We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great B&B in Apple Country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelan House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Chelan B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Great B&B in Apple Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Chelan House B&B was a perfect stay for us as we were en route from Friday Harbor, WA to Stehekin Lodge and arrived late after a long but beautiful drive across the North Cascades Highway 20. We were warmly greeted by Lisa and Steve and given a quick tour of their place. The B&B is located in a lovely setting overlooking the Chelan Lake and nearby mountains. While I was surprised Chelan was a resort type town, we were pleased with the price and overall accommodations. We were in Suite #1 and enjoyed our stay there despite a ferocious thunderstorm that passed through that first evening! We had just returned from enjoying a relaxing pizza in downtown Chelan, a few minutes walk from the B&B. The patio area was a perfect setting to enjoy the nearby sites (see picture). We liked it so much, we had wine and cheese the second evening and watched the sunset. Lisa served a wonderful breakfast with a standout quiche! Moreover, since we had to take an early ferry, she kindly fixed us a great takeout breakfast which we well appreciated. In sum, our two night stay was everything we were expecting and more. We wish Lisa and Steve the best and certainly would return to the Chelan House Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: We liked Suite #1 in that it is not in the basement and you have a view of the overall Chelan Lake a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
246 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The house sits next to the Chelan River, right on the river walk which takes you in and out of the little town by one or the other of the two bridges. Steve and Lisa have only three rooms - each one of them is really a suite. We were in Suite #1 which is up a short flight of stairs. They get the award for the fluffiest towels of our three week road trip. Lisa and Steve are great hosts but they do it in a very laid back manner. They live on the lake and they manage to maintain their lakeside lifestyle while still making you feel very welcome indeed. They DO NOT come into your room every day and make your bed. We like the fact that they didn't but for some people that wouldn't work. They DO provide a wonderful breakfast (though we missed one because we were taking the early boat up lake). They DO provide many comfy places to sit and do nothing over looking the water. They DO go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need (they made an ample continental breakfast for us the day we took the boat and loaned a cooler and cold packs for our picnic lunch. They DO take the time to sit and chat and make you feel like you are visiting with friends. An almost perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Owner at Chelan House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed with Steve and Lisa towards the end of June. They are very friendly people. I chose the B and B based on the reviews online. I found Chelan accommodations in general to be over priced. We were in the basement room. It was a good size room. The draw back was the bathroom had poor lighting and a incredibly small mirror. Breakfast is not served until 9am, so if your an early riser, this doesn't work so well. The breakfasts were good and the conversations were great. We golfed at Desert Canyon ( great course) and Bear Mountain (nice course). We found the wine in the area to not be so great. I would suggest going to Walla Walla for wine tasting instead. The south side of the lake charges $5 a taste and the north side was free ( at the places we stopped). Benson winery was our favorite. We didn't find any spectacular restaurants. Tin Lilly was the best one but more like pub food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a delightful stay at Chelan House. I chose Lisa and Steve's place on the basis of online reviews when the room block for my conference at Campbell's Resort had filled - and it was such a happy find! My only regret was that because I had to attend the conference, I couldn't spend more time at the house with the gracious hosts. Ideally located across the bridge from Campbell's Resort, between the two bridges in "downtown" Chelan, with separate entrances to the house for guests, it does really feel like a home away from home with more privacy and convenience than most B&Bs I've stayed in. If you're staying during the summer season, check out P.E.M.'s Paddleboard rentals in the house next door to get out on the lake right below the house. Beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PNWtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stay two nights the week before Memorial weekend. The couple that runs the bed and breakfast are great people. Very friendly, serving, and sharing. Breakfast was informal and great. We stayed in suite 3 - very quiet - large - nicely decorated - loved it. Chelan House is within walking distance of nearly everything in Chelan. It is only a few yards to the walk around the south end of the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stang55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights February 15th and 16th. Lisa and Steve are absolutely amazing and have truly found their niche! The breakfasts were wonderful. I know if we ever visit Chelan again, we won't have to research a place to stay...we will choose Chelan House!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen_Johnson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here over Labor Day weekend 2012. We loved this place. We had the room in the back with the river right out our door. The owners, Steve and Lisa, were very friendly and it was a wonderfully comfortable place to stay. Our room was very large and nicely decorated. The location was excellent - just a short walk across the river. Breakfast made by Lisa was also perfect. We loved the very friendly dog and two kitties (not allowed in the rooms) lounging outside. We will definately stay here when visiting Lake Chelan again. There is no reason to stay anyplace else! Thanks for making our stay so nice.

Room Tip: Our room was in the basement but it faced the river and mountains beyond and we had our own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Owner at Chelan House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words and for staying with us, we enjoyed meeting you and sharing Chelan House. It seems like each and every time our guests check out we say to ourselves "those are the nicest people, we so hope they come back", you two are no exception we hope to see you soon!

Lisa & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelan hotels
0.2 mi away
Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
0.5 mi away
Deep Water Inn
Deep Water Inn
#3 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Inn Motel
Apple Inn Motel
#8 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Lodge and Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverwalk Inn
Riverwalk Inn
#1 of 9 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelan House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chelan House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 311 S 1st St, Chelan, WA 98816-9615
Location: United States > Washington > Chelan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chelan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelan House B&B is a beautiful 1937 Craftsman style home that features three spacious suites that offer both comfort and privacy, making it a wonderful couple's getaway. Each of the three non-smoking suites has its own private entrance and bathroom with a beautiful tiled shower/tub. Each comes complete with a cozy place to sit and relax along with large fluffy towels and a comfortable king/queen bed. Each suite also comes with TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot with coffee, tea and bottled water. Free high speed wireless internet access is also available. Chelan House B&B is in an ideal location, peacefully nestled along the Riverwalk Trail with beautiful views of the water, city lights by night and picturesque mountains by day. In the summer the yard surrounding the house includes a garden setting that provides privacy for reading or relaxing. We are just minutes from the heart of downtown Chelan and many guests enjoy the short walk into town to shop, enjoy a variety of restaurants, take in the fun events, wine tasting, visits to local art galleries or just a relaxing stroll through Riverwalk Park. Regardless of the season, winter, spring, summer or fall there are always so many wonderful things to do and see in the area and Chelan House Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing