so our dog also enjoyed the facilities. There are so many incredibly fun activities to do here! Our family rented bikes and enjoyed biking on the many miles of paved trails. We even tried out a few of the unpaved mountain bike trails which were well marked and scenic. The pool facilities were a huge hit with our kids. The indoor and outdoor pools are sparkling clean and kept at the perfect temperature. The main pool has two 4 story water slides that offered many hours of fun for our kids. There are also large hot tubs, outdoor food and drink service and plenty of chaise lounges to relax on. The steam and dry saunas are next to the indoor pool, which was convenient to use and then jump into the cold pool to cool off. The main swim building also houses the workout facility which has the latest equipment and classes. The hiking trails are numerous, well marked and offer gorgeous scenery. The food at Portals, the main restaurant at the lodge, was outstanding and offered many options that would satisfy any dietary concern. I recommend the Lobster Mac and Cheese--it was absolutely delicious. The resort is best known for their golf activities. There are 3 professional courses, a huge driving range and warm up area, as well as a super fun, family style 3 par course. They even have a fun, family tournament on the small course every Saturday in the summer. I could go on and on about this resort....we have had THE BEST TIME of our lives here as a family. We can't wait to go again in the winter!

Room Tip: We received a 20% discount and an upgrade by using our American Express credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear dawnybb,

Wow! What a fantastic review of your Suncadia experience and we are so glad you took the time to share your stay on TripAdvisor. We certainly agree that Suncadia is the Best Family Resort in the Pacific Northwest! I have shared your comments with our entire team so they can enjoy reading about your time with us as much as I did.

We look forward to welcoming you this winter to enjoy our rope-tow tubing hill, ice skating, cross country ski trails and many other great activities!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,820 - 1,826 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a full detailed report for anyone considering Suncadia Resort.

1. This is a 3 star resort operating as a 4 star (or in some cases a 5 start resort)
2. The one bedroom rooms are spacious (including full kitchen, dining room, living room pull out couch, washer, dryer, fireplace, nice size bedroom, very large bathroom with shower and tub, and a beautiful balcony.
3. The view is fine with any 1 bedroom - no need to upgrade
4. Stay at the Lodge and not at the Inn because all the amenities at the lodge
5. This is a summer resort with outdoor activities so I would come in the summer
6. We had lunch at Lodges restaurant (family of 4 is about $ 85.00 without tip). Despite past reviews that were not detailed the Lodge has a special menu just for children. They also accommodate gluten allergies. Past reviewers complained about the price --I presume you are paying for the views.
7. We had lunch at the Cellar restaurant (family of 4 about $ 85.00 without tip). The lunches there were wonderful and had plenty of options for everyone. They also accommodate gluten allergies. Past reviewers complained about the price - I presume you are paying for the view.
8. Campcadia is open from 6-9 pm every evening but only available in the daytime from Thursday through Sunday
9. If you want a respite vacation come from Monday through Friday. Friday through Sunday is generally at 100% capacity in the summer. Kids pool opens at 10 am and has an indoor pool with water slides as well as an outdoor pool
10. They have a great coffee shop that opens up at 6:30 with yummy desserts
11. Most of the activities for children and family are on the weekend including basketball games, golf tournaments, kite flying)
12. They have wonderful bike paths make sure you bring your own bicycles as there bicycles are too expensive for a family. It is $ 45.00 per day -so a family of 4 would pay nearly $ 200 a day to bicycle which is the cost of a bicycle itself.
13. Past reviewers complained that it was a far walk. There are shuttles available at all times and they were wonderful. During our five day trip we must of rode the shuttle half a dozen times and the kids loved it. One of our favorite places to visit for children is Dawson Park

OK--Now things that Management needs to Improve On:
14. In the main grand room there are games for families to play while indoors. There are three or four games and hundreds of guests. Management needs to go out and spend $ 500.00 in a variety of games to match the level of service the resort portrays.

15. The concierge made it quite clear that this is an outdoor resort so when it rains - families are sort of out of luck. She directed us to the game room. The concierge needs to create a separate flyer for things to do in the rain which could include a visit to the telephone museum, or a trip to the movies at Ellensberg. To meet the level of the resorts service this should be a given and not at the expectation of the guest to figure things out.

16. At the front desk they have free water with cups. While that is a nice gesture that is not at the level I would expect of this resort. Recommendations is that you offer nice warm baked cookies in the evening with some juice. I guarantee it will go over far better

17. As a three star resort operating as a 4 or 5 start I appreciate the level of services you offer. Once of the suggestions is to create a lunch special during the week for families that want to enjoy the Lodge restaurant. The goal of any lodge is to increase food/beverage consumption but if you create it cost prohibitive you don't support the mission of the lodge. I am sure most families visit your restaurant only once so create an incentive for them to visit twice.

18. As a recreational resort please don't make the cost prohibitive. I don't presume you want to see dozens of bicycles sitting around at $ 45.00 per day per person. The goal is to create an experience for your guests so that they want to tell everyone else about their experience including bicycling.

19. Recreational bags are important. While at Dawson Park we wanted to play basketball but didn't have a basketball, we wanted to play baseball but no baseball bat. You can spend a few hundreds dollars and make them available for guests. I promise you it will go far for their experience.

20. I was surprised that none of the pools had life jackets. I was there with my two year old and five year old and a Lifeguard is not enough. Don't wait for a potential drowning. Take measures and spend a few hundred dollars to protect your guests children and have life jackets available.

21. Welcome children gift pages. A few pennies will create a tremendous experience for your little guests. These are small ways to step up your five star services.

I do see value in bringing your family to Suncadia but for the level they portray they need to step up their amenities so it matches the level that their guests expect as well. We will be back next year and hope they pay attention to these reviews.

Room Tip: Any one bedroom in the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kedmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family of four stayed in a one bedroom lodge room and enjoyed the spaciousness, large bathroom, modern well-stocked kitchen and river-view. We made many meals in the room and found the trip to Safeway in Cle Elum an easy drive.
Pros- Awesome staff. Friendly, eager to hold open doors or find the answer to a question even if they didn't know the answer.
Amenities. Three warm pools, hot tubs, water slides, bikes and miles of paved trails for walking or riding. The trails were well marked and would pass by fields with playgrounds, basketball courts and you were almost guaranteed to see a deer with every outing.
Cons- Staffing levels. As mentioned in previous posts, you will wait a long time trying to access services. At the restaurant, we did not see our waiter often and waited long for food,drinks and the bill. Three mornings in a row we waited while the overwhelmed bike-shack guy had to find and fix bikes, get waivers signed, drag canoes to the pond and work the till. He was alone until a second person came after the rush died down in the afternoon.
All in all a very good property that could become a great one with a few more staff placed where they're needed. It also seemed like a family-geared resort,which I could see as an annoyance to a couple that wanted a quiet vacation, but I assume that changes come back-to-school time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear dsj22,

Thank you for spending your family getaway at Suncadia. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the great activities and experiences we have to offer! Thank you for your comments on the stafffing as well. I appreciate getting all comments from our guests so we can work to improve upon our products and service. I plan to review your comments with our management team in an effort to address your valid points.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Suncadia in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were married at Swiftwater Cellars and had our honeymoon stay at the inn at suncadia. The room was beautiful and the service was wonderful. Tyler helped us with all our wedding gifts! We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindseykaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I chose Suncadia Lodge to spend our 16th anniversary. We splurged and went with the deluxe penthouse suite with river view.

The good: The room (and entire property) has spectacular views, nice king-size beds / bedding, flat screen TV in the living room and bedrooms, etc. We found the staff to be very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. We had drinks in the lounge, which was busy (Friday night), but the service was prompt.

Prospector Golf Course was excellent, even priced @ $110 I really enjoyed playing it. My wife enjoyed bicycling on the paved bike paths, and there's a spa and a family rec center we didn't avail ourselves to try. We hiked two of the short trails that leave from the lodge, they're "ok", clearly marked, but really don't go anywhere. You hike down about a mile, then back up the hill. A little boring.

The bad: Sofa in the living room was dirty and worn with sagging cushions. The dining room chairs were scratched and marred. This is not the kind of furniture I expect to see when paying premium room prices.

There are rental condos and houses also available, but usually require to be rented for a full week, not just Friday/Saturday as we did.

Food in the restaurant tasted good, but is very expensive. Maybe one night for dinner at the lodge restaurant would suffice. FYI...I've reviewed a nearby local restaurant I'd recommend over the lodge.

Agree with another reviewer...go check out the little nearby town of Roslyn for lunch or ??, and Cle Elum and the Parlour Car Bistro for dinner.

In a few more years, this place might have more amenities to offer, ala' Sun River, OR. Some more family-friendly restaurants on the Suncadia property would be hugely successful.

Room Tip: River view rooms have spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear RLFord,

Thank you for your detailed comments! We were excited to hear you chose to spend your Anniversary with us at Suncadia. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back for many more anniversaries in the future. We agree the river views from our Studio Penthouse suites in the Lodge are amazing. Thank you for your comments on the furniture as well and I will be taking this back to the appropriate managers so that we can address as this is not the impression that the resort strives to leave and does not reflect our values nor standards in delivering great customer experiences.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again at Suncadia!

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'd describe Suncadia as excruciatingly beautiful. The view is so exquisite. Quintessential PNW. Makes you want to buy a house there! The 1 BR suite was the perfect size for myself and 2 teenage daughters. My girls especially loved the spacious bathrooms with the glass shower and giant jacuzzi tub. I love the kitchen. Great for making breakfast and snacks. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the small pool on the "windward" side of the hotel away from the crowds. The big pool with the indoor water slides is fun too, just more noisy. Love all the hiking, biking trails. What a great getaway.... so close yet so far from Seattle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Susie C,

We LOVED reading about your Suncadia experience. We agree that there truly is something for everyone from great waterslides, miles of biking trails, hikes to the river and great food and only 80 miles from Seattle. We look forward to seeing you and your daughter again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Let's start with what works. The location is amazing. The Lodge has an amazing view over mountains, the Cle Elum River is gorgeous, great hiking trails abound, and the adjacent town of Roslyn is worth checking out (for lunch or something - not much there but cute in a vacant mining town sort of way). The rooms in the Lodge are fine, but what makes the room is the view over the mountains. The view and sunset is amazing. The pools are great family places. I didn't golf, but the courses look nice (and very expensive). My wife enjoyed the spa with only minor complaints. What doesn't work is what is so frustrating. The service in the restaurants is spotty at best - prepare to sit while being generally ignored by busy staff while sitting in the restaurant. The food is really, really expensive for what you get and is not well executed and there are no good food options for kids at a reasonable price. On our last night we finally just ordered a pizza to our room (it was good) and were able to swim until dinner and then enjoy pizza on our schedule with our patio view of the amazing sunset. I guess that's it - you have to get away from the service and restaurant problems to really enjoy the amazing views and lovely aspects of this place. Can you deal with the crummy service, bad and expensive food in exchange for a wonderful spot with amazing views and fun hiking with great pool complex? This place could be amazing, but it just isn't.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Lodge facility as it will have a patio with an amazing view out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JTravelBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cle Elum
3.2 mi away
Best Western Snowcap Lodge
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
3.7 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
526 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
76 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncadia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncadia Resort

Address: 3600 Suncadia Trail, Cle Elum, WA 98922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cle Elum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Price Range: $219 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncadia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncadia offers a wide assortment of catering menus for large & small events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncadia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncadia Hotel Cle Elum
Suncadia Resort Cle Elum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing