We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST VACATION RENTAL EVER!!! Would not go back for free!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelly's Resort on Lake Chelan
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WORST VACATION RENTAL EVER!!! Would not go back for free!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

If being in and around Chelan is important Kelly's Resort is not the place for you. It's twenty minutes to the town of Chelan.

When we booked we thought this wouldn't be a big issue, since Kelly's boasts a pool and lakeside swimming. The lakeside swimming is small and the water is still with lots of bugs hovering over it; the pool also had a good few bugs floating in it. Not appealing.

Beyond that, the place is not rustic and charming, it's ill-kept. Our cabin smelled musty, the linens were old, stained and felt like sandpaper. The beds were rock hard.

In short, at $200 plus a night, it's not worth it. Spend a bit more and stay in the town. Campbell's looks amazing and we'll head there for sure next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank CKECM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Mr. Kelly made every effort to take care of us. He was genuine, helpful and well informed about the lake and its surroundings. Staff were nothing short of excellent. Though it is priced above others, Kelly's Resort and its location make up for the cost. We would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank insightfully-yours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at Kelly's for three nights in August, it was wonderful. Our one bedrom cabin was quaint,. perfect size for our family of two adults, one toddler, one baby and one beagle. We received a warm welcome upon check in..even though we arrived quite late. The resort is maintained beautifully. The store and coffee shop are located right by the lake near the swimming area which is filled with "floaties" for swimmers to use. There is also complimentary use of canoes and kayaks. The swimming pool is huge and maintained beautifully, we even had it to ourselves all day. The staff who runs and maintains the resort are all very friendly and nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank issy-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

I've been staying at Kelly's with my family three years in a row now. We typically stay for six to eight days. I take care of business during the days while my family hangs out. This is a family-operated resort that has been in business over 50 years. The resort comprises about 20 acres and consists about five lakefront apartment-type units and about 15 cabins located in the woods across the road. Although the cabins are relatively rustic, they are very clean and well-stocked with necessary utensils. Similarly, the grounds are well kept and clean. The pool is a highlight.

This is not a glitzy resort and does not offer the typical amenities like spa, restaurant, golf, etc. If you're looking for a dime-a-dozen resort with downtown activities and expect to be pampered, this is probably not the right place for you. It is a family-oriented resort suitable for swimming, boating and general relaxation. It is about a 20-minute drive from downtown Chelan.

Most of the guests are repeat visitors. Several of the families we've met have been spending their vacations here for generations. There is a family feel and the owner and staff will likely remember your name for years. It is truly a unique establishment and we look forward to coming back year after year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doandko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

My parents and I stayed here over the weekend for the Lake Chelan Marathon. We an 2 bedroom apartment on the upper level with a beautiful view of the lake. It is probably about a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Chelan.
Our apartment had one room with a queen bed, the other 2 twins. It was listed as accomadations for 4 people. The kitchen has a dishwasher and is stocked with all the dishes and utensils you would need. There is coffee pot and microwave as well. The deck had seating for 4 and a gas bbq. The bed were ok, the pillows a little flat so bring your own. There is a dining table, couch, chairs, wood burning fireplace (they provided wood), and tv (w/ cable) in the living area.
There is a little store in the main building with some items, but prices are more than I expected so stop in town if you're planning on stocking up. They have kayaks, row boats, etc for use. There is a little swim area with lounge chairs and floaties also. There is also a dock. We did not have to do any laundry when we left, but that also meant there wasn't a washer / dryer in unit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather_R80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelan hotels
10.7 mi away
Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
11.2 mi away
Deep Water Inn
Deep Water Inn
#3 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
11.5 mi away
Apple Inn Motel
Apple Inn Motel
#7 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Lakeside Lodge and Suites
10.9 mi away
Riverwalk Inn
Riverwalk Inn
#1 of 9 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Resort on Lake Chelan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Resort on Lake Chelan

Property: Kelly's Resort on Lake Chelan
Address: 12800 S Lakeshore Rd, Chelan, WA 98816-9380
Location: United States > Washington > Chelan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Chelan
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kelly`s Resort On Lake Chelan Hotel Chelan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing