We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Fun in the Sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slidewaters

Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Chelan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A waterslide park.
Wenatchee, WA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Family Fun in the Sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We took 3 of our grandchildren ages 6 & 4 to Slidewaters in chelan and we all loved it. They have something for everyone. Our 6 year old was a blur as he zipped up & down every slide they would let him on which was most of them. The place is small enough that we could just let him go without worry. The 4 year olds were less adventuresome and there was plenty to keep them busy. There are a lot of grassy areas to spread out your towels and lawn chairs and if you plan it right you'll have shade in the afternoon when you'll need it. Get there early. It fills up fast.
You can't take coolers into the park but we took water and snacks and bought lunch. Basic choices - hot dogs, burgers, pizza, etc. and the prices are reasonable.
Slidewaters offers up a ton of fun for all ages. Even grandparents.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank msmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    41
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great family fun - well worth a day! Read the recommendations below.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Slidewater is a smaller size water park that is great for the area (translation - it isn't what you'd find at Walt Disney World). That said, it was a great change from Wild Waves in Seattle or other parks. Four of us visited and it was large enough that there was something for everyone and yet small enough that we felt safe letting our two kids run off with each other.

Cost/person:
- $18/person if you're over 48" tall (that's right, it's not age driven).
- Food prices were suprisingly reasonable given you are trapped at water park and portions are fairly large. A cheeseburger with lettuce, tomato, etc., was $5. Drinks got a little pricey (~$3 for a small drink).
- Locker rental prices were ~$5/day with a deposit.
- Gift shop prices were slightly high; sun tan lotion prices were unreasonably high.

Duration: 6 hours is a good amount of time to spend here
- The park is usually open from 10am to 7pm. We arrived at 10am and left around 4:30pm. We definitely felt as though we'd had plenty of time to do it all.

Recommendations:
- Bring food and water with you. While they will not let "coolers" in, they do allow people to bring in food, water bottles, etc. Many families brought the makings for lunch with them into the park, which definitely saves money and gives you what you want.
- Arrive at 10am. Parking was great and the lines were small. We saw the lines start to get long around 12:30pm, so we'd already had a couple of hours with lots of rides and short waits. Also, you will be able to find a place to lay your beach towels. Grass areas get pretty full quickly.
- Bring plenty of sun tan lotion with you. They charge you $14/spray can at the gift shop.
- Rent a locker. It's about $5/day with a deposit that you get back.
- Try the sun deck! It's right above where you enter and there were plenty of lawn chairs and several tables with umbrellas there. It was the least congested of all the sitting areas.
- Bring lawn chairs if you wish.
- Wear beach shoes (not flip flops) if you have them. The concete paths get hot.
- If you want to wear your sunglasses, bring a band for them (e.g., Croakies). With the exception of the lazy river, you're not supposed to wear the sunglasses on the rides without one.
- Make sure to bring your own beach towel.

Goods:
- There are rides of all sorts for everyone. There are small, gentle rides for kids and some faster ones for the adults.
- The park is well kept, and was clean. The staff was helpful and friendly.
- The food is standard theme park fair, but it tastes pretty good. Prices aren't crazy.
- Family orientated, and safe. Best part of all was letting the kids roam without the fear of being someplace like Walt Disney World or Wild Waves.

Bads:
- Standard theme park food.
- Drink prices were too high, but bring your own water bottle!
- It can get crazy with large groups. A church group of about 100 arrived around 1pm and it definitely impacted the lines!

Summary:
Definitely visit Slidewaters if you're in Chelan for a few days. It was a lot of fun for adults and kids alike. Prices were reasonable and all of us thought it was a blast. Have reasonable expectations - this is a water park in the "middle" of Washington State. It's not going to have the newest, most impressive or longest rides. What it is going to have is a lot of safe, clean fun for the family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank BMaker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“slidewaters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

not overwhelmingly large, very family oriented, maybe a little pricey but you can get a small discount for a non full day pass.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cefcvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lazy river all day long!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to Slidewaters on a Friday in Chelan when it was over 100 degrees. We were actually shocked that there were beach chairs available, and room to get around! This review is really just about the lazy river and the park in general, because we didn't do any of the slides! We walked right in, found the lazy river (bring your own towels and sunscreen-super expensive in the park!), some open beach chairs to put our towels and beach bag, and grabbed a tube. The lazy river was SO relaxing! Sure there were the occasional kids splashing around, but most of the time my wife and I just floated around and around together enjoying the sun yet managing to stay cool! We would get out once in a while, lay in the sun, get too hot, and hop right back on a tube. Tey have 3 different sizes of tubes to fit just about anybody. What a great way to spend the day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcphlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great waterslide park, not too big, well kept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We love this place and come back every time we are in Chelan. It's barely a mile outside of town. It's a smaller park, ideal for younger kids as well and offers slides for toddlers to adults. The slides are not that long, but I like the fact that this park is perfect in size, small enough to let your kids roam free without worrying. The park is kept very well with well manicured grass areas to throw down a picnic blanket. Unfortunately, the bathrooms are very dirty and should be cleaned throughout the day. The prices are very affordable and the staff/lifeguards who help run the slides are nice and friendly. A great small town feature not to miss.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slidewaters also viewed

 

Been to Slidewaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing