We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”
Review of Country Cousin

Country Cousin
Ranked #4 of 86 Restaurants in Centralia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many times, as I drive to Seattle. I would not stop here usually but it is right off the highway. It is clean and kind of charming. The food however is nothing special. My father in law likes the liver and onions..otherwise, it is all about the location, close to the outlet mall and central location between Portland and Seattle... We wish there was another option than Denneys clse by..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ariverbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    170
    69
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fancy its not, but good.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A rooster crows as you come in the door, and the country decor carrfies on inside. Its been in Centralia for many years at Exit 81, featuring pot roast dinners, homemade corned beef hash and other stuff. eaten there quite a few times, and never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveandSueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“kitch dining”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

After reading that Centralia and Chehalis were historic towns with a strong antiques scene, and given we were hungry, we pulled off the highway to see if we could find something not fast food. We may have missed something but it seems like all there was available was at bars which was unsuitable for our younger children.
We ended up at Country Counsin. They really have put a lot of effort into the decor to create a kind of crazy old-world farmhouse interior. The service was big and friendly. The menu looked OK.
We ordered the bread loaf (weird taste, like plastic), clam chowder (worst ever), yak burgers (not bad) and deserts.
Lets just say it was an experience! I think they are well meaning!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stopped for lunch here on our way to Oregon and enjoyed it very much. The pot roast was excellent, I'd recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wish all places were like this”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had breakfast there on a road trip this summer. Everything, everything, everything was absolutely perfect. I would dine here everyday if I lived closer but it's about 2000 miles away! The server was perfect. The food was way better than a chain restaurant, which is usually not saying much, but it was really good. The corned beef hash had real bits of meat, not the dog food style you usually get. The bacon was crispy and thick. The prices weren't too bad either, maybe a tad higher than we were used to but not by a dollar or so more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trip_seeker-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cousin also viewed

 

Been to Country Cousin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing