We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheney
Certificate of Excellence
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fairly new Hotel. Very very clean, nice room, nice bed. Bathroom was extremely clean. We were there because of our well being fixed. Since we live only 20 miles from here, we called and got a room and because of our circumstances and having no water at home, we got our room at a reduced rate, which was very nice under the circumstances. Staff was very nice and went out of their way for us. Would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    45
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
21
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

There's not a bad room in this Holiday Inn Express and if a friendly staff and clean rooms along with all the other ammenities are what you are lookiing for then go no further. This is the place you need to be when booking a room for Graduation or EWU's move in or move out.

Plenty of pillows and extra blankets if you're cold and you can always get extra towels if needed.

The included warm meal won't let you don't and there's other healthy choices as well as plenty of hot coffee.

The gym and pool are always clean.

I've been coming to this hotel for over 5 years and will stay here when I am in Cheney.

If I was disappointed in anyway it's because all I got a single water and not a stuffed goodie bag as a priority member this time, Not that I needed a cookie or anything but it's always nice to get that upon arrival when you've been on the road for any length of time.

Room Tip: I've stayed on all sides but if you're worried that the train will keep you awake request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wablonde01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the fourth or fifth year we have stayed at the HI Express in Cheney for the Orlan Killin Dinner/Dance/Auction at EWU. Once again, the rooms were clean, the front desk staff pleasant, check in and out easy and the breakfast typical HI Express breakfast fare. My complaint....the shuttle. How can you have the nicest hotel in the city and provide shuttle service from 8 am to 4 pm??? Each year we have stayed here, the shuttle hours have decreased considerably, but at least we have always been able to get a ride to the event at 4:30 pm. (And we do tip the driver generously!) It would seem that the hotel would take advantage of the event and be a part of that community, but obviously not. I didn't think the hotel was as full this year; I re-booked our rooms (2) a week before the event for $20 less per room than I had originally booked them for last fall. It's a shame...nice hotel but think some may book hotels closer to the event.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlickfold, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Christine,

I would first like to thank you for your business. We know you are a loyal guest of Holiday Inn Express Cheney and appreciate that you have stayed with us so many times over the years. We also appreciate all the great feedback you have given us about your stays.

Secondly I need to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the change in shuttle hours. The decision to change the hours was based on demand for shuttle service. We were able to save an expense by cutting the hours that the shuttle was rarely used. We then try to pass those savings along to our guests in rate; which you were able to see during your stay in April.

We do extend our shuttle hours for many EWU & Cheney events such as EWU home football games, EWU graduation, and Cheney Rodeo. We will absolutely take into consideration extending the shuttle hours for the Orland Killin Dinner next year.


Sincerely,


Dorian Byrd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located about a mile from the Eastern Washington University and across the street from a shopping center with a chain grocery store, coffee shop and a couple of fast food joints. After a long drive, the cleanliness of the hotel was a welcome sight. The lobby, while small, opened to a nice, large breakfast room. The buffet breakfast was very adequate, with yummy warm cinnamon rolls my favorite. My teen child liked the fact warm food was offered, such as sausage and scrambled eggs one morning or ham and what passed as omelettes the next. Biscuits and sausage gravy was also available as was an automated pancake maker. The standard pastry and bread assortment as well as various juices, coffee/tea, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit and milk rounded out the breakfast selections.
The 3 story hotel was fairly quiet. The halls were large. The room, with 2 queen beds also had a table with 2 chairs, a flat screen TV, dresser, coffee service, small fridge and microwave. A small closet held an iron, hangers and a luggage rack. The bathroom was large with a good sized counter for 2 people to put out toiletries. The bed had 4 pillows, 2 marked soft, 2 marked firm. Breakfast was served in the downstairs
The biggest issue was the noise made by the fridge and the heater. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelizgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The front desk staff was very welcoming. They exceeded my expectations upon arrival. The agent offered extra fish crackers for my kids and made sure we felt welcomed. The guest rooms were clean and the pool was great. The breakfast offered a nice variety of foods to choose from and the staff was very attentive. There are plenty of restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance if needed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyguest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a modern HI Express, build in the lastt few years. Staff at front desk is knowledgable, breakfast included in room rate. Rooms are clean and quite. Good property just off the main street. Internet is a bit slow.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Bruce W,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry about the internet connection. We will address this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cheney, Wa is a small community and the Holiday Inn Express is the only chain / franchised lodging option there. Negotiated a discount rate with the Guest Service Agent, (She was very personable / professional). The room was immaculately cleaned except for one thing: there were a couple of popcorn kernels in the ice bucket..... Stayed for two nights. Breakfast bar was the usual HIExpress....very good. Breakfast Hostess was on top of things and very hospitable. I will stay there again and would recommend. We stayed at another "motel" the third night....made us really appreciate the HIExpress!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheney
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Spokane Airport
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#3 of 46 in Spokane
765 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Peppertree Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Ramada at Spokane Airport
8.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Spokane Airport
9.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Spokane Airport Airway Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area
Address: 111 Betz Road, Cheney, WA 99004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Cheney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at Our Cheney HotelYou'll find the comfort and convenience you need at our Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA hotel, one of the leading hotels near the Spokane International Airport. Our hotel's located at the corner of Betz Rd and Hwy 904, minutes from the Eastern Washington University and near many businesses and attractions. We have reasonable rates and a name you can trust. You can "Stay Smart." with us.Thoughtfully designed for the most distinguished business traveler, our hotel has free Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour Business Center, a Great Room for receptions & a 288-sq ft boardroom. With a location near Fairchild Air Force Base, Triumph Composite Systems and BF Goodrich, the Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA is the best place to stay near the Spokane International Airport.Our hotel's perfect for families as we are close to many area attractions including the Turnbull Wildlife Refuge & the John A. Finch Arboretum. Spend a day golfing at Fairways Golf Course or cheering on the Eagles at an Eastern Washington University football game. We offer and array of complimentary amenities to guarantee a good stay, including a complimentary shuttle within a 7 mile radius. Our hotel's other free amenities include a hot breakfast bar, 24-hour Fitness Center and indoor heated pool. You'll find quality, contemporary accommodations when staying with us, so make your reservation today at our Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Cheney - University Area
Holiday Inn Cheney
Cheney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cheney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing