We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The Horrible One"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Chelan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"The Horrible One"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

My fiancé and I recently stayed at the Campbell's Resort in Chelan. It was recommended by some friends and had a pretty decent report on trip advisor. When we got there the weather was perfect and the city was gorgeous. We were welcomed by gracious smiles and a pleasant attitude. We preceded to check into our room which was a lake view on the 3rd floor. The room was splendid. The only problem seemed to be the family above us. Loud, obnoxious, and relentless. So we ended up going to the front desk to see if there was an easy solution. This is where we ran into "the horrible one" a.k.a. Caitlin. Only to find out that she was anything but. She was extremely apologetic with nothing more than complete compassion and utter concern to make our stay more enjoyable. Caitlin ended up moving us to an even better room at a better location. We were so thankful. And it set a tone for an amazing weekend at Cambell's. So thank you, the newly deemed "The Spectacular One." Thank you Caitlin! Because of you we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jjhalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    124
    44
    17
    22
See reviews for
123
107
7
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Our second stay here was pretty bad. The rooms had been re-done since our last visit and were nice. That all for the positive comments.

Chelan is great, but the town is not the same as the hotel. I'm reviewing the hotel only.

It is over-priced for what you get - period.

If you are expecting peace and quiet this is not the place for you. Every step taken by the people above us could be heard and the kids jumping off the bed and slamming doors makes it hard to sleep.

The free wi-fi log in process is extremely complex. They give you a card for each device [EACH DEVICE?? - in 2011?? Seriously??] that you then must carry around with you to re-login. The username and passwords are complex as opposed to say, your room number and name? Username was jll6j5zj7 and password 3jcgnc. Wow - how ridiculous! Oh yeah and it was repeatedly up and down

Don't expect any service at all.

The folks at the front desk always smile and say they will take care of an issue and then nothing happens. We had serious functional issues with our room and despite repeated calls to the front desk - never got a call back. My wfie finally went to the front and the same person she talked to on the phone lied to her face and said he didn't talk to her.

The Veranda restaurant is also one of the worst I have ever been to.

And Nobody Cares

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe-Bob-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiz1965, Owner at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We’re sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay. Our wireless internet service was indeed problematic while they were here and we apologize. We wish we could speak with this guest, find out more about the issues with their room and invite them back.

Clint Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

When we visited Chelan the last 2 times, we stayed at the Grandview. It was great, the hotel was well maintained and reasonably priced. For our latest visit, we decided to check out Yelp and see what people are saying about hotels in Chelan. After reading many positive reviews, we decided to go with Campbells this time.

HUGE MISTAKE.

On the phone, they told us that we have a lake view room on the 4th floor, which will cost us $180/night. We figured, the price is a bit higher than Grandview but the hotel is also rated higher. Plus, it's on the 4th floor, which we've seen during our previous visits, how bad can it be right?

Imagine this: Near-basement level, a broom closet with just enough room for a toilet, bed, and stand-up shower. No more than 10 sqft of walking space, where my wife and I had to squeeze by eachother. The walk to the room was horrid as well, my 31week pregnent wife tripped on the completely unlit stairs.

When we expressed our feelings to the front desk, we were answered with defensive responses such as "we have a lot of rooms that don't have doors, where guests go in via the patio window/door" or "There is nothing I can do for you". Seriously? As a customer, I just want you to take my feedback and make my experience better. If you can't, at least you can be NICE about it. The customer service is HORRIBLE. The Supervisor, I now call her "The Horrible One", was named Caitlin. Never deal with her, if you wish to keep your sanity.

I would never ever stay at Campbells again. We ended up leaving Chelan @ 9pm and getting home (Redmond) at around midnight.

Lastly, never ever stay in room 5414. Never!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KevinYuyu034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiz1965, Owner at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We were successful in contacting this guest. We are grateful that they will consider staying with us again. We hope to see them again next summer.

Clint Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here in December. That means off season pricing and I pretty much had the place to myself. It was a great deal for the middle of the winter. The staff wasn't terribly helpful. But maybe I was just very tired. There are lots of good little cafes and restaurants around. A Starbucks for early AM coffee and Safeway right across the parking lot. The room was clean and I felt safe even though there weren't very many guests there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HealthInspektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Attended a 3 day, 2 night conference at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan and really enjoyed it. My gf was able to come along and while I was in the conference, she was able to head to the spa and relax on the beach.

Lake Chelan is a little out of the way, but it's a gorgeous little town with some interesting attractions in the surrounding area. We only had an afternoon and went to a couple of vineyards in the area.

The room was comfortable and the conference facilities were small, but perfect for the size of group we were with. All the staff that we dealt with were quite friendly.

I think my only somewhat negative comments would be:

-the menu in the restaurant has an extreme amount of excessively fatty foods. Don't get me wrong, the food was all very good, but I had to laugh that a lot of menu the items added double cheese, double bacon AND ham. But calories on vacations don't count, right? As well, if we had wanted, there's a Safeway across the street, a fridge in the room and BBQ's for use near the beach. So, overall, not really a negative.

-the water pressure in the room was quite low. Workable, but just meant showers took a little longer.

We overall had a great time and would have no hestitations staying again. Price dependent, we can definitely see ourselves coming back, especially if/when we have kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBI747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My girlfriend and I read all the reviews and decided on Campbells mainly due to claims of its high quality and great location.

We got a great package deal with coupons to the bistro (which was "amazing") the staff was friendly, the grounds and rooms were clean, everything was to our liking and this resort would have made our "absolutely must return here next year" list with one exception:

My girl and I are both "techies" and, yes, even on vacation we require a healthy connection to the internet.

The internet connection at Campbells is terrible. It's barely functional. During the day and especially in the evening when guests are in their room, the service cannot handle the amount of people using it and it's horribly slow. It cannot maintain a steady connection to any sort of remote server without kicking you off constantly and only after midnight when most people went to sleep and the usage dropped down to a minimum did it become "somewhat usable".

I have experienced more reliable Internet at Holiday Inns and Motel 6's and it was free. The fact that they charge for this "service" was unacceptable. The problem is clearly that there is not enough bandwidth to service the guests during prime time. They need to upgrade their service.

Don't get me wrong -- as far as big picture goes - this resort is excellent. If you have no need for wireless internet, we would highly recommend Campbells as everything else about it was wonderful. If, however, you require a good internet connection during your stay, we would recommend that you look elsewhere, and it's a shame to have to say that.

If Campbells upgrades their wireless internet service, we would return there for sure. Outside of that, however, we will be searching for a new Chelan destination next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GPFault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We spent 4 wonderful days at Campbell's. No complaints about anything. The weather was beautiful, the lake is crystal-clear and there are many wineries in this scenic area. We had breakfast at the hotel's cafe twice. Good food at Very reasonable prices. The grounds are beautiful--lots of nicely landscaped flower beds. They also have a long stretch of waterfront park that includes a small pavilion and nice walking paths. Would highly recommend it to all our friends and family members.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelan
0.5 mi away
Deep Water Inn
Deep Water Inn
#3 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Inn Motel
Apple Inn Motel
#8 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Resort
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lake House at Chelan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan

Property: Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
Address: 104 W Woodin Ave, Chelan, WA 98816-9715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Chelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Chelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #1 Resort in the Northwest by Evening Magazine two years in a row and earning Trip Advisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence, Campbell's Resort has been a chosen family friendly Washington resort since 1901. Offering upscale accommodations, award winning restaurant, a day spa and the best mid-size conference center in Washington state. Our mission is to provide the best resort experience in the Northwest through genuine hospitality and crisp service at our Lake Chelan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell`s Resort On Lake Chelan Hotel Chelan
Campbells Hotel On Lake Chelan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing