We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family fun, a bit too expensive”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Centralia
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent two days and nights here as part of an Easter break. My older daughter (16 yrs old) described it as a cruise ship that was docked - seemed accurate in that you don't really have to leave the hotel if you don't want to do so.

The room was okay (we'd paid for the Kid Kabin, which had a little cabin-like area blocked off with faux-logs on the outside, but probably not worth the extra cost overall since it didn't really offer significant privacy for my wife and me). We didn't use the balcony, so you could easily forget that part of it and I would not pay extra for that again.

The indoor waterpark was pretty fun and was quite clean with an open feel to it. Remember your flip-flops for walking from your room and in the waterpark area. There was a decent-sized hot tub for adults / monitored kids where you could rest. The slides weren't scarey for any of us, but some good (but short) runs. The wave pool was good and pretty standard for water parks.

My younger daughter (8 yrs old) and I played MagiQuest over a 2 day period, which is a pretty interesting game. You register at the shop for that, buy a wand (about $18) and pay for the game (about $13). You got up and down many stairs from floors 1-5 and point your wand at items you find, then get customized messages depending on whether you needed to "find" that item or not. After several hours of searching, my daughter becamse a "Master Magi" and was thrilled w/ the badge she received for that. It's a nice alternative to the constant water park.

The restaurant was decent, although a bit overpriced. There are also many snack areas near the pool and, of course, a souvenir shop.

Overall, a good experience but the rooms were overpriced even considering the addition of the waterpark passes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the I-5 side of the hotel. Also, avoid any room on floors 1-5 which might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_local_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,359 - 3,365 of 3,892 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

There are many fun things about this place, but really seems best for elementary-middle school age. Wave pool is great, lots of space and per my kiddo does different styles of waves. It is all indoors, which is great for this area where it rains so often. But don't forget your summer clothes and flip flops if you are watching and not going in the water - it is hot and humid in the waterpark. Has a few different water slides, water basketball and a water tree house. Arcade is a bit odd, not modern but still fun. Rooms are fine, nothing special if you get the basic one's but then again hopefully you are out having fun instead of sitting there. Really is expensive, so look for specials. Is worth going once or once a year like we do. Rooms have fridge so can save some money by bringing some of your own stuff. If you forget something they have swim supplies in waterpark and little town of Centralia about 10 minutes away has factory outlet stores plus big box stores. We went on a Friday night and it was not too crowded. Go at the off times to the waterpark - at dinnnertime and before bedtime seem better. Lots of lifeguards and saw one of the staff drill some unexpectantly with fake baby.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Over all the place is very clean and our room was great. However it's highly over priced, including the restaurants and gift shops. The water park is fun and clean but needed more to do. The elevators take forever with children running amok doing the magi quest game, had a few almost knock over out two year old. They have some parts of the game right as you get off the elevator so it becomes a giant cluster of an already clustered place. So if you have toddlers, and patients for other people's crazy kids...not the place for you or wait and go when you know kids are goin to be limited. We actually took a day of our stay we got so annoyed with it all. Definitely not with 700$ for two nights!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommydearest2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was a great hotel/waterpark to go to. Pricey, but fun. The rooms were spacious & comfortable. The indoor waterpark was endless fun for my boys, and the facility was warm even when the weather is cool. The only thing about it is the food is pricey. You can bring your own food or eat out in town - which you have to drive out for. It is mainly a hotel with something to keep the kids and big kids occupied.

Room Tip: If you are a budget traveller, bring your own food then just eat out in town instead of in the facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camellia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just back from a one night stay at Great Wolf Lodge in Centralia. The kids had a riot - as was to be expected. The water park is a ton of fun and you don't ever feel 'cold' like you sometimes do at indoor swimming pools. Magicquest is an activity which can take up a lot of your time and be prepared to run up and down and up and then up and down again those darn staircases trying to find things. We didn't do the mini golf but spent a time in the arcade but between these activities, my kids were very, very happy. All the staff we came in contact with were friendly and courteous.

We were happy when we arrived at 3:20 pm that our room was already available and the inconvenience of having to check out your room at 11:00 am did not prove an inconvenience. Everything was stashed in the car and we had one bag of swimming stuff that we went and got when we decided to use the pool. In fact, we stayed right up until 9:00 pm when the water park closed.

Yes, the rooms are expensive but you are paying for the experience of going. We stayed in a Family Suite which was amply big enough for all four of us. It was a tad dirty though - hairs in the bathroom when we arrived which I am not a big fan of - and I woke up the next morning with allergies in overload and discovered that some areas were pretty dusty - the top ledge of where the lights are by your bed, for example. We also had a problem with water draining out of both the bath and the sink. I am sure if I would have rung down it would have been fixed but I wasn't wanting to get someone to my room at gone 9:00 pm at night when both of these problems were discovered. The sink one was particularly annoying when you are brushing your teeth and the rinsed out water is just sitting there and then you want to run a sink to wash! So it was a bit disappointing when you pay so much for the room to have these issues.

Generally the other things you pay for there are pretty reasonable. I was particularly impressed by the 16 inch pizza that was just $12 which fed all four of us handsomely for dinner one night and the ice cream parlour prices were very reasonable. Let's put it this way, I didn't feel I was being ripped off like you so often feel at resorts. The Burger Clam just off the car park by the gas station is another great place to eat cheaply and very close by. So all in all, a great visit and we will be back and hopefully by then, plugs will have been removed and hair blockages removed so that sinks and baths will drain :)

Room Tip: Would recommend a room away from the elevators and the stair case so that you are not hearing all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blebsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our family of 5 had never been and went last minute for 1 night during BC Spring Break. We paid a fortune!!! But were thrilled with the experience and can hardly wait to go back. I was worried the second day would be awkward - trying to get good use of all the facilities because we paid a premium, and not have a room to change/relax in during the day. However our 3 young boys were having such fun the day went by quickly and stopping was not an option. Next time: pack the car after breakfast - we waited until checkout time at 11am and found it more disruptive to the day. Consider the last day like being at an outdoor water park - there are lots of places to stop for a few minutes; doesn't have to be a hotel room. Took advantage of the spacious $10 locker to secure our valuables. Next time, two nights would be better, but if finances dictated I would stay again for 1 night. Living in BC, we drove and spent 2 nights in Bellevue, only a 1 1/2 hour drive away and could complete mini-vacation with some shopping! Our boys were so tired after 2 days at Great Wolf lodge, they were very content & cooperative for the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Skepticism over the whole thing was me before we reached. Once there, it was a HUGE party. Beautiful experience. The staff was very friendly, and they would go out of their way to help you and make your stay memorable. Breakfast is a MUST. Magicquest is a great family activity. The water park is another story altogether. Had real fun the 2 nights we stayed.

Room Tip: High Floor rooms are better. Ribs are a must to have. Take small eats and drinks from home as a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centralia
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
13.7 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater
5.8 mi away
Olympic Club Hotel & Theater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
17 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Centralia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 20500 Old Highway 99 SW, Centralia, WA 98531-9708
Location: United States > Washington > Centralia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Centralia
Price Range: $246 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Centralia
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Washington/Centralia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing