We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the negative comments made by others.”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Centralia
Arlington
Level Contributor
333 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Better than the negative comments made by others.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had read several of the poor reviews by others and were concerned about our planned visit. We did not experience any of the problems others complained about and instead had an excellent experience with our daughter, her husband, and 5 grandchildren. It is very crowded with lots of children running around having fun and making noise. If you go knowing it is expensive and crowded you won't be disappointed. There are lots of things for kids to do to keep busy, not just the waterpark. They all add to make it a fun vacation.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room yet close to things, the north wing 2nd floor is the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    974
    681
    329
    172
See reviews for
2,963
20
1
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our third trip to Great Wolf Lodge and although we enjoyed our stay it will probably be our last as our kids are getting "too old" (12 & 14) to enjoy all that Great Wolf Lodge has to offer. All staff were great from check-in to the servers at the restaurant & the waterpark. Our room was on the ground floor (handy for getting to the vehicle easily) and was very clean and well maintained. I'm not a fan of their tiny bathrooms and you'd think a "waterpark" themed hotel would have more thought involved it the bathrooms for hanging bathing suits to dry other than flimsy string that hangs over the floor so everything gets soaked! Our kids enjoyed the arcade and we were happy to see the addition of the mini-golf BUT it was TERRIBLE!!! Not worth $24 ($6 per person)! Do not waste your money on this sad excuse of a mini-golf course! It was only 9 holes and for some reason there were gaps in edge around the green and we had to take turns standing with our feet as barriers so that the golf balls wouldn't go all over the room! The waterpark is clean and I noticed many staff members collecting used towels and tidying up, great to see :) Great Wolf Lodge is great if you prepare yourself for the expense of it all ahead of time and take it for what it is. I find it exasperating that the charge a "resort fee" when their prices are already so high. Luckily you don't have to eat there for all your meals as a quick drive down to Centralia will offer more selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 with our 9 yr old daughter. Yes, the rooms are expensive but there is sooo much to do. We had the Wolf Den suite which had a great bunk bed area for our daughter. She loved the cool area just for her, especially her own TV. We bought the Paw Pass which was a better deal than getting the items separate. It had stuff like a souvenir pin & drink cup, ice cream, color a pillowcase in the Cub Club, wand & MagiQuest game and a wolf stuffed at their version of build-a-bear. We spent lots of time playing MagiQuest, which has kids running around the hotel with magic wands, trying to find hidden gems and objects. What they don't tell you is that it's an aerobic workout for the parents! Hint - look for objects in the stairwells! We finished all 10 levels and my daughter received a certificate. I was impressed with the animals the kids could "activate" with their wands. The waterpark was awesome, great wave pool with constantly changing waves, lots of different waterslides ( I was too chicken for the Howling Tornado), great climbing/play area, cool lily pads the kids could walk across the pool on, pool basketball and a huge bucket that drenches you and nearly knocks you over if you're under it when it dumps! I was also very impressed with how seriously they took the lifeguarding especially in the wave pool area. There were lots of lifeguards and they cleared the areas and checked everything on a regular basis. The only negative things were that the hot tub was more lukewarm than hot. And they wouldn't let you leave the pool area with a towel so take a wrap or beach coverup unless you're okay with walking thru the hotel in your bathing suit. The arcade was fun with games for all skill levels. We did find the restaurants a little on the pricey side but the food was tasty! At one breakfast we had a "howling" competition with another table, all the kids loved that! We would definitely go to another Great Wolf Lodge.

Room Tip: Splurge for the theme ones, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joloca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I visited with my 4 1/2 year old, who really enjoyed the waterpark. However, if you're going to build a waterpark with the concept being that it's indoor and available in any weather, you should make it WARM! We were freezing cold. The 84-degree indoor temperature feels muggy when you first enter the waterpark, but after an hour or two of playing in chilly water, both my and my child's teeth were chattering. It seems to me that they need slightly warmer water or ambient temperatures, or both. We had to take breaks and towel off to warm up, which I wasn't expecting.

The lifeguards at the waterpark seemed incredibly attentive. Each one had a zone to patrol, and they would walk back and forth constantly searching to make sure that no one was in trouble. I was very impressed with them. I never saw them sitting around chatting or anything like that.

The room was fine, not brand-new looking, but clean and serviceable. We were in a family suite that was adjacent to a kid-camp suite, though, and we heard the kids next door doing something that sounded like slamming a mattress / bed into a wall (springy noise, shook our beds it was so loud) until quite late at night and starting again early in the morning.

The waitstaff at breakfast was very pleasant, and I liked that they offered quite a variety of fresh fruit and "real" food like made-to-order omelets. Overall, the food was pricey, but of reasonable quality.

We have also stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge in Grapevine, TX, which charges similar prices but is newer and bigger with more waterpark attractions. After our stay, I felt like I had overpaid to stay in the Grand Mound location considering that it wasn't as nice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to Kid-camp rooms - you'll hear lots of room-shaking noise as the kids next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent a night here with the kids in June 2013. Check in was quick which was nice.
The rooms are dated. When we reached our room, we saw that the drains in both the washbasins was clogged and we had to call maintenance to unclog it. That said, the maintenance department was quite prompt and sent someone over quickly. The rooms could do with a little more lighting. Most of the linen was old and needs to be replaced. Apart from that the shower in one of the bathrooms had a drain right in the center and that seemed clogged too and all the water fell out even though the shower curtain was being used. I cant understand why hotels can't shift to glass cabins which are neater and sealed properly!
The main aim of the trip was the waterpark and we extremely happy as the kids really enjoyed themselves. Even though it was raining outside and was quite cold, the temperature inside the waterpark was just right.
Apart from breakfast, we didnt eat any meals at the Lodge. Did look at the menu for dinner but found it overpriced and had heard that the food's not very good.
Check out - that was a different story altogether....first the woman behind the counter said she couldnt split the cheque between two different people but then her supervisor said it could be done. After that the supervior took over the billing, and he just couldnt understand how to account for the discount we'd been promised and in spite of us explaining the same to him, it took him almost 10 minutes to understand. After everything was sorted out, he still split the final bill in an extremely confusing manner. Eventually we just let him to do what he wanted to and left it at that. I think the staff requires more basic training and need to use their own mind rather than just follow what pops up on the screen.

Room Tip: Dont buy the wands!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank US75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the great wolf lodge. We had a family suite. The room was so much nicer than the photos online. We had a blast and didn't want to leave. There was so much to do the kids ran out of time, before we completed all the was to offer. We ate dinner and breakfast there and the meal was delicious. There where seven in our group. 4 adults and 3 kids (12, 10 and 7). There was something for everyone. I cant wait to go again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The sole purpose of going to Great Wolf Lodge is to enjoy the indoor waterpark. As long as you have that it mind and don't expect a five star hotel then you should have fun for your money. Remember that while room rates seem high, they include admission to the water. If you took an average family of four to another outdoor waterpark it would cost about $40 per person. So using that math a $200 room is really only $40. I highly recommend one of the premium or themed rooms since they offer more space and the kids get their own tv and area. That allowed us to unwind versus when we stayed in a regular room the last time we stayed there. When eating, the best deal is at the pizza place or the Critter Bar and Grill. The other buffet restaurant was higher priced. The most expensive was the snack grill inside the waterpark itself. That is normal, you are paying for the convenience of not having to move very far. I for one like the convenience of only having to walk a short distance to get a snack for the kids or an ice cold beer for myself. Your water passes are good to closing on the day you check out. I recommend two days though. Overall, it is exactly what it claims to be, a hotel themed for kids with nighttime story times and other activities. If you want some place quiet then you are barking up the wrong tree and might want to look some where else but I doubt your kids will have as much fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tekeforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centralia
5.8 mi away
Olympic Club Hotel & Theater
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
18.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 11 in Centralia
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 20500 Old Highway 99 SW, Centralia, WA 98531-9708
Location: United States > Washington > Centralia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Centralia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Centralia
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Washington/Centralia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing