We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night away from Portland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Carson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orange, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A night away from Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I came up to Portland to attend a car auction. Our experience in Portland did not go well, started out waiting an hour for the hotel shuttle which never came. Not knowing Oregon/Washington very well I searched the internet and found the Carson Ridge Cabins. The cabin was so unique and special. The whole property shows pride of ownership. The owners where so very nice and even had fresh scones, and fruit from their garden for us, early in the morning since we had to leave early for our flight home. Don't be deceived by the town, it isn't much but if you were to use Carson Ridge as a home base you can't go wrong. It's so nice to see a couple really loving what they are doing and making thier guest feel at home. We will definitely come back. Thank you Tom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    19
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
268
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had an amazing 3 night stay for our honeymoon. We didn't want to travel far from Spokane the day after our wedding, so we looked them up on line, not sure how we found it, but knew it was perfect when we arrived. The Inn Keepers are warm and friendly, and so very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They left us a bottle of chilled Champagne in the refrigerator! The food was delectable! We went during the week, and there were only two other couples staying. We were able to watch the sunrise two mornings in a row, from the secluded viewing area. Nice nature walk, led us to two secluded hammocks in the forest. We picked wild black berries, to take home and try to make their amazing blackberry coffee cake! Wouldn't change a thing! Planning our next stay, in one of the bigger cabins!

Room Tip: The bigger cabins have better views............depends on your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We decided two weeks before Labor Day that we wanted to spend the weekend hiking somehwere in Oregon. I am in the travel buisness but was not familiar with any properties in the area and came across this one by chance. I normally prefer 5 * properties, like The Four Seasons and the Trump so I wasn't sure I was going to like this but we LOVED it. Our cabin, Mt. Adams was one of the larger ones and was just perfect in every way. It was very quiet and peaceful and the view was outstanding, the bed was comfortable and the gas fireplace was perfect for the cool evenings.

The service was wonderful and so were the breakfasts and homemade cookies we found in the lobby every afternoon. Tom suggested several great restaurants in Hood River and even though it was 30 miinutes away, we went every evening as it was a fun town.

This is a great base for exploring the Columbia River Gorge and it's many waterfalls and hiking trails. We also did the Norway Pass hike on Mt. St. Helen's... a little far but totally worth it.

We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

After reading other reviews and exploring the Carson Ridge Cabins website, we expected a more remote location, not close to the highway in front of the establishment. Even with a 35 mph speed limit, the roads in this part of Washington are terrible, and noise is a problem. There was no promised view of the River Gorge. The cabins are all nestled close to one another. No real privacy. Fortunately, we had reserved the Mt. Hood, or #10 cabin, furthest away from the road and with only one neighboring cabin. The setting is exquisite nevertheless, with acres of greenery. Tom greeted us promptly, asked whether we had breakfast requests: and , as usual, we asked NOT to have onions. (or coconut) Tom assured us that would not be a problem and that our breakfast would be delivered at 9am.(Why can't breakfast be available earlier at B&B's? Most people we speak to would also like to eat earlier). He appeared to write down our requests.
As our escort to the cabin, Tom pointed out the amenities and the surrounding property. There are several places to sit outside, including the lovely porch swing. The large room is inviting and furnished with top quality, comfortable furniture. The bedding was great: soft sheets, luxurious comforter cover, and numerous pillows. Loved the 2 headed shower--either regular or rain.
The bathtub looked inviting, and after listening to the complex directions for use, I decided to try the tub before dinner. Well...the water took so long to fill the tub that I stopped half way, either being too impatient or trying to save on the large amount of water required to fill the tub for use. I do agree with other reviewers that this tub would only comfortably seat one--my husband and I are not large, but being tall, one of us would take up most of the length.
Back to check in. It was our anniversary week, and there was a nice card, albeit generic, and bottle of Champagne waiting. But, the bottle was at room temperature. The basket of goodies contained 2 granola bars and something else not memorable.
There are bottles of wine to purchase, but the refrigerator only contained some water---no juice, no sodas, plus some beer to purchase as well.
Trekking up to #10 is uphill on gravel and not easy even for a very young person carrying luggage. Tom did not offer to help.
WiFi is available but tortoise speed.
We turned on the air conditioner unit just for the noise reduction.
Do not believe the hype about breakfast here. There is NO buffet, just a simple breakfast served buffet style with one main entree. The Denver Bake was our morning fare--with ONIONS.
We had earlier asked to eat in the main building for breakfast instead of having it delivered, thinking we would have more options, but alas, that was not the case. However, the berry-streusel muffins were amazingly great--we had 2!. There was some homemade granola that contained coconut--but we already knew this since when we informed Tom of our dislike for this, he did warn us. Yet, if it is indeed homemade, then why not make a little without something a guest did not want?
These cabins are very expensive and could demand the high price if not for the illusion of solitude, quiet, and the buffet breakfast.
The grounds are wonderful to roam around on, and do look for the abandoned orchard past the hammocks. I would stay here again if the breakfast improved and the prices was lower. Indeed, this is not what I would consider a Luxury Cabin. But, better than some we have visited.
There was no reason to complain to the innkeepers since the cabins are where they are, and the breakfasts are planned out in advance. Tom and Maryanne are personable and easy to talk with, but neither could silence the road noise nor would a complaint change the breakfast.
The standards for a truly luxury, 5 star establishment are not met here.

Room Tip: Mt Hood cabin, #10, is furthest from the road noise, and with only one neighbor, the most private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grandmommyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonridge1261, Manager at Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We always try to listen carefully to guest comments, both positive and negative, so we’re disappointed you didn’t feel you could tell us the things you mentioned in this review. We’re certainly glad you enjoyed your cabin’s many amenities and our lovely setting.

Most of our guests go out of their way to mention the tranquility here (their word, as in the previous review) and rave about the selection and quality of our breakfasts. As you noted, our granola is house-made, and it’s extremely popular. It’s a time-consuming process that doesn’t lend itself to daily individualization. In the last six months we’ve had two guests out of hundreds mention they dislike coconut.

The breakfast buffet served in our lodge dining room each morning includes not only a hot entrée but a freshly-baked “sweet” (those muffins you loved) as well as the granola, yogurt, a wide assortment of fresh fruit, two and sometimes three juice choices. Yesterday morning one of our well-traveled guests said ours was the best breakfast he’d ever been served at a B&B.

We take great pride in accommodating our guests’ varying dietary needs and special requests, and we did that for you, too. You twice mentioned a dislike of raw onions, which appeared in no foods served during your stay.

One of the many wonderful attributes of our location is that Carson is a gateway to nearby Mt. Adams and also Mount St. Helens. The two-lane road that runs through our tiny community does see a lot of travelers in the height of the tourist season, but the road is neither a “highway” nor in poor condition.

We hope you will consider returning during a less-busy time of year – it’s beautiful and there’s a lot to do here year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins. It was everything the web site promised. Tranquility, coziness, and privacy. The quaint cabin was equipped with a comfortable log bed, fireplace, soft leather chairs for watching television, jacuzzi tub and soft bath robes. Everything one needs for a romantic getaway. We looked forward each morning to see what kind of breakfast the innkeepers, Tom and Maryann, made for all the guest. It was always a delicious breakfast that you would find in a five star restaurant. They were wonderful host. They even suggested hiking trails and wineries to visit. We are definitely planning a return trip to Carson Ridge Cabins in the future. It will be a vacation we will always remember.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Njdemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonridge1261, Manager at Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We look forward to having you back -- one memorable stay just isn't enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had our first experience of the Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins on July 29, 2012, for our wedding night. I'm a native of the Columbia Gorge, but had never visited this gem. The cabins are extremely well-appointed, with large jetted tubs, robes, a nice kitchenette area, and wonderfully soft sheets on a beautiful King bed. We loved looking right out our deck to the meadow and forested hills.
The inn keepers are flexible and friendly, and made everything perfect. Oh, and the hammocks in the forest are a must!
Carson Ridge is also a wonderful home base for exploring the Gorge. There's so much to see around Stevenson, and in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest close to Carson Ridge.
I cannot say enough about this place, and hope to have a good excuse to stay there again sometime!

Room Tip: Pick the room theme you like best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We absolutely loved staying at Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins! We are a young couple who stayed in the Bear's Den cabin for three nights. The room was very clean and had the most incredible jacuzzi bathtub to relax in after an adventurous day in the Columbia River Gorge. The views are incredible and the breakfast was delicious! We had our breakfast delivered to our door in a picnic basket and we took it up to the tables in the gardens surrounding the cabins to eat overlooking the mountains. The owners were very friendly and hospitable and took great care to ensure our stay was the best it could be. It was a magical experience and I recommend anyone exploring the area to stay at the cabins!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carson
12.9 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
13.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
15.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins

Property: Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins
Address: 1261 Wind River Hwy, Carson, WA 98610-3257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Carson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate your soul in the tranquility of your private, luxury Columbia River Gorge cabin. Spa tubs for 2, walk-in showers with dual shower heads, fireplaces, log beds, private porches with log swings, spectacular views, luxury linens, plush robes, spa services in your own romantic Washington cabin...need we say more? Our award-winning Columbia River Gorge lodging has been voted "The Best in the West", the "Top 10 Most Romantic Inns in the Country", "Best Place to Celebrate Romance" and most recently won for the second year running, "Best of the Gorge". We have the Tesla and Clipper Creek electric vehicle (EV) charge station onsite for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins Hotel Carson
Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing