We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your ear plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chehalis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Brand new beautiful hotel -- too bad it's two blocks from major train tracks. Multiple trains went by until 2 a.m. and started up again at 6 a.m. We were on the town side overlooking Wilco Ag Center so the trains definitely kept us awake with loud blaring horns as they traveled through town. Also, we asked for quiet room. Ours was directly over the indoor swimming pool. We could hear screaming kids until the pool closed some time after 9 p.m. Food on the buffet was dried out. There weren't many guests at the hotel so it was probably left over from the day before. Shower was very small, and had no insulation so it was loud in the bedroom. They had a very large beep as the elevator door opened on each floor--must be loud for rooms right by the elevator. Don't know why they can't turn it down. The door to the room was extremely heavy. Handicapped or elderly could find it difficult to open. We had to check in twice since the person who checked us in the first night did not handle our reservation for second night correctly. We found dirty kleenexes behind the night stand. Would not recommend this hotel --mainly due to extreme noise of the trains.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelmasterToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed there for a night on our way to St. Helens, we were really surprised with the new hotel. It was very modern, nice and smelled new :-). It smelled a bit like new carpets and chemicals, this is good and bad.

For the money we paid we were very pleased. Nice breakfast with something for everyone. The next restaurants are a bit further away one exit north, but otherwise nice and quiet. The trains could be bothering for anyone with light sleep, but we stayed on the other side of the hotel and we couldn't hardly hear it at all.

The only downside was the bathroom, the rooms itself are new and have really nice furniture and awesome mattress and bedding. But we found hairs and soap rests in the bathtub floor? This was a bit gross, but otherwise the bathroom looked clean.

I would recommend to anyone, the service and the fact that it's new is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We were starting our vacation to the Washington coast and didn' want to drive for seven hours straight. Before we embarked on our trip I checked out "trip advisor" and made a reservation at the Holiday Inn.
We arrived and to our delight it was new and beautiful. Very happy to stay there..until we went to bed.
Every twenty minutes the trains started coming, sometimes two at a time. No sleep and it took me two days to feel normal again. We were just totaly spent.
Unless you are used to trains I say go ahead and stay there.
We had booked to stay there on our return trip and canceled that morning we left.
I told the clerk why we canceled and she seemed like it was no big deal.
LENA

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVENLENA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tchaput, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2010

Dear Guest:

I am happy to hear that you were please with both the appearance of our hotel and our staff, unfortunately, the trains can be an issue as you discovered. A few of our guests have made a comment about that and we have taken steps to help prevent the disturbances. We now offer ear plugs on the train side of the hotel and for some that might have an issue with the train noise, we can place them on the quieter side of the hotel. The lower the floor will help as well. Thank you for giving us a try and I hope we can see you again in the future. Cordially,
Todd Chaput
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This HIExpress is a nice addition to the hotel options in Chehalis. It is walking distance to downtown and close to the airport and highway, but far enough away not to be noisy. Rooms on the train track side of the hotel will hear trains pass by - may be a problem for light sleepers.

The rooms, lobby, and breakfast are all standard. Not opulent, but very nice, clean and new. I had just a large, walk-in shower in my bathroom (no tub). Breakfast has lots of options. Very nice fitness center.

The front staff was very accommodating as my plans changed several times. With one minor exception they were friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The staff was pleasant and friendly.

Other than a continental breakfast, there is no food service at the hotel, and neither is there any within walking distance, so plan accordingly.

The building is very new, just two months since the hotel opened, so there are a lot of chemicals that have yet to work their way out of the carpet and walls. I woke the next morning with quite a bad cough, so take note. Give it a year, and this item should sort itself out.

I don't think business is going well for the hotel because of the economy: when I tried to make coffee the next morning, the pot was already full, and also had green growing things in it. This tells me that after the cleaning staff initially forgot to empty the pot, the room sat unoccupied for a few weeks, until the weekend of July 11.

Not a bad place to stay, actually, in spite of the above items. The staff is trying very hard to be accomodating, so once the bugs get worked out, they should do just fine. Unless the economy sinks them first : (

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bicyclist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We thought this hotel was very clean, new and very accomidating. Smells NEW!! For the money we paid we were pleased. Nice breakfast-something for everyone. A couple exits away from resturants, stores, etc. Good location for travelers hitting Mount St. Helens.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twobandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We were very pleased with our stay. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cubs_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chehalis
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Chehalis - Centralia
3.9 mi away
Olympic Club Hotel & Theater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn
3.3 mi away
Peppermill Empress Inn
Peppermill Empress Inn
#3 of 10 in Centralia
128 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Centralia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia

Address: 730 NW Liberty Plz, Chehalis, WA 98532-1545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Chehalis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chehalis
Price Range: $99 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a new Chehalis/Centralia, Washington hotel! The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chehalis/Centralia conveniently located near downtown Chehalis and halfway between Seattle & Portland. Leisure travelers can enjoy a comfortable stay at our Chehalis/Centralia hotel which is minutes from restaurants, shopping & local attractions. Centralia Factory Outlets, Mount St. Helens, Lewis County Historical Museum are all near our hotel in Chehalis & are great for family outings. Adults can spend an evening at the Lucky Eagle Casino or watch the races at South Sound Speedway. With convenient access to Weyerhaeuser Company Research Center, Michael s Distribution Center, Providence Centralia Hospital & Sierra Pacific, our hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. A 24-hour business center & free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, will help you stay connected as you do business on the road. During your stay at our Chehalis/Centralia hotel, take time to enjoy the fabulous amenities. You can relax in the heated, indoor pool & whirlpool or work-out in the fitness center. Every morning, a free Express Start hot breakfast bar is available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis Hotel Chehalis
Holiday Inn Express Chehalis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing