We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary setting, spacious rooms, excellent service”
Review of Suncadia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suncadia Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed at Suncadia for a work retreat and can't wait to return for pleasure. It was my first trip to the Pacific Northwest, and I thought the lodge and its setting were just beautiful. The views were breathtaking. The staff was friendly and accomodating. My Lodge 1 BR unit was too spacious for just one person, and I wish I could have spent more time in it. I spent about two hours biking around the property and wish I had been able to participate in more activities. When my husband saw my photos, he immediately agreed that we should plan a trip back. I'm usually more of a sightseeing type of traveler, but Suncadia has so many amenities and activities in one place that you can stay active without the hassle of moving from city to city and hotel to hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecc1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,841 - 1,847 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday night. Our experience was exceptional! The grounds are beautiful with the placement of the main lodge perfectly sited to take advantage of the river valley views and Casecade mountains. We arrived without reservations and were given a very reasonably priced room that was well appointed - with Kerig coffee machine, hairdryer, small kitchen with refrig and microwave. The room was comfortable and very quiet. The restaurant also has spectacular views, friendly staff and good food. We mountain biked from the Lodge to Rosyln and the staff helped us find the correct trails. All in all I couldn't have asked for a better time. We will bring the kids with us next time as it is a very family friendly place, yet still was a perfect romatic getaway. I am excited to give it a try in the winter.

Room Tip: Request a river view studio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Melissa S,

What wonderful feedback on your stay! Our team will be thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Suncadia Resort. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Suncadia for our winter season!

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Suncadia as a resource is fantastic. It's so close to Seattle, has two very challenging (three if you count the private Tumble creek course) golf courses, a really fine winemaker that's decided to invest a bundle on a beautiful spot to create his wines. WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT! After all, it's wasn't your millions of speculative $$'s at risk.
Here are a few tips:
Use your Groupon coupon, but beware, they'll stick you in a "Mountain" view room, which actually will look out over a hot tar roof. Don't take it, go back to the desk and get the regular "Mountain view of the parking lot. The "River view is what you want, but good luck with that.
Go wine tasting. Swift water has terrific wines and a really unique and special venue.
Hike, golf, bring bikes, this place is great. A lot of folks spent a lot of money to put in a great facility close to home. We are super lucky to have this, thanks to all those folks that stepped up and invested. Use every coupon groupon or connection to visit and enjoy this wonderful place, and then if you think you're savvy enough to be a landlord, and pay that $1,000.00 plus per month HOA fee, go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for River view. "Mountain" means parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brixy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I live an hour away from Suncadia but had never even thought to go before - I always thought it was primarily a golf destination but I don't golf. I do, however, have a young child and had always taken him to Lake Chelan or the Oregon Coast for a mini summer getaway in years past. No longer - we are new Suncadia loyalists!! There was SO much to do and we had a blast.
Suncadia has a nice pool right outside the lodge, but also a Swim/Fitness center just a short shuttle (or bike ride, or walk) away, which is where we spent most of our time. The outdoor pool is MAJOR. It's huge. The water is warm. There are plenty of chairs/recliners/tables/umbrellas surrounding the pool to make for a relaxing stay. There's a snackbar/grill there that serves adult drinks and some pretty darn good food (burgers, sandwiches, hot dogs, etc). PLUS an indoor pool with two good-sized waterslides. We stayed an entire day at this area and never had to leave for anything - plus I loved that everything could be charged to the room, no need to carry cash or cards. That included when my son misplaced his goggles and we bought a spare pair.
Outside of the pools, there are bike/scooter rentals and tons of tree-lined trails that were beautiful for biking. They have free S'mores at the firepit on Friday/Saturday nights. The free shuttle took you wherever you needed to go at the resort with very little wait. There's 'Campcadia,' a kids' daycamp where your little ones can spend a few hours or more (for a fee) while you relax or take in some spa time (yes, a full spa at the resort, too - pricey though). Also check out Dawson Park for a great playground, basketball and tennis courts.
Perhaps the most surprising thing though was how incredibly accommodating and nice the staff was. I have never been so blown away by the friendliness of staff than I was at Suncadia - everywhere we went, there were people smiling at us, offering to help, making our stay really pleasant in every way - from the shuttle drivers to the bell hops to the reception staff. It was really SO much fun, we will be back many times - this will be OUR new family getaway.
The one thing I wish I'd have done is asked for a room with a better view. Outside of that, the room was really great - a full modern kitchen, washer/dryer, nice and comfortable living and sleeping areas.
Thanks, Suncadia, for making a solo mom and son's mini-trip a great one!

Room Tip: Request a room with a good view of the mountains. The one thing I wish we'd done. Our room didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Gina C,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Suncadia! I think you said it perfectely and we definitely have something for everyone at Suncadia Resort. We never get tired of hearing about when our staff is doing a great job as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very windy, one of our rooms sounded like we were in a constant wind tunnel. Poor cell reception; TV reception interrupted by wind. Lots of "come on" promos which don't exist. The Family Pasta Dinner Special was widely advertised. It doesn't exist. Staff admitted They hadnt been offering it; didn't know when or if it would be offered. Extremely disorganized. We ordered the barbeque at the ampitheatre. First, there were no.buns; then they had to wait for cheese; then veggies (lettuce, tomato, etc). It took an hour after ordering for the veggies to arrive. $85.00 later--it sure wasn't worth it.

The spa was nice; expensive but what you would expect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentuckiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with the readers of Trip Advisor. We want to apologize for the incidents that affected your visit. We take full responsibility for not delivering on our promise to provide quality product and service to our guests.

The Family Pasta Special is something we put together in response to guest comments to feature more family dining options. Our mistake occurred when we had not secured the proper equipment to execute the special. We are disappointed that we were not able to do this for the July 4th holiday, however, we do plan to feature this summer.

We also recognize that waiting an hour at the barbecue due to missing ingredients is not acceptable. We have discussed this with our staff and they recognize the cost of not delivering to our guests.

We want to thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to show our commitment to guest service.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pros outweigh cons for sure.
PROS: Very welcoming & friendly staff from the moment you drive up. Check in was quick and friendly. Room was very nice, but once opening the curtain we saw that our view was literally the top of a roof. But the room itself was very nice, complete with kitchenette. Grounds are beautiful, nice pool area and there is also an indoor pool complete with big slides. Since we we're staying Thursday - Sunday, we decided to ask if there was another room. I really didn't want to look at a roof when I look out the window. CON: The best the front desk could do for us was give us an upgraded room, but we had to pay an extra $150. We upgraded to a room w/ a nice view of the river, pool and panoramic surrounding views. I didn't like having to pay the extra money. When you come to a place like this you assume you'll be given a room that at least has a partial view. The first room literally had NO view...just a big ugly roof. Our new room is very nice, had a bedroom, living room, full kitchen with Kitchen Aid appliances, dining area, bathroom with a shower and deep soaking bath tub. But again, we had to fork out an extra $150. Though the staff is all very friendly, housekeeping fell a little short. We were given new towels and the bed was made, but that's about it. Decorative pillows were not replaced to the sofa and bed, empty snack bags were still sitting on the coffee table from the night before. Maybe that is not status quo for this place, but we are accustomed to resorts like this making your room pristine each day, just like when you walked in the first day. I thought it was unusual that housekeeping did not do this. Also, amenities like soap and such, it would be nice if soap was provided for the shower as well as the sink.
Over all, this is a very nice place. But it's the little details like housekeeping that leave a lasting impression.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Jo F,

Thank you so much for your detailed reflection on your recent experience at Suncadia. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed many details of your stay with us. Our room at the Lodge range from deluxe hotel style units up to a three bedroom penthouse. They vary in layouts as well as locations and our reservations team is always happy to help in the reservation process to ensure you are in a room that fits your needs and desired location for future visits. I have also personally shared your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping and we truly hope we are able to welcome you back to Suncadia so we can win you over as a truly satisfied customer in all the details of your stay. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to seeing you again at Suncadia.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have been to Suncadia several times. It's a great location from Western WA over the pass in 2 hours to sunshine! The lodge is beautiful! We have stayed in the penthouse suites and when we take our family dog, we stay on the lower floor 1 bedroom suites.
They have a great bar and restaurant. Their shuttle will take you to the winery and other locations on the property. Their overall facility is wonderful.

Room Tip: Penthouse 1-2 bedroom suites are wonderful but not pet friendly any more. We stay on the river side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNBOATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, General Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear RNboater,

We are so excited to hear that you had one of many excellent stays with us! Being only 80 miles from Seattle makes it very convenient especially when you feel like you a world away upon arrival. We look forward to seeing you at Suncadia very soon for a beautiful room and wonderful meal in Portals Restaurant.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cle Elum
3.2 mi away
Best Western Snowcap Lodge
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
3.7 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
526 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
75 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncadia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncadia Resort

Address: 3600 Suncadia Trail, Cle Elum, WA 98922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cle Elum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Price Range: $221 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncadia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncadia offers a wide assortment of catering menus for large & small events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Suncadia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncadia Hotel Cle Elum
Suncadia Resort Cle Elum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing