We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Snowcap Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2008

My husband and I took a short vacation from the kids and grandkids.. We went to Cle Elun and Levenworth. Our stay in Cle Elum was wonderful. The hotel is located near town. You are just a few steps from the new Safeway, Quizno's, Ice cream shop, Burger King and much more. The hotel is rather new. Very clean rooms with large living room areas. The enterance welcomes you with a very nice fireplace and large clean indoor pool. The breakfast was not much... But everything else was wonderful. We will return. It was sweet!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank very-proud-grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Snowcap Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

We spent one night at the Snowcap on the way to Seattle and were very pleased with the room, public areas, and continental breakfast. Although the hotel is adjacent to I90 we didn't hear any highway noise. Desk staff was very helpful and the mexican restaurant just up the street provided a convenient and good spot for dinner. This is the nicest Best Western we've stayed at.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank ternstail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

The hotel is to the west of downtown. However, it is next to a Safeway and some restaurants are within walking distance. I found the location quite convenient.

The rooms were large and new. Very clean and quiet.

There is a separate kitchenette area with a small refrigerator and microwave.

The furniture is comfortable.

Local calls are free.

I didn't get to try the continental breakfast.

But I did try the in -room coffee, WOW. It was the best I ever had. Anywhere -- and I am a java freak.

Pioneer Coffee Company - Cafe Vivante blend. Take a trip to heaven.

PS The Cottage Cafe is a local place. Down home and for real. Just go east on the main drag.

Iron Horse State Park is an old train depot and is worth the trip for history and train buffs. It is also a nice bike and walking trail.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

very nice place, had a wonderful time, and would stay again! very clean and new, and very romantic. love that you can do laundry downstairs, and swim at the same time! good breakfast, and wonderful staff. by far the best hotel we've ever stayed at!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kingoftheroadBOOYAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

I spent a night at the Snowcap Best Western in Cle Elum as I was passing through the area on business. I was there for about nine hours, but during that time I got a pretty good feel for the place.

What I Liked
1. Attractive New Hotel. The Snowcap had nice wood shingles on the outside which you don't see at most, or any, Best Westerns and it was a good looking hotel all around. It was comfortable inside and everything was clean and well maintained.
2. Indoor pool. I didn't use it, but the indoor pool and hot tub was busy and looked great. Good for cold nights in Cle Elum and great for the family.
3. Convenient location. Close to the freeway but not pressed up against it.
4. Helpful staff. Both the check-in and check-out staff were quite hospitable. The check=out took about 15 seconds which is always much appreciated.
5. Environmental focus. The showers had a shampoo dispenser in it. Now ordinarily I wouldn't count this as a pro since the unit looked really cheap and took away from the whole experience (though they did provide bottles near the sink). However, Best Western came up with a novel sign on the device which said that by using the dispenser, more than 1,000 hotel amenities (the bottles) would be saved from landfill. It was enough to totally change my opinion on it. I've never seen another hotel have the sign (though I have stayed in $1,000/night rooms with dispensers), but I think it's a great idea.
6. Comfortable bed. I sleep in a lot of hotel beds, and I have to say, this one was really pretty comfortable. Good pillows, good sheets, the right amount of mattress support.
7. Continental Breakfast. Basic but helpful to have.

What Could've Been Improved
1. Paper thin walls. The only real complaint I have was that the walls were a bit thin - I was on the bottom floor at the end and and I could hear people in the hallway walking by and footsteps in the morning in the room above me. You get what you pay for, but it was a bit noisy.
2. Check-in took a while. I arrived at 10 pm and maybe it was just the particular person assigned to me, but it took a good five minutes to process my check-in, and I already had a reservation. She was really nice, though.
3. Strip Center Location. I didn't have a problem with being next to a Safeway, fast food restaurant and a hardware store, but some might if they were looking for more ambience. It's not exactly a resorty location, but it's not a bad hotel within a beautiful outdoor setting, and it's close to downtown Cle Elum as well, and the same people who complained about the Safeway probably found it really convienient when they used it.
4. Gray on Gray decor. Yes it was brand new which was great, but everything in the room was gray - the walls, the carpet, the bed, the tile in the bathroom, etc. It didn't match the rustic exterior at all - definitely a bad choice in interior designer, and there could've been a picture or two on the walls - they were pretty sparse. Also, I prefer my sinks inside the bathroom instead of the main room, but others don't.
5. Thin towels. Fluffy they're not, but it's all a matter of expectation.
6. Couldn't get wi-fi to work. Didn't try that long however.

All in all, I would have no qualms staying here again. It's a good safe choice and for the price ($89-125 depending on the room) it suited me just fine. It's really great that Cle Elum and Roslyn are seeing more new hotels and restaurants come in - the whole area is definitely coming alive. I had stayed previously at the Cascade Mountain Lodge which was OK but this is a cut above and probably the best motel in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HarryfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

This Best Western is either new or very recently remodeled. It is in excellent shape and the rooms are large, comfortable, and outfitted very nicely for this chain. Really can't complain about the layout and service was fine. The only quible would be the location. It backs up on the freeway and sits adjacent to a mall. For such a lovely area it seems like a silly choice. But you can stay here in comfort and then drive to tons of beautiful lakes, nature or ski areas in minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank runningpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This hotel must be brand new or very newly remodeled. Granite and marble galore. Modern furnishings, paint, and fabrics. We stayed in the King Suite and it was worth it. Note: the king suite does not have a separate bedroom -- the living and bedroom areas are separated by a counter. Also, the hide-a-bed didn't have a mattress pad under the sheets. Other than that, it was worth every penny. We were going to stay in Ellensburg, but it was worth the drive West to stay at the Snowcap. And quaint little Roslyn is only 2 miles away at the most.
The free continental breakfast goes until at least 10 a.m. and consists of the usual bread goods, beverages, cereals, and fruit.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SaraaahhhhJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cle Elum
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
0.6 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
502 reviews
24.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ellensburg Hotel
1.7 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Snowcap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Snowcap Lodge

Address: 809 W Davis St, Cle Elum, WA 98922-1086 (Formerly Best Western Plus Snowcap Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cle Elum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cle Elum
Price Range: $137 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Snowcap Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Cle Elum, Washington hotel offering warm and comfortable accommodations near the Cascade Mountains.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Snowcap Lodge where the service is friendly, the amenities are top-notch and the accommodations are comfortable and affordable. The hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Cle Elum. Guests staying at this Cle Elum Best Western hotel will enjoy pristine guest rooms featuring granite rain showers, double pillow top mattresses, goose down comforters and pillows, cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. A complimentary deluxe full breakfast is served every morning. To help make life on the road in Washington more comfortable, the hotel comes equipped with an indoor swimming pool for relaxing. Guests traveling to Cle Elum on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available including a business center.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Snowcap Lodge is close to where travelers want to be while visiting the Washington area. An outdoor lover's paradise, guests of the hotel can enjoy a round of golf at the newly constructed Arnold Palmer golf course just five minutes away, spending the afternoon bicycle riding or taking a leisurely hike through the Cascade Mountains. For those travelers looking for more excitement, some of the best swift water rafting and fly fishing are just minutes away from this Cle Elum hotel. Within an hour drive, guests can be touring the abundant Washington wine country. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Snowcap Lodge frequently hosts guests staying in Cle Elum to attend area Antique Car Shows or the Courage Classic Bicycle Run.The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Snowcap Lodge is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay at Cle Elum, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Snowcap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cle Elum
Cle Elum Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing