We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wolf Not All That Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Centralia
Redmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Wolf Not All That Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Admittedly, this really isn't my kind of place but my daughter had to compete at a gymnastics meet here so the whole family spent a weekend at Great Wolf. The room was ridiculously overpriced at $400 for a truly mediocre suite. There were brown smears on the bathroom walls and the shower faucet handle fell off. The coffee machine was broken as well. I've stayed at Fairmont hotels for a similar price and there's no comparison. The waterslide is pretty cool, but not $400 a night cool. The chlorine odor is overwhelming, and they even have a sign warning that you may develop a rash from it (which my daughter did.) The workout facilities are primitive - avoid the elipticals at all cost!

The security is lax and the side doors do not require a key for entry. Although wristbands are supposed to be required for entry to the waterslide there is no one there to check for them and anyone could wander in if they wanted to. If your kids do happen to get sick of the waterslide, which judging from my kids takes about 4 hours, more or less, be prepared to get hit up for wads of cash. Everything else costs serious money. By the way, the hotel is just off the interstate, across from a trailer park and down the road from an industrial park, so you are pretty much stuck there once you arrive.

We really didn't have much interaction with the staff beyond the very snippy and impatient front desk clerk at check in and the cleaning staff pounding on the door at 10:55 the next morning. The one bright spot was the lifeguards in the pool area, who were plentiful and vigilant. Otherwise, the staff was minimal and minimally attentive.

Overall, there is no much value for the money at this resort. I wouldn't stay there again, given the choice.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nottoosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    911
    639
    314
    162
See reviews for
2,729
19
1
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Lodge, a Friday & Saturday, to celebrate our daughter's 5th birthday. The hotel decorated our door, and had a gift bag waiting for her inside. (This reservation was my by Grandpa, and might have been an add on.)
She loved everything about this place, the waterpark, the arcade, the shows in the lobby. We enjoyed it too, and will deffinately make a return trip.
I do have a couple gripes though; The hotel says Hybernation hours (quiet time) is from 11pm - 7am, yet there's a Disco for teenagers on the 2nd floor, and no security in the halls (no cameras to be seen either) to keep the running, giggling, and yelling down. On the second night we had a gymnastics competition at the hotel, and it was packed with energetic young girls. The noise in the hall seemed to get worse, and the doors opening and slamming shut over & over again could easily be heard in our room. Our 18 month old was awakened more than once.
The sink and vanity is in the hall in the Wolf Den suite, which was nice, but the tub/shower/toilet area felt like a cramped closet when trying to bathe youngsters and hand them off to your spouse to dry.
Mid week prices are cheaper, and won't have the gymnastics competitions, (I hope) so we'll deffinately go again. The baby loved it so much he cried whenever we took off his life vest.

  • Liked — Variety of activities for children
  • Disliked — Noise in the hall at night
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WaMamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

This was a fill-in trip until we go back to Disneyland this Spring, maybe that led me to some unfair expectations. We reserved a "Kids Cabin" room and expected to have a great time, assuming that the price reflected the level of service, we were wrong... After checking in we went to our assigned room and promptly woke someone up, not only were we sent to the wrong room but the wrong room type as well. The second room we were sent to the door key wouldn't work, the third time I had a manager come with us.

Once we got into the room we discovered the TV was broken, maintenance was called to fix it and after they left I put the wires back in place behind the TV, give me a break! The manager comped us dinner and a couple of hours of in-room Nintendo time for our kids, turns out the Nintendo thing was turned off to our room. In all I needed to visit the front desk 5 times during our first few hours, granted all the walking was a great workout but it did eventually get old!

In spite of all that we did have a good time, the kids loved the water park and they have a neat in-house scavenger hunt game called Magic Quest that they loved as well. The restaurants on the property are all very good, expensive, but good. We spent just over $1200 staying there for two nights and eating, buying shirts, etc... Although we did have fun I'm not sure we will ever go back simply due to the check-in experience, it really was that bad.

  • Liked — Kid focused atmosphere
  • Disliked — Check-in, some staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fyrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Centralia hotels

Camas, Washigton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

My husband was attending a conference for work, so we decided to tag along 4 girls 17,17,10 & 8. My husband arrived early for his workshop and checked us in, the lines were very long at check in our whole weekend, I believe I did not see more than 2 staff at the desk the whole time on a sold out weekend. We ate at the buffet Saturday night very expensive and the food was not very good $96.00 with out tip. Our service was terrible with very rude staff. (Who I assume have not been taught to not argue with your customers.) You are not able to fill your own drinks you have to wait for your server, we finally got our drinks at the end of our meal. The buffet was running out of food and only had one bus boy on staff to clean tables, again on a sold out weekend, we did eat breakfast in the buffet the next morning and it was a much better experience, also found out the food is cheaper during the week. I did speak with the hotel manager on duty and he discounted our meal, but that did not make up for how we were treated along with the rest of the guest. Room was average hotel style, kids enjoyed the scented bath soap, it was never replaced during our visit, so we only had one small hotel type bottle. Hotel ran out of extra pillows and did not bring our requested extra blankets. I would recommend bringing your own snacks to save on money ( kids got very hungry after swimming) Friday was not very busy in the water, but Saturday and Sunday were packed and made me feel unsafe with my little ones in the wave pool ( I am sure it was over capacity). I asked a hotel staff and they recommended a visit during school days and the hotel would be much slower and more enjoyable. The arcade was fun, but again very expensive everything $.50 or more and mostly more. We did not participate in the MagicQuest
but saw many who were, it almost a crazy with kids running everywhere. Request a room away from the elevators where the MagicQuest takes place.

  • Liked — Everything in one place
  • Disliked — Very expensive
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ramireztribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marysville wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

I was very impressed with the staff, the cleanliness, and the whole experience. The great wolf lodge felt very much like a resort. Kids had a wonderfull time...lots to do...i felt very safe with the constant watchfull eyes of lifeguards. I'm hard to please and this place was great. The staff was really genuine and helpfull. Super nice. super clean. There are two restaurants at the lodge. One was a "grill and bar" VERY good food the other was the buffett. we had our breakfast there and it was awful. The only bad thing i had to say. The food was really bad except for the made to order omlets. One other note is they have a game for kids to play that involves a wand and hunting for clues. I wasnt going to shell out the $20 bucks for it. My kids uncle did anyways and it was a lot of fun...worth it I thought. ....I would not stay for more than one night. They do let you check in early and check out late and that was enough.

  • Liked — great for the kids
  • Disliked — the Buffet dinning was horrible
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johnandleesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

My husband, I, and our 6 year old daughter live in the Seattle area. Our persistent gray skies finally got to me and I felt the need for a quick getaway. While just over an hour away, it did feel like a complete world away. It was our first time there.

The first thing we noticed was how packed the parking lot was. Once we got inside, it was very noisy, with kids everywhere. Which is good, because I don't have to worry about my kid being the noisy one, but also a bit of a shock because I thought I was going to a hotel and failed to adjust my expectations before arriving!

The waterpark is very fun. We played there 2 days, but I expect a 3rd day might have gotten boring. There was plenty for kids of all ages and adults. The tornado ride, with min. height 48", was a screamer!
What really made the trip was the MagiQuest. I am not a person who can be in the water all day. So it was nice that my daughter could do a sort of high tech treasure hunt with the wand, and we ended up walking around the place a ton. If you don't mind a lot of kid noise, it's really a great quick getaway.
The rooms are spendy, but the ability to get away and have full immersion in fun was worth it, and the $25 for the MagiQuest was definitely well spent.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthSeattleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitsap county
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

My first thought when I saw the prices was "no way".
It was the only thing my son wanted for his birthday
so after a few months of contemplating, we did it.
It was well worth it, considering the cost of going to our local water park for a family of four would itself be about $160 alone for one day.
We were able to go early and get our room (at 10:45 am!)
and get two whole days of the waterpark since you can stay until closing after you check out.
The extra activities they offer for the kids were great, especially the MagicQuest and Teen Room where my kids enjoyed the internet and Guitar Hero.
I was not thrilled with the buffet so we had our other meals off the property. Hotel service was great! I was pleasantly surprised.
This was a fun mini vacation for us all!

  • Liked — hotel cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank raiderfan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centralia
5.8 mi away
Olympic Club Hotel & Theater
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
18.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
5.8 mi away
Peppermill Empress Inn
Peppermill Empress Inn
#3 of 11 in Centralia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 20500 Old Highway 99, SW, Centralia, WA 98531
Location: United States > Washington > Centralia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Centralia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Centralia
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Washington/Centralia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing