We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dinner Well Worth It.”

The Chehalis Centralia Railroad & Museum
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Chehalis
Attraction details
USA
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Dinner Well Worth It.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We took the dinner train and would have rated this attraction 5 stars but the small size of the museum was a disappointment. They did not have much in the old (and small) train station but that was not the primary reason for the visit. The primary reason was the dinner train ride.

We have been on several dinner trains around the country and when you compare price, food, and train ride this scores an excellent value. The price was very reasonable and you had three excellent choices for your dinner. We were a party of 4 and tried all 3 choices for meals and all were good. I had the prime rib and for a catered meal it was excellent with a very generous (and tasty) cut of meat. My only minor complaint was the tables were on the small size and I was a little cramped for space. The actual trip, about 36 miles total (18 out then back) was very scenic and relaxing and you got to see some beautiful country.

I highly recommend this trip/dinner and don’t forget your camera. Of yeah, almost forgot, go early and visit the excellent Veterans Memorial Museum right by the train station.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BobDidIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Literally a taste of the old days!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

There was nothing to dislike about this excertion!! It was delightful....we did the Sunday Brunch Train, it truly is like what we know of the "old days" of train travel, white table clothes, real china, comfortable "park bench" type seats topped off with a rose bud in a vase on each table. The food was fresh, very flavorful & the coffee was to die for! It has a cozy, friendly fun atmosphere. The whole excertion was very smooth and well organized from ticket purchase to saying by when you step off the train! If you get the chance have a chat with the owner of the establishment....he is very interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Chug a Chug a Choo Choo”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We took our 4 y/o Thomas the Train fan to ride the steam train at Chehails. This was an awesome experience. You buy your tickets inside the station and the ride is about 1.5 hours. The ride is along the country side and you pass many farms and roads which gives the engineer plenty of excuses to blow the really loud whistle. The staff/volunteers were super friendly and nice. Our son really enjoyed the experience - as did we.

If you are passing through on the weekend and need a diversion - this is it. We made this our destination. Great scenery, friendly people, steam train and loud whistle - make for a great Sat afternoon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank captcrash2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olla
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ChooChoo!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

It was a train and wagon type ride. We did enjoy it and saw some country side. Would love to take the Grandchildren on it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLWoodOlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great fun for the entire family!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

While the Chehalis Centralia Railroad is only a short ride, it is FUN for kids and adults of all ages, and HIGHLY recommended. Besides, how often do you get to ride a steam train in the Pacific Northwest?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chehalis Centralia Railroad & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Chehalis Centralia Railroad & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing