We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eco Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castle Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eco Park
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Rock
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cozy cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like luxury camping! Adorable 1-room cabin without electricity but with a lot of charm. Propane lights (and heater that we didn't use) make it easy. No one else near us, so we didn't have to share our bathroom with anyone. Best of all, the host Mark and cook/all-around helper John brought the history of the whole area to life. We learned so much about the issues of land management both pre- and post-St.Helen's eruption. No simple solutions there, but a lot to think about. Only place worth staying near the volcano.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJC_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Missouri
Level Contributor
431 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pro's Closest lodging to Mount St. Helens, Great Breakfast, friendly hosts. Con's No electric outlets near the cabins, shared comfort stations.

We traveled all day and kept on going because it was clear and Mt. St. Helens was 25 miles away. We got the most magnificent view of the ruined mountain. But by the time we returned to Eco-Park it was after 8 and everything was closed. All but one of our phones were dead. Our family could adjust to shared bathrooms, but no cell phones...that's another matter. However come morning we had the best breakfast of the whole trip and having already seen St. Helens we started merrily on our way to our next stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the EcoPark resort in mid July and had a fabulous experience. Having stayed at many crowded, dusty camp sites in the past, this place is like a Cadillac version of camping. We were given our choice of where to camp- a beautiful grassy grove of trees and plants with mottled light- and our young host brought over several tables to accommodate our copious food products. At night they host a community fire which brings guests together from all parts of the country and hot showers and a clean bathroom to boot.

It's also a beautiful and short trip from the Interstate.. remember to try downtown Castle Rock which has great architecture, small stores and a riverfront trail.

Room Tip: You do have to call to make reservations but you can even call from their front gate- don't let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChowhoundSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose this resort primarily due to the location - it is easily the closest lodging to Mt. St. Helens - but the gracious hospitality and the delicious food were great bonuses. Mark, the owner, also serves as the cook, and he made excellent and ample meals (he is proud to say, and we appreciated, that he does not deep-fry anything). Mark has a great knowledge of the region beyond what is displayed at the visitor centers, as his family has a deep history in the area - just ask him, he has some good stories. We stayed in a log cabin, which was clean and spacious and had a porch out back with a swing. It was actually nice to unplug at night with no TV or electricity - we read by the light of propane lamps in the quiet. The bathrooms, which are shared, were also clean and the hot water (from a solar-powered water heater) was ample and appreciated. Terrific place to stay to get acclimated to the environment - it really adds to the experience of being in nature by Mt. St. Helens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I and our 2 teenaged kids stayed for 2 nights during a week-long trip around the Olympic Peninsula. As most folks attest here, Mark, his daugther Cheyenne, and Brady, plus wife Dawn, try to make your stay pleasant in a family-run environment. The cabins are comfy and clean, with a propane-run fridge/lights/heater, table/chairs, counterspace, plus they provide sheets, quilts, and towels and bottled water. The back has a covered porch with a swing and a picnic table. The communal bathrooms (I believe there are 3 total) serve the 6 cabins, 2 yurts and about 8 campsites, clean as well. Just remember this is a campsite and you may have a critter or two visit you (4 or more legs).

We ate both breakfast (the best meal on our trip) and dinner (steak/chilli/stew were very good if a bit pricey) and it was basically like eating at home with Mark coming out to check that everything was just right. Power is available at the lodge/restaurant for charging phones, etc. but this place is meant to be enjoyed without the distractions of electronics.

We also did a 2-hour horseback ride through theirs and neighboring state property along and onto the mud flats (it's $40/hr so a family of 4 will take a hit in the pocketbook but my son, who never asks for anything, was having a great time so it was well worth it). Mark will provide you with the "other side" of the discussions concerning if the Army Corps plans for limiting sediments from Mt. St. Helens downstream actually works or not. A good host with lots of opinions when prompted on the environment, tree management and planning/zoning issues in his neck of the woods.

They light a communal campfire each evening and we went down to review and discuss our daily excursions to the Ape Caves, Johnston Observatory and trails, and the Forest Center.

After 10 years of expanding services, they have taken a step back in terms of trying to expand things here, I believe that both the stress of running a family place and the fact that there are only 1/10th the number of people visiting Mt. St. Helens today than 15 years ago (another tid bit from Mark) are reasons for scaling back a bit. He said they are trying to keep total visitors at any one time to 15 or less - not sure how to make a living at this pace, but it sure makes for a nice and private vacation spot. We enjoyed things immensely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family stayed 2 nights at the park and it was by far our favorite place to stay during our vacation. The owner, Mark and guide, Brady, went out of their way to make us feel welcome - they were extremely accommodating and solicitous. We ended up being the only guests for the entire time we were there. The cabins were cozy, comfortable and charming. The propane heater kept the cabin warm and the gas lighting lent an aura of calm to the setting. They also included a water cooler in each cabin so we had fresh water. Bathrooms were clean and comfortable and having them a few steps from the cabin proved to be no problem at all. Waking up each morning and sitting on the swing on the back porch while watching a herd of elk graze in the pasture was breathtaking.

What made this experience so great were our charming hosts. Mark knows the area intimately and having been there during the time of the Mt. St. Helen's eruption, was an absolute font of knowledge. He cooked us dinner two nights, breakfast one morning, and they were quite simply delicious. Including homemade chocolate pie and berry pie! He went out of his way to accommodate our schedule and gave us great insider-tips for the area. Our guide, Brady, took us on a great hike down to the mud-flows with his dog, Abby in tow. Brady, too, knows the area well and we learned so much while in his company. Our final night they made us a wonderful fire in the fire-pit. They even gave us our own radio should we have needed to reach them if our cell phones didn't work.

I would recommend bringing a good flashlight and perhaps shower shoes. Definitely stay for two days and take time to converse and learn from Mark and Brady. I would also suggest having at least one meal at the cafe - it sits on a great prospect and is a truly unique dining experience.

Definitely a memorable experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed one night in a 2-person cabin. Having been prepared for no electricity, we were pleasantly surprised. An employee took us to our cabin and showed us how everything worked and provided us with a lighter for the lights. The cabin was roomy with plenty of table and shelf space. It was immaculate and comfortable. They didn't tell us that there was also a refrigerator in the cabin. There were two propane-powered lights in the room, and a propane heater. The bed was a full size mattress, but perfectly comfortable for a good nights' sleep. We slept with the window open and enjoyed the total silence. There was a nice little porch on the back of the cabin looking out onto a lovely meadow area. They supplied very plush towels for us. We didn't really feel like we were "roughing it" at all.

The "outhouse" was also a pleasant surprise. It was very close to the cabin, also with no electricity, but it had a flush toilet and sink, plenty of hot water (solar powered water pump and gas water heater), and a perfectly adequate shower. It was fairly clean, but a large spider came down from the ceiling and threatened to land on my things--I guess that happens. There were no lights in there at all, so a flashlight was necessary for nighttime use. And a bench or something for belongings would have been helpful. But it was fine.

We also enjoyed hiking around the roads and trails on the property.

We ate dinner at the Backwoods Cafe on the property. Just a bit on the expensive side, but about what you would expect for that location. We enjoyed the stew in a very fresh bread bowl. All the staff was friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay there again. It would be fun to try the yurt next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Rock
18.4 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
18.1 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
23.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
8.1 mi away
Blue Heron chateau
Blue Heron chateau
#1 of 1 in Castle Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.1 mi away
Silver Cove RV Resort
Silver Cove RV Resort
#1 of 1 in Silver Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Park

Property: Eco Park
Address: 14000 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98649-4103
Location: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 80 acre facility, that includes cabins, camping, RV sites, cafe & horseback tours. We have cozy log cabins for 2 or 4 guests. One open room concept. All cabins come with linens and towels. 4 - 4 Person cabin includes: A full size bed & twin bunks, table and chairs. Very cozy and comfortable. Propane lights & heat in each cabin. 2 - 2 Person cabins include: A full size bed, table and chairs. Very cozy and comfortable. Propane lights & heat in each cabin. We have very spacious tent sites. We have RV sites that are dry camping only. We have a 6 person yurt available. Two bunks with full size beds on the bottom & twin beds on top. Guest must provide own linens or sleeping bags for the yurt accommodations. We have a centralized fire pit for the entire Resort, we provide the wood and light the fire! Our cafe is open for breakfast and dinner reservations only for our Resort guests. We are a private facility that takes reservations only. We are open May through September each year. During the off season our office hours are Saturday & Sunday from 9 am to 5 pm. (October to the end of April. Please feel free to email us your reservation requests anytime. Our reservation desk will get back to you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing