We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suncadia is great place to bring the kids”
Review of Suncadia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suncadia Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Suncadia is great place to bring the kids”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We love the setting with the views of the river, and especially the Studio Penthouse rooms with high ceilings and all the amenities of home. With a full kitchen and washer dryer we can really relax with our 18 month old twins knowing we can wash there clothes or cook them a meal at the drop of a hat. There are so many things to do no matter what season you come and the staff is very helpful. My only issues was the pool at the Swim Facility was not warm enough for my young kids who love water as they were cold within 15 minutes. I also was not overly impressed with the food at the resort. The options are some what limited and what meals we did have were overpriced for the quality of the food. I would hope they could open a more family friendly bar and grill with a better selection of foods and a lower price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naport44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    513
    292
    145
    76
See reviews for
875
479
27
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The resort was tastefully decorated for the holidays. The room was really nice with a beautiful view.
The good: very nice and friendly staff at the Portals restaurant, the Ice Skating rink, the tubing hill. Food at Portals was great. Front desk staff very friendly
Could Use Improvement: staff at the swimming pool not so pleasant-checked in people standing behind us ahead of us. Housekeeping-we asked for a room tidy and didn't get one-but they did compensate with a free espresso drink. Cafe still had not rec'd lunch food by 2pm on the day we left. Maybe most people bring their own food? With all the fun outdoor activities the idea of a big "sit-down" lunch isn't too appealing to my family. All in all a great stay and we can't wait to go back--perhaps with some groceries on tow.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Having stayed at Suncadia Resort many times, obviously we enjoy the place. The setting is superb...winter or summer always something to do for the whole family...grandparents and grandkids alike. So why the "but"?...wear and tear. An upscale resort should be on top of the obvious wear to the facility. Our room has chair bottoms falling apart, cushions well beyond sagging, dirty microwave, 3 wine glasses, etc. All are fairly minor, but put together shows a lack of management concerns with delayed maintainence. Should this discourage a visit?..absolutely not. But the more of us that love Suncadia that point out its defects the better and hopefully management will observe. Food is very good but expensive...staff consistently good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rynodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the Lodge over part of Christmas weekend and enjoyed our stay. The staff were very welcoming and the service excellent. We enjoyed taking our breakfast in the lobby, with its comfy chairs and fine view of the Cle Elum river and the Cascades. The rooms are fine, with comfortable beds and well equipped bathrooms.

We did have some minor issues with the room. We had two double beds in the room, which left little room to move around in, so it felt a bit overstuffed. The lighting was disappointing as there was only one lamp between the beds, with no individual reading lights. This felt paltry for a high-end hotel room. And the heating/cooling system wasn't at all intuitive, so we had to fool around with it quite a while to heat the room without having a noisy fan on. We were also surprised that there wasn't more attention paid to shoveling snow and ice off the various outside walkways and stairs around the lodge.

We braved the cold to use the outside hot-tub, which was well maintained and has a great view. But there was no furniture nearby on which to place our clothes, so we had to tie them to the spa railing so they wouldn't blow away in the wind....

The highlight of our stay was our meal at Portals restaurant. The food was fabulous, service excellent, and they didn't rush us.

The Lodge is a fine option for a weekend away in the Central Cascades. It is pricey; there are simply no similar lodgings anywhere close, so they have a lot of pricing power. We'll likely return because of the location, service and the excellent Portals restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I have booked a room in the Lodge several times this past year, and twice at the Prospector Inn in 2005/06 before the big lodge was finished. It's so close we often go to Suncadia for day trips to golf or just to have lunch and a hike down to the river. Recently, we found a room through a private owner that is much better priced than booking directly through the resort. They also don't require a 2 night stay. We love everything about this resort- extremely friendly staff, beautiful accomodations/views & especially lately, the food has been consistently very good. The Swiftwater winery is awesome and has live music on most weekends.This summer they will host concerts at their new outdoor amphitheater! The winery owners have plans for another pool and a Pitch & Put practice course is under construction. The only downsides have been slow service in the Portals Restaurant and "inexperienced" servers, though always very friendly. They have a few "bugs" to work out but they have come a long way. If you notice, the positive reviews far outway the negative within the past year. The wind has only been bad 1 visit out of a dozen or so, the other times only a breeze, regardless at least it's not Seattle rain!

Room Tip: Request one with a view of the river ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We enjoyed it immensely except for one hiccup at registration. We arrived early and were told that the cleaning of our condo would be expedited, but it took 3 1/2 hours to accomplish! Not knowing it would take this long, we didn't plan for an activity to occupy the waiting time. Once we got into the condo we were able to set up for our Christmas! We put up a small tree and settled in to enjoy our time together. Dinner at Portals was lovely; our waitress was charming. The food was good, but I wish there would have been more low-fat/low-calorie choices. Good wine, though! The lodge was cozily decorated for the holidays and we truly enjoyed the ambiance. Our dogs were welcomed (Suncadia does need to provide kiosks for dog owners to supply them with bags for cleaning up waste and disposing of it). Breakfast on Christmas morning in Portals was delicious and festive. The food was well-prepared and served well. Good coffee (always important to this Seattle gal!). All employees were genuinely friendly. It was a great place to spend Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed here this past Summer and had a wonderful time. I still think about the time that we spent there. The view from the lodge was incredible. There's lots to do. Don't miss nearby town of Cle Elum.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cle Elum
3.2 mi away
Best Western Snowcap Lodge
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
3.8 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
70 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
475 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncadia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncadia Resort

Property: Suncadia Resort
Address: 3600 Suncadia Trail, Cle Elum, WA 98922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cle Elum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncadia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncadia offers a wide assortment of catering menus for large & small events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Suncadia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncadia Hotel Cle Elum
Suncadia Resort Cle Elum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing