We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimacum Cafe

Chimacum Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Chimacum
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle area
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love this place. Breakfast with plate-sized pancakes, eggs and sausage. Wednesday night beer-battered fish and chips. Best pies for miles around. We live about 12 miles away, but we see folks who have come all the way from Seattle and beyond. Friendly staff, big servings, reasonable prices. What 's not to love about this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    40
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
458 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Gr8 food, service & value in small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are always cars in the lot whenever I've passed by during my stay in the COHO RV Park, so today I stopped.

It's a simple, casual diner with seating on a stool at the counter where you can watch the cooks or tables in two dining areas. One of the lunch specials was a prime rib sandwich & soup for 6.99, so I ordered it. The Boston chowder was tasty with lots of clams and the sandwich piled high with meat, tomato, cheese & lettuce. It was delicious and left me no room to taste their famous pies.

Most of the diners were locals and knew the waitress. I looked at the menu which had fried local oysters, fish or seafood platters and many luscious looking salads and sandwiches at fair prices for the home cooking and large portions. Worth at least one stop if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
330 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Whoa! Country cookin' at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Yummy and huge. Be sure to split the entree or you'll have to be rolled out to your car. Plus, have some fun with the staff and vote in the model-building face-off. It's all good and super popular so don't go during prime time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“just a stop along the way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

this is just a little hole in the wall kind of place. There was a lot of food when it arrived. If you like local type places to eat then this would be it. The food was good and there was a lot of it. The service was great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
Level Contributor
555 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Keep on Driving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times over the years so looked forward to stopping by again on our way through. What a disappointment. The condition of the restaurant has gone downhill. It used to be a cute 1950's type of diner. We sat at table with torn upholstery on the seats and the mens restroom was pretty rugged. The food was average at best but what really stood out was poor, bordering on rude service. After we were seated and received our beverages, our waitress was busy visiting with a customer while drinking a cup of coffee. She eventually came over to take our order but when our order was called out by the cook, she wasn't there to bring it so another waitress brought it over. She didn't appear pleased that she had to bring it over and plopped if on our table without a word. When we went to pay at the front counter our waitress took my payment, and rather than interacting with me, was busy talking to another waitress about the recent death of a TV actor. If you look at my other reviews you will see I very rarely give a poor rating, but this one is well deserved. We will not be eating here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimacum Cafe also viewed

 
Port Hadlock, WA
 

Been to Chimacum Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing