We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second conference, even better than the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suncadia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suncadia Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Second conference, even better than the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was my groups' second conference at the resort. The staff really did a good job with the room set up. Lots of 2 person tables with good walking room between the chairs and tables. Good morning breakfast and evening receptions. Dinner for the banquet was well done with a buffet of salmon, chicken and beef. Little glitches with the IT portion of the conference but it was worked out.
The room 2045 is stellar. Good views of the mountains and very, very quiet. It is a one bedroom suite and is next to the stairs so the sleeping area is silent. Nice balcony and chilled glasses in the freezer make you feel pampered to get back to the room and relax. I am looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: This was purchased through VRBO at a substantial savings. Stellar host.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xterrared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    496
    281
    143
    72
See reviews for
846
464
25
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Suncadia resort a number of times now. A few for Business conventions, a time or two for a get a way, and a few times with family. We have rented homes and also stayed in the lodge. The lodge is great, rooms are great, views spectacular. Mostly positive and we would certainly go back. The main pool area is great for kids and has two indoor waterslides that kept my girls entertained for a long time. The main outside pool is a little more sedate and is lacking a little kid area in the pool. They have great lifeguards and a outdoor bbq and bar service. It is a great resort. there are a few things that could go better especially when they are fully booked in the summer months and know that they have capacity. They need more chairs outside for people to sit on. They need to hire a few extra helpers at the pool to bring food out or collect baskets/ garbage and keep it looking nice. In a perfect world, having servers at the pool side would be wonderful but I understand why that doesnt make sense for the location of the resort. At the resort, I thought that the food was good at the Portals restaurant. I liked one or two of my dishes but honestly didnt love anything and it is fairly pricey. I did like the dinner at the winery but I dont believe that they are affiliated with the resort. All in all, the servers at Portals were really good and we felt well cared for. I think the resort could also improve the convenience of the resort with maybe a few necessary items in their "store" or cafe because driving in to town for some elementary needs is a pain - or maybe it was that those items were in there, but the cafe seems to close pretty early.
Also, this last stay I had an issue with the front desk as i had asked to be put on the wait list for a two bedroom suite, and had reserved a specific one bedroom suite with a river view, but then they tried to put us way over at the condos - but still in a one bedroom. When I said that wouldn't work because we'd be too far from the pool for my young kids, the young lady but us in a room with a view of nothing but a large wall over the convention area and right near the airconditioner unit or some loud machinery. I talked to the bell person and he mentioned that they werent even close to capacity! I was not happy. We called the front desk and this person seemed confused as there were apparently quite a few of the river view rooms available. I'd made our reservation months in advance. Since we had been there a number of times and were multiple repeat customers, I was not pleased that the front desk person lied to us (I was with my 7 year old daughter) and almost mentioned it to the manager. She had lied and told me they were all full and out of the river view rooms. I did not think it was a nice way to treat repeat customers.

Room Tip: with Kids going to the pool, I think on the north side of the resort are best. We've been on bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmkeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this resort for a regional meeting recently and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The rooms are very well appointed and large! Our room had a full kitchen with stainless steel stove, microwave, dishwasher and standard size refrigerator/freezer. The kitchen also had granite counters and a sit up bar with bar stools. The front room had a couch and two chairs and a 37" flat screen tv with a fireplace below it. The separate bedroom was very good size with a comfortable bed and a writing desk by the sliding glass door. The front room opened up onto a cozy deck with an unbelievable view. The bathroom had a separate glass enclosed shower and sit down tub. The room even had a washer and dryer.

The resort staff is very friendly and helpful and the food that was provided was top notch. Our evening dinner was 2" thick filet with clam chowder and both were superb. We had a small group of around 25, and the conference facilities worked out very well. We used their AV equipment and it all worked perfectly. The conference room had a drop down sreen and a ceiling mount projector. Their staff hooked up our computer to the system in a matter of 15 minutes.

We also golfed while on site and the golf courses are some of the best maintained that I have ever played. One negative - the greens are so hard that you could paint lines on them and put in a parking lot!

The health club facility is top notch. They have a full Cybex type line of equipment with two pools - one outdoor and one indoor lap pool. You can even rent mopeds and mountain bikes for any age at the health club.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the room with the features that I described above. The rooms are pricey, but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NATHAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The good stuff- staff is very friendly and the location is good. The bad stuff- the rooms are not cleaned, the beds are made shabbily,if at all. Towels, used glasses, dustbins are not cleared out. And never go there for a conference, the food is horrible, plus lunch is re-hashed and served for dinner. The twin room layout sucks- we were on a conference, and the wardrobe door would creek terribly, plus it's right next to one of the bed. So you end up disturbing your room mate, or get disturbed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diya9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Looking at the trends in reviews here, I see that this place has really gone downhill in in the past year. Maybe that's why they are auctioning off real-estate at fire sale prices. I stayed here with my family on a Living Social voucher, and even with the "deal" it was still egregiously expensive.

The grounds and setting are indeed spectacular. The service is far from it. From the customer service over the phone to the follow up on issues, everything is slow and haphazard. Had to wait 20 minutes for a drink the restaurant when there were just a few tables there. Same experience for breakfast the next morning. The pool area is nice, but again poorly serviced. There were probably 30 people sitting on towels in the grass because there weren't enough chaise lounges or even basic chairs to sit in. And almost no shade...handful of umbrellas for the entire pool area. For the money, many more desirable alternatives with service that lives up to the price you pay. Cave B and Alderbrook are two that quickly come to mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentFlyerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have spent extended weekend at Suncadia. The resort is beautiful and perfectly fitted for family activities. We had a large group of people for family reunion in variety of acomodation. Pretty much everybody was complaining about the service or lack of - and we are not very picky family, either. At arrival the only place that served meals took forever to serve us with kids falling asleep after an hour wait. The information provided about activities was incorrect and we scheduled game when park was closed next day.Our main dinner, which was scheduled months in advance in a private room/cellar and was supposed to be a highlight of the trip - we found out that the resort restaurant booked another party for the same time and place so they kicked us out to a different location. all of that at the 5star resort prices. Disappointing.
Our own accommodations in two bedroom condo were nice and at least we did not expect any service. Location is gorgeous and we loved the hikes and visiting local small town around. Nice golf course, too.

Room Tip: We liked the condo choice with full kitchen and washer/dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMB808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great resort for families, super close to seattle, lots to do in the vicinity. Bring your own bike, clubs or other recreational equipment were possible, because it can be expensive to rent. Rooms are nice, but the matresses are not the most comfortable. The kids (and my husband) loved the waterslide at the pool.

Room Tip: Get the river view side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJE351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncadiaManager, Front Office Manager at Suncadia Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear TJE351,

Thank your for sharing your experience at Suncadia on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your great comments on your stay here and being able to experience many of the great offerings we have at the resort. The waterslides are always a favorite! Thank you also on your mattress comments and I have shared your feedback with the team.

Look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Suncadia.

Warm Regards,

Kristin Jeffries
Front Office Manager
kjeffries@suncadia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cle Elum
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snowcap Lodge
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
3.8 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncadia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncadia Resort

Property: Suncadia Resort
Address: 3600 Suncadia Trail, Cle Elum, WA 98922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cle Elum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncadia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncadia offers a wide assortment of catering menus for large & small events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncadia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncadia Hotel Cle Elum
Suncadia Resort Cle Elum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing