We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheney
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here on an epic road trip this summer. It was nice to get a little distance away from the interstate for a while, and though we cooked microwaveable food in our room, it was near restaurants and a Safeway store. We thought the breakfast was just fine. My best friend always likes for us to get a room at HIE because she loves the cinnamon rolls! I didn't see anything different here than we usually experience at this chain. Our room was very clean, quite comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    45
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
59
21
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's a Holiday Inn Express which means it is not a full service hotel. Once you look at it in that light, this is a very good hotel. The rooms are clean, the hotel is fairly new and up to date and the people at the front desk are great. The location is about a mile from the Eastern Washington University campus and is across the street from the Safeway and Starbucks. The hotel fills up quickly for major college events and you should call them directly for their rates and availability; don't depend upon the corporate Web site or other travel sites.
The only drawback is the breakfast. It's free, but you get what you pay for which is very little variety and food that is just okay. Again, this is a budget hotel, so you shouldn't expect much more than this for a free breakfast.
We stay there whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccinwa425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have stayed at this property several times and found it to be very comfortable. This is a college town and there are lots of events taking place that impact the hotel. That said, the rooms were always clean and the breakfasts ample. More than that, the staff was kind and helpful during extremely stressful times. Thank you.

Room Tip: We like the third floor to avoid any sounds overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8obidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stay in HIEs almost always when on the road, selected this one because it was easy off/easy on I-90 as we headed east. It's a "newer" property, but getting a little dated. Pluses: local paper available, Tazo teas in the breakfast area, and a newer feeling mattress, firmer than most HIEs. Minuses: very limited selection of cable TV (no Food Network, no HGTV), no fruit at breakfast, English muffins so stale we couldn't cut them. And an odd little notice in the bathroom, an "In Room Inventory," listing items the management apparently thinks you might steal and the prices they say they will charge you for same: $5 for a threadbare facecloth? Really? Well, it is a college town...oh, and we spilled some water on the bathroom floor and in mopping it up discovered the floor was filthy! We know it's summer and you're busy, but the bathroom floor should be dirt free, don't you think?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bksgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlickfold, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear bksgrrrl,

Thank you for commenting about your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the lack in attention to detail.

Great news; we are actually in the middle of our television provider upgrade from regular 45 channels to 163 HD channels!!

Bananas are to always be out and available to guests during breakfast; this will definitely be relayed to our Breakfast Hosts. We have just ordered a new brand of English Muffin because have also recognized the lacking quality.

We hold our housekeeping staff and hotel cleanliness to a very high standard and this oversight definitely does not fall in line with those. A dirty bathroom floor is absolutely unacceptable and this issue will be handled accordingly.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Cheney for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Dorian Byrd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

It's about time a hotel gets the whole breakfast thing right! Instrad of an old grumpy lady that is bothered that you are there, they have 4 young employees that have everything stocked, helpful & even take your garbage from you. The place is in excellent condition, clean & modern. Nice staff not that far off the freeway. We will stay again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is great! The rooms were a nice size and very clean. The hotel staff were friendly, accommodating, and organized. It is very conveniently located near EWU. The neighbor hood is newer and nice as well. This is one of the best placed that I have stayed at. If you need to stay anywhere near Spokane it's worth it. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northstar140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here while she had registration day at EWU. I looked at other places to stay before booking a reservation. Spokane can be less expensive, but it is 20 minutes away and not worth my time. Holiday Inn Express is new, clean, comfy beds and the staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast bar has coffee, juice, eggs, yogurt, pastries, pancakes, eggs, bacon, cereal and asst. breads. Compared to the other hotels in town, this is the only choice for me to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomInWA98391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheney
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peppertree Airport Inn
8.4 mi away
Ramada at Spokane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Spokane Airport
8.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Spokane Airport
9.4 mi away
Stratford Suites
Stratford Suites
#2 of 3 in Airway Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area
Address: 111 Betz Road, Cheney, WA 99004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cheney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at Our Cheney HotelYou'll find the comfort and convenience you need at our Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA hotel, one of the leading hotels near the Spokane International Airport. Our hotel's located at the corner of Betz Rd and Hwy 904, minutes from the Eastern Washington University and near many businesses and attractions. We have reasonable rates and a name you can trust. You can "Stay Smart." with us.Thoughtfully designed for the most distinguished business traveler, our hotel has free Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour Business Center, a Great Room for receptions & a 288-sq ft boardroom. With a location near Fairchild Air Force Base, Triumph Composite Systems and BF Goodrich, the Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA is the best place to stay near the Spokane International Airport.Our hotel's perfect for families as we are close to many area attractions including the Turnbull Wildlife Refuge & the John A. Finch Arboretum. Spend a day golfing at Fairways Golf Course or cheering on the Eagles at an Eastern Washington University football game. We offer and array of complimentary amenities to guarantee a good stay, including a complimentary shuttle within a 7 mile radius. Our hotel's other free amenities include a hot breakfast bar, 24-hour Fitness Center and indoor heated pool. You'll find quality, contemporary accommodations when staying with us, so make your reservation today at our Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Cheney - University Area
Holiday Inn Cheney
Cheney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cheney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing