We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful seting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Chelan B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location could not have been better. Our hosts were very accommodating and the breakfast was excellent.
We very much liked Suite 1 since it was spacious and had a great king size bed.
There are 2 things to be aware of.
The A/C was a small window unit in the bathroom. Did not cool the bedroom very much.
Borrowed their small fan which did help. We were there during 2 hot nights.
No housekeeping for the 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bogiesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 30 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

This year 2014 will be our third stay with Steve and Lisa. I call them by name because they make you feel right at home 5 minutes after you arrive! If you are looking for a place to stay that is "more than just a bed and a room", this is it! Every cozy and comfort you can imagine is in your suite. Steve and Lisa know the town and surrounding area really well, even to give reviews for local restaurants and wineries. We live westside Washington, and this is our annual retreat every year with our friends. The Garvichs are entertaining, knowledgeable, and sooo friendly! We love them, too! Beautiful location in Chelan, overlooking the water and the town. I highly recommend. Sue w

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited Chelan in August and stayed at this B&B based upon reviews by other guests. We ended up staying in the basement suit which turned out to be a good choice as it was very hot while we were there. Noticeably cooler downstairs! We are used to having the operators of B&Bs freshen up our room each day as we were gone, but this was not the case for the three days we stayed at the home. You're it! Also, we had one day where we had an early outing and we were out of luck when it came to breakfast-- it's served at 9 a.m. only.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Owner at Chelan House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi, we appreciate all of of our guests comments, it is after all what helps us maintain and improve our level of service.

We are sorry that this guest’s stay wasn’t all they expected and will continue to find ways to do what we can to meet all of our guests needs and requests when asked. We always strive to work with guests who have travel plans or activities that make them unable to join us for breakfast by providing a continental breakfast tray they can take with them or enjoy in their room before they go.

We will continue to learn from our guests and find ways to do all we can to make every stay a positive and memorable experience. We hope these guests will return and we thank them for their feedback and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Chelan House B&B was a perfect stay for us as we were en route from Friday Harbor, WA to Stehekin Lodge and arrived late after a long but beautiful drive across the North Cascades Highway 20. We were warmly greeted by Lisa and Steve and given a quick tour of their place. The B&B is located in a lovely setting overlooking the Chelan Lake and nearby mountains. While I was surprised Chelan was a resort type town, we were pleased with the price and overall accommodations. We were in Suite #1 and enjoyed our stay there despite a ferocious thunderstorm that passed through that first evening! We had just returned from enjoying a relaxing pizza in downtown Chelan, a few minutes walk from the B&B. The patio area was a perfect setting to enjoy the nearby sites (see picture). We liked it so much, we had wine and cheese the second evening and watched the sunset. Lisa served a wonderful breakfast with a standout quiche! Moreover, since we had to take an early ferry, she kindly fixed us a great takeout breakfast which we well appreciated. In sum, our two night stay was everything we were expecting and more. We wish Lisa and Steve the best and certainly would return to the Chelan House Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: We liked Suite #1 in that it is not in the basement and you have a view of the overall Chelan Lake a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Budrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The house sits next to the Chelan River, right on the river walk which takes you in and out of the little town by one or the other of the two bridges. Steve and Lisa have only three rooms - each one of them is really a suite. We were in Suite #1 which is up a short flight of stairs. They get the award for the fluffiest towels of our three week road trip. Lisa and Steve are great hosts but they do it in a very laid back manner. They live on the lake and they manage to maintain their lakeside lifestyle while still making you feel very welcome indeed. They DO NOT come into your room every day and make your bed. We like the fact that they didn't but for some people that wouldn't work. They DO provide a wonderful breakfast (though we missed one because we were taking the early boat up lake). They DO provide many comfy places to sit and do nothing over looking the water. They DO go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need (they made an ample continental breakfast for us the day we took the boat and loaned a cooler and cold packs for our picnic lunch. They DO take the time to sit and chat and make you feel like you are visiting with friends. An almost perfect stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Owner at Chelan House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed with Steve and Lisa towards the end of June. They are very friendly people. I chose the B and B based on the reviews online. I found Chelan accommodations in general to be over priced. We were in the basement room. It was a good size room. The draw back was the bathroom had poor lighting and a incredibly small mirror. Breakfast is not served until 9am, so if your an early riser, this doesn't work so well. The breakfasts were good and the conversations were great. We golfed at Desert Canyon ( great course) and Bear Mountain (nice course). We found the wine in the area to not be so great. I would suggest going to Walla Walla for wine tasting instead. The south side of the lake charges $5 a taste and the north side was free ( at the places we stopped). Benson winery was our favorite. We didn't find any spectacular restaurants. Tin Lilly was the best one but more like pub food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a delightful stay at Chelan House. I chose Lisa and Steve's place on the basis of online reviews when the room block for my conference at Campbell's Resort had filled - and it was such a happy find! My only regret was that because I had to attend the conference, I couldn't spend more time at the house with the gracious hosts. Ideally located across the bridge from Campbell's Resort, between the two bridges in "downtown" Chelan, with separate entrances to the house for guests, it does really feel like a home away from home with more privacy and convenience than most B&Bs I've stayed in. If you're staying during the summer season, check out P.E.M.'s Paddleboard rentals in the house next door to get out on the lake right below the house. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNWtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelan hotels
0.5 mi away
Deep Water Inn
Deep Water Inn
#4 of 12 in Chelan
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
0.1 mi away
Riverwalk Inn
Riverwalk Inn
#1 of 8 in Chelan
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chelan
72 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Lodge and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Well Made Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelan House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 311 S 1st St, Chelan, WA 98816-9615
Location: United States > Washington > Chelan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chelan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelan House B&B is a beautiful 1937 Craftsman style home that features three spacious suites that offer both comfort and privacy, making it a wonderful couple's getaway. Each of the three non-smoking suites has its own private entrance and bathroom with a beautiful tiled shower/tub. Each comes complete with a cozy place to sit and relax along with large fluffy towels and a comfortable king/queen bed. Each suite also comes with TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot with coffee, tea and bottled water. Free high speed wireless internet access is also available. Chelan House B&B is in an ideal location, peacefully nestled along the Riverwalk Trail with beautiful views of the water, city lights by night and picturesque mountains by day. In the summer the yard surrounding the house includes a garden setting that provides privacy for reading or relaxing. We are just minutes from the heart of downtown Chelan and many guests enjoy the short walk into town to shop, enjoy a variety of restaurants, take in the fun events, wine tasting, visits to local art galleries or just a relaxing stroll through Riverwalk Park. Regardless of the season, winter, spring, summer or fall there are always so many wonderful things to do and see in the area and Chelan House Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing